Home / Computing / Laptop / Samsung NC10 - 10.2in Netbook / Battery Cont., Final Thoughts & Verdict

Samsung NC10 - 10.2in Netbook - Battery Cont., Final Thoughts & Verdict

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell



Our Score:


Some credit must also go to Samsung's excellent power management software. Its interface and power management features are more intuitive than those found in Windows XP, adding support for customised power schemes that automatically reduce CPU speed and decrease colour depth to 16-bit.

To test for a theoretical maximum battery life we ran the Reader test in Battery Eater using these settings and with brightness set to its minimum. This, in an overnight test, returned an epic nine hours and 45 minutes. This obviously isn't reflective of regular usage, but as a maximum it's pretty impressive and was one to use the NC10 to read in low light conditions, like on a long haul flight or in bed, you could do so for the very long time.

In more realistic conditions, using Wi-Fi for web browsing, listening to music and word processing, the NC10 delivered a minimum four and a half hours at maximum brightness and up to six hours with more optimised settings. Another easily overlooked benefit of this longevity is that, if you leave your NC10 in sleep or hibernate for a day or two, you can come back to it and still have several hours of use left. This is useful if you're only a light user since either mode will alleviate the major drawback of using XP on a netbook: its slower boot time.

So, whichever way you paint it, the NC10 can achieve excellent longevity and this is just the icing on the cake. Ignoring the HP 2133 Mini-Note PC, an underpowered and soon to be replaced anachronism, the NC10 beats its competition in pretty much every way. It's better made and better looking than either the MSI Wind or Asus Eee PC 1000H, runs cool and quietly, has the best keyboard and arguably offers the best balance of features and price.

This doesn't make either of the latter bad machines per se; they both have their strengths and are excellent value for money. Indeed, depending on where you shop, you might find the Eee PC 1000H for a little less. However, this doesn't change the fact that it's heavier and uglier than the NC10 and has a smaller hard drive, or that the MSI is more expensive and flimsier.


It might be late to the party, but Samsung has clearly listened to users and learned from the competition, thus producing a supremely balanced proposition. Attractive design and reassuring build quality are married to a great keyboard and superb battery and if one or two things, like the token slip case, could be improved upon, all is forgotten when you look at the price. Unless integrated HSDPA is high on your agenda, you can buy an NC10 with great confidence. In its class: it is the best.

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Design 10
  • Features 9
  • Performance 9
  • Value 10


November 17, 2008, 1:24 pm

what's with the single mouse button, though?


November 17, 2008, 1:28 pm

Reading this review makes me feel very stupid for buying an eee 701 for 𧶲 when they came out last year :( I wish that they had enough of a resale value that i could sell it and get one of these now...


November 17, 2008, 2:14 pm

It has two trackpad buttons, its the same button, but it tilts in either direction. One point to note - unlike the white model, the black and blue models do have the glossy fingerprint style lid.

Luan Bach

November 17, 2008, 2:14 pm

"a firm punch in the back" ? Samsung may not be sending you guys any more review gears! :-)


November 17, 2008, 3:01 pm

Andy... Can you clarify the earlier comment here about the finish of the black and blue models? Based on the earlier 'TrustedReviews' image - http://www.trustedreviews.com/... - some sort of sheen would appear apparent, but not so sure about gloss. I agree, this aspect is a particular irritant with all types of notebooks. I favour black or blue for imminent purchase, but will elect the white 'matte' finish if this is an issue. Have you seen all three colours?

Andy Vandervell

November 17, 2008, 3:24 pm

I haven't, but will do my best to find out for you. :)


November 17, 2008, 4:11 pm

This netbook will be bought by me imminently and looks so much better, in my opinion, in black. I do agree with BST though, the matte finish would have preferable with the darker colours, but I will forgive the glossy lid of the black model due to its colour.

Andy Vandervell

November 17, 2008, 4:21 pm

To be honest I wouldn't take those press shots as evidence, we all know how companies love Photoshop. Have asked Samsung for clarification.

Andy Vandervell

November 17, 2008, 4:38 pm

Just been confirmed, the blue and black have the same matte finish as the white.


November 17, 2008, 4:41 pm

yaaaaay! hurray for matte. mate FTW!


November 17, 2008, 5:04 pm

Thanks Andy for clarification. Just wondering if to order now, or have the patience to wait a few weeks to compare with the HP Compaq Mini 700; its attraction being the alleged internal HSDPA modem. Now that would be the icing on the Samsung NC10 cake. I hope you will be taking an early look at the '700 (?).

Andy Vandervell

November 17, 2008, 5:21 pm

Hopefully, but not so soon probably. HSDPA versions will only be sold through providers so that's likely to take more time. Should have the 1000 before the year's out with any luck, but it'll have to go some way to best this. As far as I'm aware they won't have 6-cell batteries either, which in mind is pretty essential - feel free to correct if someone knows otherwise.

Brian ONeill

November 17, 2008, 6:06 pm

Hi Andy, how does it compare to the dell 9?


November 17, 2008, 6:27 pm

The Blue and Black are matte inside but the lids have a gloss finish


November 17, 2008, 7:12 pm

Hi Andy, any chance for a video review?

Geoff Richards

November 17, 2008, 7:22 pm

@Singularity - it's being filmed tomorrow and will appear on the site as soon as it is edited together.


November 17, 2008, 8:59 pm

This is the first netbook I've been seriously considering and thanks for making the decision easier :) Looks like the best deal for me, as I'm particularly drawn to the large hard drive as I plan on using this to store video.


November 17, 2008, 9:51 pm

All that stands between me and the NC10 is a review of the HP mini 700/1000 - I guess the feature difference for me is the HP's better keyboard vs. better battery on the Samsung!

Thanks for the excellent coverage.


November 18, 2008, 1:27 am

any news on the toshiba netbook? Also, is there any Linux versions planned of the NC10?


November 18, 2008, 1:51 am

Funny how every netbook offered for sale has a flaw. This one seems fabulous, but the keyboard keys are coated with an anti-bacterial compound based on nano-silver. Odd that wasn't mentioned in the review - maybe the ones bound for the EU aren't coated?. Not nearly enough research has been done on the long-term consequences of nano-silver to individuals and the environment. Regardless, consumer products are now popping up with nano-silver coatings: socks, keyboards; I just saw plastic FOOD containers touting their nano-silver coating! I'm not saying nano-silver is the second coming of asbestos or Thalidomide, but anti-bacterials have the potential of just selectively breeding Superbugs. (further info at http://www.hazards.org/nanotec...


November 18, 2008, 2:18 am

I recently bought an Acr Aspire One, really wish I'd waited now!

Geoff Richards

November 18, 2008, 2:44 am

@Jag - the Acer is very good so I wouldn't feel TOO bad about it

@TheHoldSteady - I've never heard of "nano-silver" but I'll be doing some reading :)

Geoff Richards

November 18, 2008, 2:47 am

Incidentally, since the NC10 is available in three colours I thought I'd post the links from TrustedReviews Shopping in case people wanted to compare:








November 18, 2008, 2:54 am

Geoff/Andy, any word on whether the UK will see the HP mini-700 before Xmas? Looks like the US already has them.


November 18, 2008, 2:55 am

Does this support Aero Glass if I were to install Vista or 7?

comments powered by Disqus