Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Samsung LE46C750 / 3D/2D Picture Quality and Verdict

Samsung LE46C750 - 3D/2D Picture Quality and Verdict

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung LE46C750 front

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

Motion looks surprisingly crisp too, with the 400Hz - sorry, CMR! - system doing a fine job of reducing LCD’s usual troubles with losing resolution when showing moving objects. Even the trickiness of handling motion in a three-dimensional environment doesn’t cause the processing too many headaches. That said, we would only recommend using the motion processing on its 'Clear' setting, as anything higher - including Standard - can cause noticeable side-effects such as flickering and shimmering around moving objects.

Finally, where a 3D scene isn’t afflicted with serious crosstalk noise, the picture’s brightness helps reinforce how much crisper and more detailed Full HD 3D sources look than side by side 'passive' ones. There’s even an obvious resolution difference between Sky’s near-HD side by side 3D broadcasts and the full-HD-to-each-eye 3D monty from 3D Blu-rays.

Samsung LE46C750 front angle

The LE46C750 happily proves to be a very talented performer with 2D material. The colour and brightness strengths noted with 3D material are abundantly evident with 2D too, allowing HD and standard def material alike to look potent, dynamic and engaging. What’s more, there’s no serious reduction in colour tone credibility when switching from HD to standard definition, unlike some Samsung sets of the past. Add to this the way the LE46C750 upscales standard def with plenty of detail while cleverly eking out video noise, and it’s clear Samsung has now exorcised its old standard def demons.

It does the LE46C750’s colour reproduction no harm at all that its black level response is also unusually good for a CCFL LCD TV. The backlight is consistent right across the screen, and dark scenes appear with impressively less greyness over them. Inevitably the set has to sacrifice a little shadow detail to make such a black level response possible, but the screen’s innate contrast is sufficient to avoid the hollow 'black holes' that characterise many CCFL LCD TV’s darkest bits.

The only time the LE46C750’s contrast falls down is if you have to watch the set from any significant angle - 40 degrees or more. Then the picture bleaches out quite severely.

If you can avoid this one significant shortcoming, though, the LE46C750 comfortably outperforms its price point even just as a 2D screen. So it’s value rating goes through the roof with the 3D stuff taken into account.

Even the LE46C750’s sound is pretty acceptable. There’s certainly more power and mid-range openness than we heard with any of Samsung’s 2009 flat TVs, and a more rounded tone than you get from Samsung’s super-slim edge LED models.

Verdict

If you’re looking for a dream budget answer to your 3D prayers, the LE46C750 isn’t quite it. It suffers from too much crosstalk to really show 3D off to its best advantage, and not having any 3D glasses included as standard in the price is frustrating.

That said, its 3D performance isn’t really significantly worse than that of many LCD/LED TVs costing more than twice as much. And more importantly, its 2D performance is more than enough in itself to justify the set’s startlingly low entrance fee.

Jones

August 19, 2010, 12:50 pm

I'll happily vouch for Samsung TVs as good performers. I have a mid range TV that has wowed friends over the past 2 years with the image quality.





With this set they have really hit the nail on the head with pricing, size and judging by the review, performance. I dont need a new TV (yet!) but seeing well sized "future proof" TVs down to the £1k mark is encouraging.

cragrat04

August 19, 2010, 12:52 pm

Thanks for the review, I just bought the 40" version from Comet who are offering a deal with tv, 3d blu ray player and 3 pairs of glasses for £999.


One thing though, you mention there are no glasses supplied. Mine had one set bundled in the bottom of the box and I'd be surprised that this isn't the case with it's bigger brother.

ronesh amin

August 19, 2010, 3:00 pm

@cragrat04 - it all depends on the manufacturing date on the back of your TV? the first batches of TV didn't have the glasses in the box, and could only be redeemed online, but their new batches of TV's starting to include them in the box. I purchased the PS50C7000 for £1150 with the 3D glasses in the box, but a lot of people on the forums had to redeem theirs though.





A little bit of advice - still try to redeem a pair through the 'Samsung Connect' website using your serial number. Eeven though i had a pair in the box, they sent out another pair for me! i may have been lucky, but its worth a try!

cragrat04

August 19, 2010, 3:17 pm

@ronesh_amin - thanks for the advice, I will give it a try.

Enigma

August 19, 2010, 6:12 pm

Samsung have done a Panasonic, i.e. right price-point for the specs, and performance (as per the review - almost, as they missed out a Freesat tuner!!





That's how to popularise the 3D and Comet seem to be doing their bit as @cragrat04 notes.





@ronesh_amin - I hope someone from Samsung doesn't read the comments here. But seriously the 3D-tv's should come with 4-pairs of 3D-glasses(parents+two kids). Of course in China 3-pairs and in the Indian subcontinent and the Arab world....!!!

GoldenGuy

August 19, 2010, 7:12 pm

Thanks for continuing to cover good old CCFL tellies. It's not a fat television. It's just not one of those ultra thin LED ones that crushes the life out the speakers and connectivity options.





And again we have to ask this - any word on input lag guys? Personally the only reason I'd be tempted by the addition of 3D at this nicer price point would be for its gaming potential. But films and TV - nuh, uh, not worth he extra money. That's why you need to review the 3D-less LE46C650, the model below this one. I won't be the only person who's interested now you've done a 580 and a 750.

Jones

August 19, 2010, 9:06 pm

@Goldenguy - This isnt meant to sound sarcy but is input lag still an issue with top manufacturers TVs? It was almost a non-issue when I was researching for a TV 2 and a bit years ago though certain sets did suffer slightly. I suppose for the serious gamers out there it will be an issue but for cassual players - as I am these days - I cant say I have ever been effected by a TVs lag. By a PCs net lag maybe but then that's a different kettle of fish altogether!

Metalex

August 19, 2010, 11:53 pm

@GoldenGuy - I don't know if you noticed, but TR did talk about input lag in a couple of recent reviews, but seem to have abandoned the idea. They didn't give any specific figures, though, so it wasn't particularly useful. Maybe they've gone back to the drawing board and are developing a method to get accurate figures that mean something to gamers.

GoldenGuy

August 20, 2010, 12:47 am

@Jones


Mm... I'm not gonna pretend to be a hardcore gamer but even I can detect it. Once you get into your Modern Warfare 2 and the like on XBox Live (something I rarely do), and the more advanced levels/tracks of the (perhaps now passing) generation of music based games like Guitar Hero, reaction time really counts and input lag gives you a serious handicap when you start to get into 40-50ms. (In my humble opinion of course. If any more serious gamers want to attest to more enjoyable experiences at this level of time delay, feel free.)





@Metalex


I did indeed notice that and it was a really welcome addition as it proved TR were acting on our feedback (though IIRC they stopped short of providing actual figures). That's why it's doubly disappointing to see this detail being ignored again. For the record, the always thorough HDTV Test quote an input lag of 43ms with/103ms without Game Mode turned on, and their stern caution of frustrating online play.

Templar X

August 21, 2010, 4:39 am

How does this Samsung compares in picture quality against the reviewed Panasonic Viera TX-P46G20?

Ted

September 4, 2010, 3:41 pm

To John Archer, and the reviews team; thank you for the truly useful and insightful reviews which I use regularly to help in making pre-purchasing decisions for many gadgets and please keep up the good work. One technical addition I would really like to see included in tv reviews is real world power consumption and heat generation of the panels. I chose my first LCD 4 years ago (to watch the world cup on BBC HD, sweet!) based on the best reviews at the time for power usage as well as quality, but have since noticed that LCD panels can get pretty hot too (which equates to poor efficiency and acts like a radiator you don't turn off in the summer). Clearly led is the way to go on that score but 'moneys too tight to mention, etc.

davidc

January 21, 2011, 8:33 pm

for anyone worried about lag, if you select "dvi/pc" as the source for the hdmi connection rather than "game" or "tv", it makes a huge difference. Even with game mode on it still lags abit but by doing the above lag is virtually non existant.

wiggo

April 28, 2011, 7:32 pm

Hi all

Can anyone either explain to me exactly how the allshare feature works, or give me a link to a site that explains it all please?

I want to be able to stream (Wired Connection) films I have on my pc to the TV.

I haven't as of yet purchased the set. But when I do eventually get one, I will want to be able to basically get it up and running asap.

TIA Wiggo123

comments powered by Disqus