Home » Home appliances » Vacuum Cleaner » Samsung Navibot SR8855 » Navigating & Vacuuming Performance

Samsung Navibot SR8855 - Navigating & Vacuuming Performance

By Edward Chester


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £341.00

Its vacuuming performance was also perfectly adequate for light soiling and the bagless dirt collector has ample volume for covering a large area – it's also really easy to remove and empty. If you do have pets or someone with long hair, it may struggle to pull all the hair out the carpet, though. Also, the overall suction power isn't great and relies overly on the brush to dislodge dirt. For instance when passing over the transition from a wooden floor to a tiled one, the raised door strip caused the navibot to miss the inch or so of dirt either side of it. More problematic, though, is how poorly the SR8855 copes with obstacles and edges.

Looking first at obstacles, the SR8855 seemed utterly incapable of actually detecting anything via its sensors. Even walls sometimes required a bump before it would respond to them. Combined with its bulk, this meant chair and table legs proved all too much and the navibot would invariably end up skirting round the whole lot. As for getting to the grime under sofas and coffee tables, you've got no chance.

This is bad enough but what really hurts the navibot is it doesn't do edge cleaning. Instead of detecting and tracking along the edge of a wall, it will just carry on in its own predetermined straight line until it hits a wall. When it does so it merely shimmies along and carries on in the same direction. So if it's approaching a wall at an angle you get a step effect. Combined with its limited ability to get into nooks and crannies, this leaves you needing to go round with another vacuum cleaner to finish the job.

So, if you have a large open-plan flat or house with few stairs (the navibot can detect stairs but it can't clean them) the SR8855 could be useful for getting the bulk of your cleaning done while you're out, leaving you to just whip round with a handheld vacuum cleaner when you get in. For any other living situation, though, the SR8855 just doesn't make sense. What's more, the latest Roomba is nearly half the price, though we're yet to test it (we have one in the office ready to be looked at soon) so it could yet prove to be completely useless.


The Samsung navibot SR8855 robot vacuum cleaner employs some clever tech and is a great way to get the bulk of your vacuuming done without lifting a finger. However, you'll still need a second vacuum cleaner to get in all the nooks and crannies and it is very expensive.

Scores In Detail


Our Score


User Score

Previous page
Video Review


May 31, 2010, 12:43 pm

How is it that TR ended up with a vacuum to review? did sammy just send whatever it had lying about?

Digital Fury

May 31, 2010, 3:49 pm

Thanks for the review! I'm actually going to buy one of these things soon, but obviously not this one if it doesn't clean properly.

Any chance you will review a Roomba soon?


May 31, 2010, 5:51 pm

Has the same problem as a Dalek; it doesn't do stairs. It seems pointless unless you live on one level and then you need to get another cleaner to do the bits it can't reach. As it is the difficult to get to parts that take the time when vacuuming the job will still take almost as long as normal. I thought Dyson were expensive but at least they reach the parts this cleaner can't get to.


May 31, 2010, 6:18 pm

This is a bit worrying. Reviewing vacuum cleaners?! Wow, that sucks! (sorry couldn't resist the pun)


May 31, 2010, 6:46 pm

bobsta - that's exactly the kind if vacuous commentary we don't want around here.

Digital Fury

May 31, 2010, 7:07 pm

@bobsta: you only need to worry if you see Gene Simmons performing firmware updates on these things, and if they start attacking people. :-)


May 31, 2010, 7:19 pm

Samsung removing yet another reason for marriage

( Shhhhh don't tell the wife I said that )

Tim Sutton

May 31, 2010, 8:33 pm

£400 for substandard vacuuming?

It's probably cheaper just to get married.


May 31, 2010, 8:46 pm

@ Tim Sutton, the impending divorce would cost you waay more than £400 once your wife gets wise.


May 31, 2010, 9:46 pm

I'm guessing you're not married - it's significantly more expensive for sub-standard vacuuming ;)

*ducks and runs for cover*


May 31, 2010, 10:13 pm

I do my own sub-standard vacuuming, thank you very much.

When the wife tells me to.


May 31, 2010, 10:48 pm

@Digital Fury: Let's hope it doesn't run on Windows otherwise there's no telling what damage a service pack would cause - it would probably start blowing dust all over the place! :-)


June 1, 2010, 1:53 pm

I like this review, it's good to see other types of technology covered - and in this case there is clearly a lot more development needed before it is cost effective and actually useful.

Anyway, this review needs more comments, so:

Dyson: The Apple of the domestic appliance world. Discuss. ;0)


June 1, 2010, 3:47 pm

I bought a substantially cheaper 'no-name' brand robot cleaner as a joke present for the wife to get me out of the vacuuming. We use it in one room on a hard floor. However, the joke is now on me as before every use it has to be emptied and 'deep cleaned' to remove the strangling hair that wraps itself around every moving part. It takes me about 15 minutes, in which time I could have dragged the Dyson upstairs and done a better job!


June 5, 2010, 7:55 pm

does it actually vacuum or does it just sweep with a few toothbrushes?


February 2, 2014, 8:24 pm

Don't wast your money on this Robot. It most of the time just brushed some dust around. After one and half year it stopped working after about half a minute every time. I send it up for repair and got it returned a few weeks later even more faulty than before asking €229,- saying it was not within warranty because it was 'Mechanically damaged'. It had never been dropped or anything like that. All I used it for was to hover my small 60m2 flat on one floor with laminated flooring. But apparently you're not supposed to do that with this Robot. What you actually are allowed to use this robot for is still unclear to me

Greg Martin

July 28, 2014, 11:55 am

Evidently a Dalek can levitate :P

comments powered by Disqus