Samsung HW-C500 pictures

1 of 6 pictures

Samsung HW-C500
Samsung HW-C500

6 Pictures - Samsung HW-C500

  • Samsung HW-C500
  • Samsung HW-C500
  • Samsung HW-C500
  • Samsung HW-C500
  • Samsung HW-C500
  • HW-C500 A/V Receiver (Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS, DTS 96/24FM, AM)

Pbryanw

August 6, 2010, 9:06 pm

"or those who simply like seeing the name of the format pop-up on the display panel"





Hehe, thought it was just me who liked doing this. Shame about the review - if only someone could fuse this receiver's looks with, maybe, an Onkyo or Denon's audio capabilities.

pewpew

August 6, 2010, 9:07 pm

are you going to review the HW-C700?


Like the C500, a nice looking AV-Receiver but adds 7.2 and support of the HD audio formats....

Andy0d2

August 7, 2010, 12:22 am

I think this should have been in the review - Can you pass say a component input via a HDMI output? Thus you only require one HDMI cable to link your TV (obviously with another to carry the sound from your tv).

Geoff Richards

August 7, 2010, 1:23 am

@Andy - I haven't used the Samsung in question but what you're describing is quite normal for AV receivers like this. My Onkyo has my Blu-ray player (HDMI) Xbox 360 (Component / Optical), and Freeview (Composite / Photo) all plugged into the back of it, and a single HDMI going to my TV. Which is just as well because it only has one HDMI on it!





There's no need to "carry the sound from your TV" if your Freeview / Sky box is downstream, so to speak. However, if you're using your TVs in-built tuner (Freeview / Freeview HD or Freesat for example) you will then need to fire that audio back down to your receiver lest you be stuck with your telly's speakers.





This is normally down via "Audio Out" - most commonly Optical.

Andy0d2

August 7, 2010, 2:16 am

Yeah I have an all in one at the moment. I know that some budget recievers don't have this feature which are standard, as you say, on higher end systems like your onkyo.

Geoff Richards

August 7, 2010, 2:29 am

Then my caution was well warranted then. All-in-ones tend to be designed as closed systems but I'd be horrified if any receiver featuring several inputs / outputs couldn't switch as discussed. Even a £200 jobbie like this one.

fred bloggs

March 29, 2012, 4:42 pm

While I enjoy our Samsung HW-C500 (as a second receiver system in our home) I recently wired a Samsung Blu-ray BD-C5500 to it,would someone kindly advise an old man on some new tricks, Please, How may I play a CD without the TV coming on?

Darryl S

October 30, 2013, 10:57 pm

I have the HW-C500 as a second AV Receiver and it sounds really good for the price i paid which was around $200.00. The one thing I did was switch out the non-powered sub it came with with a powered Klipsch sub and what a difference. keep in mind there is a jack for a powered sub on the back. The sound quality is pretty good compared to my Denon but lacks the features of my Denon like duo zone and 7.1 surround.

I have a PS3, DVD, Directv sat.and ipod hooked up to this system.

comments powered by Disqus