Home / Mobile / Tablet / Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 / Battery, Value and Verdict

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 – Battery, Value and Verdict

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Read our hands-on of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Battery Life

On a single charge from its proprietary cable, the Galaxy Note 10.1 with its 7,000mAh battery should last you all day. In a mixed scenario of browsing, video and productivity, it lasted us well over eight hours, though that was with the Power Savings setting activated.

This might not sound like much compared to the 9-plus hours from the iPad 3 or the likes of the Asus Transformer Pad 300, but don’t forget that the digitizer draws a wee bit, and there’s that quad-core CPU to feed…

To be honest we were hoping for a little more from the new Note - considering its premium positioning and the fact that Samsung’s usually pretty good at squeezing long battery life from its devices - but at least the Galaxy Note 10.1 doesn’t embarrass itself here.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Value

£399. That’s how much the fastest Android slate in the world will set you back, and this includes a Wacom pen solution that often seems to add at least £100 to any device it’s included with. However, that’s also the price of a better-looking, quad-core Asus Transformer Pad 300 with keyboard dock that will perform almost as well.

The Note additionally gives you an IR blaster to make it a universal TV remote and comes in a 3G version, while the 300 with dock offers better connectivity, more native storage, and up to 14 hours of battery life.

In the end, we guess it all comes down to two main questions: do you need 3G? And which is mightier, the pen or the keyboard? We’ve been told Samsung is considering a portable keyboard folio solution for the Galaxy Note 10.1, and the Transformer Infinity already has a 3G version in the works.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 5

Here and now though, it’s a tough choice, made no easier by the fact that the new iPad with its gorgeous Retina Display also costs around the same. The other option, of course, is to see what Windows 8 tablets will offer come October – but that’s a whole different kettle of fish.

Verdict

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 is ugly and innovative, powerful and limited, a success and a disappointment. With its superb quad-core processor and 2GB of RAM, it’s the most powerful Android tablet yet, while its stereo speakers mean it’s the best-sounding. Its Wacom-based S Pen and tailored apps/interface make it an amazing creativity tool, and it comes with some great pre-installed software like Photoshop Touch. On the other hand, its connectivity is restricted, while its looks, screen and battery life are merely average. However, at under £400 the Galaxy Note 10.1 is still an excellent buy if its feature set appeals.

deaniopo

February 29, 2012, 7:57 pm

"Most peculiarly, though, the S-Pen is an optional extra, which is very considering being as there's no reason to buy the Note is you're not going to use the pen."

Nice sentence.

David Gilbert

February 29, 2012, 8:09 pm

Thanks for pointing it out. We too spotted this and it has been fixed so should be live on the site soon.

john g

August 16, 2012, 8:09 pm

When you do the full review, please could you explore/explain to what extent the unit can be used as a graphics tablet in conjunction with another computer...
* Can it work in conjunction with Photoshop/Photoshop Elements etc.
* If not, why not and will there be any commitment to develop this capability?
* If it does work, can the tablet show the portion of the image being worked on, or will it just run 'blind' like most other graphics tablets?

If it can't do any of these things, then I wonder how many owners will make good use of the stylus... until there are powerful, fully-featured photo editors and graphics apps available for Android, then will it end up just being something to show to your mates down the pub, but never use - a bit like NFC seems to be at the moment?

Thanks.

stuart 2

August 17, 2012, 2:15 am

Would also be great to see a review of how it performs for document annotation/reviewing with PDFs and Word docs.

TechVegan

August 18, 2012, 2:08 am

Thanks for your comment.

Unfortunately, this is currently impossible.

It makes a lot of sense and I would love to see it happen, but it's not in manufacturers' best interests, and would take a serious redesign on both the software and hardware levels to achieve.

It's like never being able to use laptop screens with other devices. Why can't I plug a PS3 into my 18in laptop's screen? It's a capability that's only now arriving on the market after decades, and only in one brand...

RE photo editors, Photoshop Touch is surprisingly powerful - read our review here: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

As for drawing/graphics, there's Autodesk's SketchBook Pro and ArtRage.

Hope that all helps :)

TechVegan

August 18, 2012, 2:09 am

Thanks for your comment. I will try this out and let you know.

Arctic Fox

August 18, 2012, 7:15 am

Interestingly enough I think that the Win8 "Surface" (not the RT edition - the x86 version) is equipped with the capacity to be used with a digitiser stylus. I have to say that where we are talking a *proper* stylus of this type we are really talking about a very useful additional way to interact with your kit. Many are not comfortable with more than a line or two using a touch keyboard and it is not always possible or convenient to connect a keyboard to your device. The modern styli of this type and the considerable improvements in voice to text that we have seen in recent times are IMO rather exciting. They hold out the hope that in the relatively near future it will be common/near standard for medium to high end devices to be equipped such that we can interact with them by touching, talking, writing and (where needed) by means of keyboard and mouse. When we regularly get mobile devices that are equipped with *all* these means of interaction as standard it will really "humanise" our devices. The user will be able to develop his/her own mix dependent on capacity, use and context. I for one would be willing to part with some serious money if Samsung release (for example) next year a "Series 8 Slate" (or some such) which in practice can be both my productivity pc at home, my sofa lounger and my mobile pc. At least I will be willing as long as all those interaction choices are of serious quality and an integral part of the kit.

piesforyou

August 22, 2012, 12:43 am

Why didn't the use USB? Is it just to lock people into buying future samsung tablets because they already have the accessories? Really disappointed.

Bugblatter

August 22, 2012, 2:01 am

Ardjuna it wouldn't surprise me if GRemote would allow the stylus to control the cursor on a PC; it already allows the touch screen to do so. Worth a try if you get the chance.

TechVegan

August 22, 2012, 2:36 pm

Yep, it's pretty much the 'Apple approach'. At least Samsung still give you a microSD card slot, and at least with its USB adapter, you can actually plug in USB sticks and peripherals (with Apple's one for iPad, you can only connect powered devices like cameras >:( )

Likewise with the disappointment...

Pendejo Sin Nombre

August 22, 2012, 5:45 pm

Are there variants floating around or something? In one corner there's a lacklustre review from The Verge prompted at least in part by it being based on what they call the 'mediocre' Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 plus the review by the Android Police with the title 'An Embarrassing, Lazy, Arrogant Money Grab'

In the other corner there's Trusted Review's.

I'm genuinely not taking sides because I haven't seen or used one but for a specific example of widely differing experiences and reactions how about this from Android Police -

'The build quality. Terrible even by Samsung's low standards. The back is actually squishy, and you can feel it deform while holding it. It's noisy too, the plastic creaks, groans, and grinds when you pick it up.'

Vs

'However, build quality is pretty much flawless. The plastics used throughout are very solid, and nowhere is there a hint of flex or creak.'

TechVegan

August 22, 2012, 10:07 pm

@Pendejo Sin Nombre:
You raise a good point and one I want to answer in a little detail, as other readers may be wondering the same.

It's amazing how this tablet seems to have divided professional opinion. On the one hand there's Android Police and The Verge, who both 'pan' it, while Cnet calls it "Samsung's best tablet yet", Pocketlint says it's "simply brilliant", and we're generally positive too.

It's interesting to note that both The Verge and Android Police have black models, while the positive reviews I've seen have white ones. Since the Note 10.1 isn't yet available in black as far as I'm aware, this leads me to suspect - and this is just a guess - that those might be pre-production samples which still had a few issues with build and software...

RE the build quality, maybe I was a little generous as the rear panel does actually flex if you press on it and I was concentrating more on the edges. I have amended the review to reflect this. However, "the plastic creaks, groans, and grinds when you pick it up" is definitively NOT at all the case with our sample.

TechVegan

February 14, 2013, 4:55 pm

Just to clarify, that was in the preview not written by me :P - I have a reputation to protect here ;)

Also, as anyone who's read the review will know, the S-pen is included by default.

Designergenes

February 17, 2013, 7:44 pm

A welcome update, I'm planning on buying one of these this week so it's nice to see a summary of the Jellybean improvements. I've finally lost patience with my convertible HP laptop, the old screen technology means that you have to play 'guess the colour' every time I change my viewing angle. I've become a big fan of Android since I bought a Nexus 7 and this will be an ideal companion piece and electronic sketchbook.

I'm glad that I won you over to Sketchbook Pro, Ardjuna, it's a fantastic program. I just wish it had been around when I did my design degree- it would have saved me a fortune in marker pens.

Andrei Lanuza

February 19, 2013, 10:01 am

I find it odd that the review only squeezed in about 8+ hours of use on the device. Is this reflective of real world use? It almost always takes about 10 hours, give or take, to drain my GN 10.1. This is with wifi constantly on with a mix of watching a couple of movies, occasionally playing a few casual games, using the tablet to draw for hours, and a lot of web browsing and downloading. Power save mode wasn't switched on.

gonzo.pete

February 23, 2013, 12:35 am

Could you pack any more adverts onto your review pages? The meandering scrolling of the pages led me to give up after page 2.
I suggest you focus a bit more on content and a bit less on revenue production then the pages might actually scroll smoothly.

ElijahJeremy

March 16, 2013, 6:28 am

Thanks for the review , it helped me a lot in making my choice.
http://www.coffy.com

ntokozo

August 26, 2013, 9:52 pm

its all 16 gig?

ntokozo

August 26, 2013, 9:52 pm

so there is no 32 gig samsung note?

Ness

September 4, 2013, 10:49 am

There is a 32 gig version. I happily own one. :D

flying fish

September 26, 2013, 1:32 pm

The person saying that the samsung 10.1 note is ugly needs to go to specksavers. I have looked at many 10 + " tablets and this one far out smarts others both in looks and performance. Quad core, 2gb memory.

John Willy

September 28, 2013, 5:31 pm

I agree with flying fish. Go to specsavers. The screen and display is first class. I have used Ipads and they don't come near the Note.

Joe

October 3, 2013, 8:01 pm

Can I get Skype to work on the Samsung Galaxy Note 16GB 10.1 inch ?

Charley

October 13, 2013, 9:19 pm

What does the 8pi or 6pi rating mean in the S pen specs? Which is better for drawing, painting, and photo corrections? Also, do I need to get one to match my 10.1 running android 4.2.2?

Charley

October 13, 2013, 9:25 pm

What does 8pi or 6pi mean in the pen specs? Which is better for drawing? Also, what else would be important for compatibility with my 10.1 running android 4.2.2.? My 10.1 didn't come with a pen nor a place to store one.

comments powered by Disqus