Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus video review

By

Updated:

Read the full Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus review

S8 vs S8%2B: What's the difference?

More Mobile Phone Videos

Lakgong

March 29, 2017, 9:36 pm

It dosen't have anything special for the consumers like me. I want more fresh things such as 4D movie or VR no need of goggle.should I wait for such a this phone! I won't change my phone to any brand.

Ewok

March 31, 2017, 8:21 am

"with a quad-HD+ 2660 x 1440 resolution that looks super-sharp" That may be, but their battery life indications are based on it running at the "default" 1080p not 1440, so that they can fudge the battery life stats to make it look similar to the S7 when it's not (the S7 battery numbers were based on it running its full 1440p resolution because the ability to change resolutions only came with Nougat, so they are not comparing like with like). So running it at the full resolution might well kill the tiny battery even faster than the quoted life (tests required to see what effect it actually has, I hope it is almost nothing but there can only be one reason they have restricted the default to the lower res....).

Gamod

March 31, 2017, 2:39 pm

Samsung is trying to sell us a TV in the shape of a phone... yes, the screens are nice to look at and the designs seems ok if I forget about that finger scan, but I expected more essence out of this smartphone. A good selling point would be the most advanced rear camera, maybe a dual screen, a dual camera, an upgrade in ram, great video and camera features, maybe a 360 VR camera feature using the selfie and rear camera in the device itself instead of selling another camera for VR only... A decent battery... so many possibilities to please the consumer and they go for bixby (meh), screen with edges (meh), and that's it... I own the s7 edge and I started to hate those edges for so many reasons...

toboev

March 31, 2017, 3:12 pm

Funny thing is, since it was doubtless running at the default resolution whilst in the reviewers hand, all their blather about the "supersharp" quad HD+ resolution is testament to the inability of the eye to actually discern any difference above FHD on that size of screen. Basically, they thought it looked sharper because that is what they believed.

toboev

March 31, 2017, 3:21 pm

Could you elaborate on the reasons to hate the edges? I have a theory that such features sell the phone because they have great appeal initially, but that over time as people use the phone long term they become a liability. I put the whole bezel-less thing in the same category.
Curious as to your experience.

Ewok

March 31, 2017, 3:29 pm

The reviews I have seen all mention changing the resolution and I got the impression they had changed it and were running the higher res. I've seen plenty of people say on the S7 that they can see the difference with the lower res, and with the S8 being so much bigger it would be even more visible.

Either way I am now hearing of things like locked bootloaders which would affect rooting and having good custom roms and if that is the case then I am simply no longer interested in it. One of the things that has kept my S5 serving me so well has been the custom roms I have used to keep it clean and efficient and the ability to customise it and add things like xposed to it. If they have locked it down so I cannot do that on the S8 then I am going to look at something else instead (but at this point I don't know what).

Gamod

April 1, 2017, 8:28 am

My wife has S7 and I have S7 edge... I used both ...S7 is definitively better. The image is flat, its a perfect screen, the movie control bars dont get hidden in the edges. Second, you dont miss-click while you take a selfie or watch a clip, 3rd everything I do with the edges she can do with her S7... it gives a more clean look. 4th It doesnt create a border reflection that provides a bad video experience as you are unable to see some areas at sunlight... it's a pointless and useless feature. It was just made to look cool... it's not useful at all. The sad part, It wont make me look cool when I my friends see its flaws. I regret not picking S7 instead.

toboev

April 1, 2017, 8:38 am

That is everything I suspected. I've never had an edge screen, and whilst I can see the in-store eye-candy appeal, it always seemed a bad idea for all the reasons you give. Thanks for the feedback.

kempsterx5

April 2, 2017, 4:20 pm

You got to realize Samsung is not going to give you everything in one shot because if it did then what will they add next year, you'll only get bits and pieces.

Jeff T.

April 6, 2017, 1:04 pm

You will have a long, long wait for 4d. LOL I'd be happy with a long-life battery (lasting days, not hours), additional storage (128 should be the standard for flagship device), improved camera and some ergonomic features (like flexing without cracking, fingerprint reader in a convenient location).

Mavrik

April 6, 2017, 8:32 pm

The Edge crap is the new 3D for movies. It's edgy for the sake of being edgy, but it provides nothing of substance to the experience, and has numerous drawbacks for its handful of minor positives, while costing you extra. It's neither logical nor economical in the real world. Unfortunately unlike 3D movies, Samsung sales will not suffer gradual declines due to there being no alternatives to the flagship model from the same supplier.

vijay kumar

April 7, 2017, 8:49 am

The new s8's have much better palm/touch rejection on their edges. But the 'reflectance' point you mentioned is thought provoking.

Maybe samsung could apply some sort of anti-reflective coating to the side screens. I remember seeing pics of reflections on some s8,s8+ phones edges even in well lit rooms.

Another point but not related to edge screens but which enhances the 'usability' of these big phones....i wish they include a 'one-hand' operating mode in next year's flagships. With regard to software. Kind of like what LG did a few years ago with their flagship. Except that it needs to be much better this time and more comprehensive (or atleast for some important apps).

Paul Johnson

April 21, 2017, 8:09 pm

Coming from a Note 4, I dislike the S8+. The keyboard is too small. Taking mine back, it's an expensive toy waiting to be dropped.

Bruyork

April 29, 2017, 7:42 pm

I mean I love basically everything that they did with this phone but still very upset that the USA isn't getting the Exynos which is clearly having better battery life.

Phil

May 10, 2017, 10:45 pm

The thing to remember is the comparison between IPS and OLED screens. Certainly on an IPS screen you're totally correct but the pentile array used on Samsung OLED screens means that at this screen size there is a perceptable difference in sharpness between 1440 and 1080 - it's usually seen in the rendering of text rather than moving images. This is a peculiarity unique to OLED using a pentile array and can also result in greens looking weak as well.

toboev

May 11, 2017, 6:12 am

I'd love to see this demonstrated.

jimmy

May 11, 2017, 8:26 am

"the smaller 5.5-inch S8 will be best" - erm? Fact fail. it's 5.8 inches.
Proof Read, Proof Read, Proof Read. you look like amateurs compared to other sites.

Phil

May 11, 2017, 10:16 am

I can tell you it was demonstrated pretty well on an anandtech article which was some kind of deep dive into Samsung's OLED screens. I did have a look but their site seems to be playing up. Their conclusion was basically that for IPS screens 1080p was the maximum sensible in a phone and 1440p was the max in OLED until they move onto a different kind of matrix. I must say I am making the assumption about them still using a pentile array on the grounds that I haven't heard they've moved on from it, which would be big news.

Kevin Denham

May 14, 2017, 3:17 pm

I have a samsung galaxy s7 edge and it's the worse phone I've ever owned. I have had all the Samsung's from the ace to the s7 but can say that I will not be getting the s8 unless samsung do something about all the issues I am having with it. First I get a pink line down the screen on the right hand side and guess what my friend has a s7 edge aswell and she has the same pink line as me. Then the camera lens cracks on its own and guess what there is loads of complaints on here of people Who's lens has cracked!!!!!!! Then there was the software update and ever since the phone calls cut out and sound like it's under water. So after just 6 months of use the camera dosent work. The screen has a pink line down it and I can't take phone calls. I still have 1 year 6 months left on my contract but don't have a phone that works. I can not believe that this phone is so bad after being very happy with all the other samsung phones I've had. I've been told that I will have to pay to get all these things fixed myself even though none of it was my fault. It's been in a military grade case and also had a screen protector on for the hole time I've had the phone. I am disgusted with the service I've received and if it doesn't get sorted I will be converting to the iPhone from my next upgrade

Asma Harshi

May 18, 2017, 11:13 am

Lovers of big phones won't find a prettier device with a larger screen anywhere else than Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus

Charles

May 20, 2017, 6:55 am

Be very careful if you use Bluetooth devices as the S8 and S8+ do not work with them all (in fact only half of my devices were connectable, and some that were sounded horrible).

EuKiwi

June 6, 2017, 12:04 pm

I have the S7 Edge and my girlfriend the S7 and we've had no issues whatsoever with them.

chammy

June 8, 2017, 7:57 am

Samsung s8+ is not for users who are not ocd! what i mean is, you must be extremely careful when using it because it breaks easily. It's very fragile as material is glass. You should get a thick protector/ rubber.

geodeath

June 15, 2017, 1:22 pm

No issues with mine too - take it to Samsung, they will fix whatever it is, as long as it is under warranty. Getting an iPhone does not stop you from getting a lemon. The S7 has been the best so far and i owned all of them starting with the S2.

geodeath

June 15, 2017, 1:24 pm

Sometimes, you buy design for design's sake. Not everything needs to be practical to exist. And this is coming for a person who loves practicality.

comments powered by Disqus