Home » Home appliances » Vacuum Cleaner » Samsung Navibot SR8855

Samsung Navibot SR8855 review



Our Score


User Score

Review Price £341.00

Few household chores are quite so loathsome as vacuuming. Cooking can be out and out enjoyable, mowing the lawn gets you out in the sunshine, cleaning the bathroom is a quick and small job. However, vacuum cleaning is hot, dusty, laborious work that needs to be done with far too much frequency for it to ever be a novelty. In other words, if there were a robot that could do it for us, we'd lap it up. Oh frabjous day! What do we have here?

Okay, so this isn't exactly the first robot vacuum cleaner to hit shop shelves and neither is it even the first made by Samsung. However, it is the first one made by Samsung to be available in the UK and it's the first we've looked at.

The Samsung navibot SR8855 is a low-lying circular device that scurries around your house, automatically navigating its way round, cleaning your floor as it goes. It incorporates a conventional cylindrical brush as well as brushes for prizing dirt out of corners and uses a combination of sensors and cameras to work out where it's going. Unlike the iRobot Roomba, which is arguably the most famous of these devices, the navibot actually maps out your rooms and works out the quickest way to work its way round. In this regard it is much like the first of these robot vacuum cleaners, the Electrolux Trilobite, which is no longer on sale.

With dimensions of 360 x 360 x 105mm, the SR8855 is markedly larger than the Roomba meaning it has less chance of fitting under beds and sofas and between chair legs. With that extra bulk you do get some extra features though. As well as two inward-rotating brushes to help it tease dirt from edges and corners and into its clutches (the Roomba only has one), the navibot has a proper conventional rotor on its underside. This is in contrast to the Roomba that uses two contra-rotating cylindrical brushes that are prone to snagging on cables or carpet tassles. In theory the navibot doesn't completely avoid this issue, but we certainly had no problems.

With the SR8855 you get two Smart Gates, a docking station, and a remote. The Smart Gates use an electromagnetic beam to block the navibot from crossing an otherwise open path – say the transition from one area to the next in an open plan living room. You can set it to either permanently block the path or to let the 'bot through only when it has finished the area it's working on.

Next page


May 31, 2010, 12:43 pm

How is it that TR ended up with a vacuum to review? did sammy just send whatever it had lying about?

Digital Fury

May 31, 2010, 3:49 pm

Thanks for the review! I'm actually going to buy one of these things soon, but obviously not this one if it doesn't clean properly.

Any chance you will review a Roomba soon?


May 31, 2010, 5:51 pm

Has the same problem as a Dalek; it doesn't do stairs. It seems pointless unless you live on one level and then you need to get another cleaner to do the bits it can't reach. As it is the difficult to get to parts that take the time when vacuuming the job will still take almost as long as normal. I thought Dyson were expensive but at least they reach the parts this cleaner can't get to.


May 31, 2010, 6:18 pm

This is a bit worrying. Reviewing vacuum cleaners?! Wow, that sucks! (sorry couldn't resist the pun)


May 31, 2010, 6:46 pm

bobsta - that's exactly the kind if vacuous commentary we don't want around here.

Digital Fury

May 31, 2010, 7:07 pm

@bobsta: you only need to worry if you see Gene Simmons performing firmware updates on these things, and if they start attacking people. :-)


May 31, 2010, 7:19 pm

Samsung removing yet another reason for marriage

( Shhhhh don't tell the wife I said that )

Tim Sutton

May 31, 2010, 8:33 pm

£400 for substandard vacuuming?

It's probably cheaper just to get married.


May 31, 2010, 8:46 pm

@ Tim Sutton, the impending divorce would cost you waay more than £400 once your wife gets wise.


May 31, 2010, 9:46 pm

I'm guessing you're not married - it's significantly more expensive for sub-standard vacuuming ;)

*ducks and runs for cover*


May 31, 2010, 10:13 pm

I do my own sub-standard vacuuming, thank you very much.

When the wife tells me to.


May 31, 2010, 10:48 pm

@Digital Fury: Let's hope it doesn't run on Windows otherwise there's no telling what damage a service pack would cause - it would probably start blowing dust all over the place! :-)


June 1, 2010, 1:53 pm

I like this review, it's good to see other types of technology covered - and in this case there is clearly a lot more development needed before it is cost effective and actually useful.

Anyway, this review needs more comments, so:

Dyson: The Apple of the domestic appliance world. Discuss. ;0)


June 1, 2010, 3:47 pm

I bought a substantially cheaper 'no-name' brand robot cleaner as a joke present for the wife to get me out of the vacuuming. We use it in one room on a hard floor. However, the joke is now on me as before every use it has to be emptied and 'deep cleaned' to remove the strangling hair that wraps itself around every moving part. It takes me about 15 minutes, in which time I could have dragged the Dyson upstairs and done a better job!


June 5, 2010, 7:55 pm

does it actually vacuum or does it just sweep with a few toothbrushes?


February 2, 2014, 8:24 pm

Don't wast your money on this Robot. It most of the time just brushed some dust around. After one and half year it stopped working after about half a minute every time. I send it up for repair and got it returned a few weeks later even more faulty than before asking €229,- saying it was not within warranty because it was 'Mechanically damaged'. It had never been dropped or anything like that. All I used it for was to hover my small 60m2 flat on one floor with laminated flooring. But apparently you're not supposed to do that with this Robot. What you actually are allowed to use this robot for is still unclear to me

Greg Martin

July 28, 2014, 11:55 am

Evidently a Dalek can levitate :P

comments powered by Disqus