Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini video review

Michael Sawh

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini review

If you really want a small S4, then yes, you should buy the S4 Mini. It's a very good phone that performs well and has a decent screen. If you want Android phone that's more pocket-friendly than most out there, it's a small step up from the Sony Xperia SP.

If size doesn't matter to you, however, think twice. While it's a very good phone, it's not the best mid-range Android smartphone available. The 4.7-inch Nexus 4 still holds that crown as its cheaper £239 price tag gives you a quad-core processor, a similarly impressive screen and a nicer design.The 4.8-inch Samsung Galaxy S3 is now available for under £300, too, which also has a quad-core and a high capacity battery compared to the S4 Mini. If size is no object, we'd pick both before the S4 Mini.

If you are weighing up whether to get the S4 Mini or the HTC One Mini the latter feels like a more impressive 'mini' smartphone, but is still more expensive at £380 - we'll be posting our review of the HTC soon.

More Mobile Phone Videos

Brian O'Neill

July 24, 2013, 11:14 am

The Sony Xperia looks like a better buy.

Shital Savekar

July 26, 2013, 5:16 am

The problem with S4 mini is it's price!
Nexus 4 has got much better specs and also cheaper..

I waited for this phone to launch... because I wanted to buy it.. and I thought it would be cheaper than Nexus 4 as the specs suggests. But, Samsung has gone crazy.

They just lost a customer ;-P

Chandrika

July 26, 2013, 12:19 pm

Waited long to launch S4 Mini; Now decided not buy....

Highly priced & too expensive!!! Similar featured phones are available for approximate INR 20,000/- in the market. Even Samsung's one of the premium smartphone Galaxy SIII has better features (5 in screen, 16GB internal memory, 2100mAh long battery & many more) which is also available for 27 to 28('000).

Product wise S4 Mini sounds good; But there is not point buying @ +27K...
For the more or less similar price go for Galaxy SIII or Xperia's ZR & SP and some HTCs models.... BUT DEFINATELY NOT FOR "S4 Mini"....

Mikael Chuaungo

July 27, 2013, 3:05 pm

The Galaxy S3 mini was overpriced, yet sold well.. I wasnt surprised to see the same overpricing treatment for the S4 mini. Without doubt it will sell well too, just that i wont be among the buyers,it charges too much bucks for so less.. The Nexus 4 seems more and more lucrative (with its JB 4.3 update)

Joweena Domingo

August 17, 2013, 11:45 am

I've been using s4mini for a month now, It's a great phone to use in everything (net, chat, call, games, camera, listen to music, watch video, reminder/alarms, doodle etc). It can handle all the shit I've been giving (because I'm a phone wrecker LOL) and in all seriousness It's the PERFECT PHONE for me. I used to have iphone but my life is better now without it. LOL definitely love my phone s4mini

JN

September 9, 2013, 9:30 pm

it doesnt lag on games because you must have put a lot of apps on the phone thats why it happend.But you can also store apps and games on a SD card,and there is also apps available to make the SD card perform faster so then there would be no lag or storage problems if you do that = Problems solved :)

noushad

September 15, 2013, 1:28 pm

I purchased one last week but complaint with network need to change full board
What a Customer care !!!!!
A manufacturing diffect form day one costing phone @27000.

prabhat

November 7, 2013, 7:57 pm

samsung had upgraded it with a new firmware since oct 2013 . if you have a problem just upgrade your phone.

Pavan Kumar

December 30, 2013, 1:43 pm

It has a 960x540 display

santosh

May 29, 2014, 1:52 pm

its really great phone smaller and smarter

Darren munroe

September 4, 2014, 8:42 pm

I LOVE THE S4 MINI.SUCH A NEAT PHONE VERY GREAT FROM SAMSUNG.DEFO

MAUROY

November 23, 2014, 6:03 pm

I Am Having trouble with my Battery losing it s charge just purchased a new battery and the same thing is happing any suggestions

comments powered by Disqus