Key Features: 4.2in IPS 480 x 800 pixel screen; 8GB internal memory; Android 2.3 Gingerbread OS; 2MP main camera, user-facing VGA camera; TouchWiz UI; 1GHz OMAP processor

Manufacturer: Samsung

Quick Glance
Internal Storage 8
Battery Life
Video 6
General Features
Microphone Yes
Speaker Yes
Screen Size (inches) 4.2
Audio Codecs
MP3 Yes
Internal Storage 8
Expandable memory Yes


May 22, 2012, 5:46 pm

Why the attempt to associate this device with the recently launched Galaxy S3? Aside from being manufactured by Samsung and named Galaxy S, there seems to be very little in common. I think your headline "Samsung Galaxy S3 on the cheap?" is misleading.


May 22, 2012, 6:23 pm

Just got myself the 5" version, got it primary as a MP3 player but turns out that's it's weakest point! Thanks to Winamp, problem solved.
The thing is also great for surfing the web and playing games as the screen is huge!
Have to say I think Samsung got the size right (for the 5"), I always felt a 7" tablet was too big to carry around.

Luan Bach

May 22, 2012, 8:21 pm

@Andrew, Any idea if it will accept a 64GB micro-SD card ? Cheers.


May 22, 2012, 9:25 pm

@ Luan: I think it should; people report that the previous iterations of the Galaxy Players will give an error when a 64GB microSDXC card is inserted, but it'll work properly once it is reformatted. I just purchased one yesterday to try in my 4.2. The possibility of getting a 64GB device running Poweramp for $250 was a tempting prospect.

I thought this review was a good summary of the device, but I'll provide one (admittedly niche) scenario where the 4.2 makes more sense than an actual phone.

I've had an HTC Evo 4G for two years now but I find that I rarely use the mobile data; my home, work, and school all have Wi-Fi. Rather than continue to pay Sprint $70-$80 a month I decided to go back to a $50 prepaid dumphone. $100 a year will handle all the calls I make, and the 4.2 allows me to still access all of the apps I use in the Android ecosystem. So far it's lasted me about twice what my Evo did between charges, and my crappy flip phone can go a whole week on a charge with the amount I use it.

I did think about getting an unlocked Galaxy S2, but in the end I decided that it was worth having separate devices for the benefit of longer battery life. If the next Nexus device is appealing enough, I could get one unlocked and still have paid less than a year of a smartphone contract here in the US.

Inspector Gadget

May 23, 2012, 5:10 am

Great review!

And I like how you mentioned that the lack of physical playback controls can be a serious drawback. The crusade against mechanical buttons that is so prevalent these days is something I will never understand.

Anyhow, there's an aspect of your review that I don't really understand. You mentioned how "by phone standards" the audio capabilities of this device are impressive. However when you speak about the value of this device you suggest that getting an entry-level or mid-range android phone may be a more cost-effective option.

Do those phones you mention have similar sound quality and format support as the reviewed device? If not, then this thing does have a definite audience. Those of us who primarily want a good music player, and as a plus, the added flexibility of the android system, touch screen, etc.

Luan Bach

May 23, 2012, 3:04 pm



January 19, 2013, 5:34 pm

i want a good quality mp3 player which could handle approx 65/70gb and must have bluetooth, at a sensible price. Would be nice. Would one of these fit the bill? At least I can physically see one before buying, unlike the Cowon, which otherwise looks interesting (but they do have a very confusing range)

Danny Jones

March 30, 2013, 1:50 am

This PLAYER has an 8gb internal storage and is expandable up to 32gb. So the maximum storage is 40gb. However, the Ipod Touch 5th Generation is sold in 32gb or 64gb but of course is a lot more expensive.

comments powered by Disqus