Samsung LE40B550 40in LCD TV - Samsung LE40B550

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung LE40B550 40in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

These ambitions are impressively realised by the 40B550's picture performance. For it: a) gets much closer than I'd expected to the excellence of Samsung's step-up B650 range, and b) outguns easily anything else of a similar size going for the same sort of puny money.

Particularly unexpected is how clear and sharp its images are, as it copes much better without 100Hz than I would have anticipated. Sure, there's a touch more judder around than you get with Samsung's B650 range, there's even the occasional appearance of a little motion blur, but neither of these issues is aggressive or commonplace, so the lack of 100Hz seems like a relatively small price to pay for a 40in TV that hits a sub-£550 price level.

Another facet of the 40B550's performance that puts it leagues ahead of the vast majority of the cut-price competition is its contrast. For it manages to produce startlingly convincing black levels within the same frame as really bright peak whites and rich colours. Most budget TVs - and numerous higher-level TVs, come to that - either suffer with extensive grey clouding over dark picture areas, or low brightness levels caused by having to dim their backlight outputs to keep the grey clouding at bay. In comparison, the 40B550 suffers only a little with either issue, allowing its dark scenes to be presented with seriously impressive dynamism and punch.

This picture ‘pop' is further enhanced by the 40B550's colour response. Hues across the spectrum are driven out with vigour, while the screen's Full HD resolution and video processing combine to ensure that colour blends appear free of nasty striping artifacts, and enjoy predominantly natural tones.

You're probably best advised to avoid the Wide Colour Gamut setting if you want this naturalism to remain more consistently intact - but then I have no doubt that some people will prefer the wide colour gamut setting's extra vividness regardless of whether it looks natural or not!

cfm

August 18, 2009, 5:54 am

any reviews on this model Samsung PS50B530S2WX?

Randy

August 18, 2009, 2:28 pm

Now: the big question - This one or Panny's TH-42PX80 plasma?

jackp

August 18, 2009, 3:09 pm

You'll be lucky to find the PX80 anywhere.


Isn't the 42x10b now?

Xamph

August 18, 2009, 4:43 pm

A further plus in favour of this set is the fact that it can be tweaked to play MKVs and movies via USB just like its bigger brother, the B650 series.





http://www.avforums.com/forums...

Andy Vandervell

August 18, 2009, 4:45 pm

Xamph: that's a very cool tip, nice one.

mikfrak

August 22, 2009, 1:43 am

I own a Samsung LCD television which was widely praised on internet reviews sites. Unfortunately, it has just started making a clicking noise and won't switch on. When I investigated this on the internet it seems thousands of other people have the same problem, caused by the use of extremely low quality electronic components by Samsung in its power supply units which pack in after about 15 months (just after the guarantee expires). Most manufacturers would recall or offer to replace faulty components but it appears Samsung has stuck its head in the sand and refuses to acknowledge that there is a problem, charging over £80 an hour for repairs. Don't just take my word for it, look it up on the web. Retailers who have been inundated with complaints are also refusing to acknowledge that there is a manufacturing fault and are insisting the consumer pays for independent engineering reports before honouring their responsibilities under the Sale of Goods act. These reports, of course, cost more thn the item itslef so most consumers simply give in and pay over £200 for the repair. The answer is, of course, is quite simple. Do not touch Samsung TVs with a barge pole.

Geoff Richards

August 22, 2009, 2:40 am

@mikfrak - I'm not familiar with the fault you describe, but I've got one of these Samsungs: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...





which is 4 years old and doing just fine.

rob2trusted

September 3, 2009, 1:16 am

Can anybody submit the optimal calibration settings for this TV?....I would be very grateful....

NICKADSLUK (MVP)

September 3, 2009, 8:38 pm

comet have just added the model LE40B530 to their range priced at £479 and is very good indeed so much so all stocks are sold out at this time!!!

john reilly

October 2, 2009, 2:24 am

Like many other people i have a samsung lcd tv and like many other people the same problem.TV wont turn on clicking noise and red button flashing.


Samsung know of this problem,and refuse to do anything about it.


Pay the £200 repair because the tv cost me £950.


Like the guy above said DONT TOUCH SAMSUNG with a barge pole.


knew i should have stuck with SONY.

mike allison

March 3, 2010, 3:12 am

hi would this review compare for the 46 inch model. really like this tv, but feel 40 inch isnt a big enough step up for my current 32?

comments powered by Disqus