Home / Mobile / Tablet / Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 / Stylus Hardware and Screen

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 - Stylus Hardware and Screen

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 – Stylus Hardware

As with the Galaxy Note 3, the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 employs a Samsung S-Pen and a Wacom digitiser layer in the screen to offer the stylus functionality that's still relatively rare in Android tablets.

It's hardware execution is great. The pen is light, with a triangle-shaped barrel to fit your grip, and it slots into the tablet itself for easy stowing.

As with any stylus, we found it terribly easy to put the S-Pen down and forget to pick up. Unlike the Note 3, the Note 10.1 2014 edition doesn't seem to have the S Pen Keeper software, which alerts you when you walk away with the device without the stylus attached (we imagine this is because it's a tablet, not a phone).

Note 10.1 2014

The rubber nib gives a nice level of resistance when you're writing on the Gorilla Glass screen, and it simply feels far more natural and accurate than the capacitive styluses we've tried. It doesn't feel like writing with a pen on paper, but it's not a universe apart either. The stylus also works with the touch sensitive keys, letting you operate the tablet fully using the stylus.

Palm rejection – turning off the capacitive layer when you're using the stylus – tops off the really quite excellent stylus basics. We'll look at what you can actually do with it a little later.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 - Screen

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 has a 10.1-inch screen like the last model, but resolution is much higher this time. It has a 2,560 x 1,600 pixel display, giving pixel density of 299ppi.

Although a little lower than the pixel density of high-end phones, sharpness is nevertheless strong. That said, look up close and you can see a slight fuzziness – particularly in block white areas and in borders between high-contrast colour changes. This is the visible underlying pixel structure in action.

It is caused by the rather unusual screen type used in the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014. Rather than IPS, PLS or AMOLED, the tablet has a 'Super LCD' display. This uses a different pixel structure, featuring a square block of red, green, blue and white sub-pixels – rather than the RGB array of a 'normal' LCD panel. This causes the fuzziness we see when looking really close-up.

Is it a serious problem? Absolutely not, but in these days of near-perfect phone and tablet screen we've learned to become very critical. If we were being mean we'd call it just-sub-'Retina', although this is something of a bastardisation of Apple's terminology as it's not apparent from normal viewing distances.

Note 10.1 2014 1

In attempting to gain parity with AMOLED Galaxy phones, colours are quite intense and vivid, but you also have some control over the tone of the screen. There's a Screen Mode option in the Setting section that offers four display modes – dynamic (oversaturated colours), standard (good), Movie (good, with a warm-skewed colour temperature), and Adapt.

Adapt alters the display quality depending on the app running. The gallery, camera app, ebook reader, web browser and video player all have different settings – but it doesn't try to alter settings for other apps, which is a sensible move.

In all the modes there's a slight yellow/warm cast to whites that stops the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 from achieving perfect colour accuracy, but it's very pleasant to look at regardless. It's an excellent screen that only pedants like us would criticise.

dpanch_89

September 7, 2013, 6:49 pm

Can't wait to get one of these.

arnold

September 7, 2013, 9:05 pm

Like !

Tippa

September 7, 2013, 10:19 pm

How about Remote Desktop? I imagine that one could emulate a mouse using the S Pen, so you can remote control for example your Win7 computer at home. Does that work well? Which RDP app to use?

maaen

September 17, 2013, 9:51 pm

I just hope that the Note 12.2 will be as good or even better and has an extra large battery...a longer S pen( 7 inches long at least), and I hope that the tablet will be very sleek ....and I would like it to have a beautiful low light capable camera with the flash...and please Samsung ...No BUTTON.....and it would be so good to have two speakers on the top on the landscape format.....please do not make us wait too long

kenneth

November 14, 2013, 4:22 pm

The tablet is a disaster. Crashed just out of the box. Samsung dealer says the OS is unstable. Had to reinstall the OS. Notification bar freezes even with no apps running. I MADE A TOTALLY BAD DECISION!

kenneth

November 14, 2013, 4:24 pm

The OS is unstable. Mine crashed just out of the box. Samsung had to reformat the OS!

skynine

November 17, 2013, 11:50 am

Mine has worked perfectly. It did update the OS automatically soon after startup, no complaints so far.

kinza

November 17, 2013, 1:43 pm

nice

Sharky66

November 18, 2013, 11:59 am

Come on Nexus 10 - hurry up.

Albert

November 18, 2013, 12:33 pm

Sounds like my iPad Air. Screen blanked and bricked the first time I turned it on out of the box. Apple Genius said I had tried to jailbreak it (I don't even have any idea what that is) and would not help as I did not have Applecare. Lucky John Lewis is excellent at returns. I am now waiting for the new larger Nexus.

Chris

November 18, 2013, 8:06 pm

I own old version and only issue I have is battery life / charging time issue. Hopefully that was addressed in 2014 model

dpanch_89

November 18, 2013, 11:04 pm

Got it now, and its great! though its my first android product, so i'm still figuring out how the file system works! Need to find a good PDF annotating app for my PhD too!

cbordin

November 19, 2013, 1:34 am

Have had mine just over a week and it Rocks! I would recommend it to anyone stylus required or not. Super fast and rock solid and for battery life in my case, it lasts all day. Light use days I could get two or three days.
I will never go back to apple and their restricted/moderated software. If anyone disputes this just download Fing for Apple and then try Fing for android.

IT Admin

connor

November 26, 2013, 11:58 pm

apparently nexus 10 2nd gen not happening

http://au.ibtimes.com/articles...

Droid

November 28, 2013, 4:04 am

I personally don't trust a single word coming from an IBTimes article..

Chad

December 8, 2013, 1:58 am

I have had mine for two weeks and I am completely satisfied. Upgraded from the Note 8, which was the best device I have ever had. Was nervous, but now I am glad I went with the larger version of a great device. I would not trade my Note for 10 ipads.

Ilya Feldman

December 10, 2013, 11:08 am

I realize this is an unusual question, but which color would you go with? Does either color serve any specific utility other than just aesthetics?

Tushar Patil

December 15, 2013, 1:40 pm

I would suggest Black would look good, as black border would provide good contrast...But still it depends on your choice.

miginny

December 16, 2013, 7:14 pm

This tablet is awesome! Stylus is not just a footnote; it's the main reason I got this model and it rocks. Feels like a paper notepad, except I can keep all my notes electronically filed. Multi-window, multi-tasking is another brilliant feature (that was not mentioned in this review).

Richard

December 18, 2013, 1:48 am

I got a Surface Pro but I am taking it back to get this tablet instead because of how terrible the user interface is, and this seems to be a lot better. He mentioned performance issues, have you noticed those?

Floyd russell

December 28, 2013, 11:40 pm

Hello,

I presume that you are talking the 2014 model?

James

January 4, 2014, 8:58 pm

On the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014

Just bought this yesterday and am not impressed.
The UI is way too mess/fussy; frequently the touch screen will not respond until 3-5 tries when touching links; the sound is absolutely horrible - tinny and without any depth. useability overall stinks. To me, if useability is crappy, the device is crappy.
My S3 android phone is far better in all of the above.

Of course, it's better points are the video playback (with horrible, unbearable) sound; the screen resolution, size and speed; and the battery.
I hope that the stylus will be useful to me but I have only just fooled around with it so I can't offer useful comment. It does work quite well tho, so I am looking forward to testing that.

The build quality is cheap. The bottom edge is curved and the mini-usb charger connector at bottom edge middle is usually hard to get in/out. It is VERY slippery so a case with texture is essential.
I do not think it is worth near $600 - maybe $400.

My intention, having bought this at Costco, is to further test it, then exchange this unit, and if nothing is better, to return it.
I would give up the super screen/vid playback for a tablet which does not have the above issues.

I may update this lattter as I use it more.

Shontal Ann

January 5, 2014, 4:26 am

I opted for the black as well and it is beautiful :) The black has a sort of frosted sheen that is so enticing to the eyes!

James McG

January 24, 2014, 5:02 pm

I have this tablet and have to totally disagree, the sound is OK not top quality but passable, the UI is excellent once setup for you settings and I have had absolutely no issues with the touch screen. I had the iPad 4 before this and this is way better than it in most things. Maybe your one has a bug or fault hope it works out for you.

D.C. Price, MBA,PMP,MCTS,CNA

July 18, 2014, 4:32 pm

Samsung does not care about their customers or the investment their customers make in their technology. They just want your money, more money. My Galaxy Note 10.1 is less than 10 months old but I cannot fully use it because I am stuck on an outdated operating system. I have called Customer support no less than 10 times asking when the KitKat 4.4.4. OS will be release for my device and today I was told it may not be. Why? Because Samsung is so busy pushing out new $500.00 devices to new customers they fail to keep current customers updated. Now if this were the worst, it would be digestable. But when I ask how much of a trade in value they will give me for my less than 10 month old device, in perfect condition, I am told $40.00! Really? It sounds like they just want my (your) money!. Beware with your money if you are considering Samsung as your technology device provider. I will post this on every website I find to warn everyone of the horrible customer service I have recived by a company that is collecting big American dollars. Thank you very much.

comments powered by Disqus