Home / Mobile / Tablet / Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 / Battery Life, Speakers and Verdict

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 - Battery Life, Speakers and Verdict

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams



Our Score:


User Score:

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 – Battery Life

The 2014 Note 10.1 has a non-removable 8,220mAh battery. That's significantly larger than the 7,000mAh battery of the last model, but it's needed because of the higher-resolution screen.

To give the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 more of a chance against its competitors, we turned off most of the Samsung extras, such as the eye-monitoring Smart Stay before setting the tablet to play a looped SD-quality video. It lasts for a fairly impressive 12 hours of video playback.

This is likely down to the way the Octo-core processor can step down to use its Cortex-A5 cores when dealing with low-intensity tasks like this.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 – Connectivity and storage

As with most high-end Samsung tablets, the Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 has virtually every wireless connection type under the sun. Naturally, you get the basics of GPS, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth.

The latest standards are supported too, so you get Bluetooth 4.0 (aka Bluetooth Smart) and Wi-FI ac. Other connectivity types not seen in every mobile device include NFC, and wireless screen sharing (video transmission over Wi-Fi).

You miss out on the USB 3.0 seen in the Note 3, but that also means you don't have to deal with the weird oversized socket on that phone. We're perfect happy with the Note 10.1's USB 2.0 – transfer rates are snappy and you wouldn't want to charge the giant 8,220mAh from a computer USB port. It'd take an age, even with the increased power output of USB 3.0.

It comes in three storage options - 16/32/64GB and has an microSD card slot for external expansion.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 – Speakers

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 has stereo speakers. The last model had stereo speakers too, but this time they're mounted to the sides of the speaker rather than the front. They sit fairly high up on each side to avoid you accidentally covering them with your hands.

Note 10.1 2014 6

We love to see stereo speakers in tablets, as they increase immersion when watching movies or playing games. However, the Note 10.2 2014 speakers are only half-way there.

Top volume is loud, and while the sound dispersal of front stereo speakers is superior, it's better than a mono speaker. However, actual sound quality isn't not remarkable. There's not a great deal of weight or warmth to the sound, and the treble sounds harsh when the volume is cranked up. These speakers aren't bad, but we're confident Samsung can do better.

Note 10.1 2014 1

Should I buy the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014?

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 is a good tablet that will stick on our list of Android tablets that deserve serious consideration because of its well-implemented stylus. Like the last Note 10.1, this tablet makes a fantastic casual drawing gadget – if not one that professionals should really consider as a tool.

It also has excellent stamina, given that its battery is significantly smaller than the unit in the original Nexus 10.

However, it's not without problems. The Samsung UI looks messy in parts – it needs either an editor or a stylist – and there are performance issues that should not be here given quite how much power the tablet has. An Octo-core chip loses its shine when operation isn't as slick as some lesser-powered rivals. This is a good tablet, but given its premium £450 price, we wouldn't put it at the top of your list unless the idea of the stylus appeals.


The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 is a solid Android tablet with an up-to-date, slim-bezel design and great stylus. However, it suffers from puzzling performance issues that need fixing and the custom interface needs a redesign.

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 9
  • Build Quality 8
  • Performance 6
  • Screen Quality 9
  • Sound Quality 6
  • Value 7


September 7, 2013, 6:49 pm

Can't wait to get one of these.


September 7, 2013, 9:05 pm

Like !


September 7, 2013, 10:19 pm

How about Remote Desktop? I imagine that one could emulate a mouse using the S Pen, so you can remote control for example your Win7 computer at home. Does that work well? Which RDP app to use?


September 17, 2013, 9:51 pm

I just hope that the Note 12.2 will be as good or even better and has an extra large battery...a longer S pen( 7 inches long at least), and I hope that the tablet will be very sleek ....and I would like it to have a beautiful low light capable camera with the flash...and please Samsung ...No BUTTON.....and it would be so good to have two speakers on the top on the landscape format.....please do not make us wait too long


November 14, 2013, 4:22 pm

The tablet is a disaster. Crashed just out of the box. Samsung dealer says the OS is unstable. Had to reinstall the OS. Notification bar freezes even with no apps running. I MADE A TOTALLY BAD DECISION!


November 14, 2013, 4:24 pm

The OS is unstable. Mine crashed just out of the box. Samsung had to reformat the OS!


November 17, 2013, 11:50 am

Mine has worked perfectly. It did update the OS automatically soon after startup, no complaints so far.


November 17, 2013, 1:43 pm



November 18, 2013, 11:59 am

Come on Nexus 10 - hurry up.


November 18, 2013, 12:33 pm

Sounds like my iPad Air. Screen blanked and bricked the first time I turned it on out of the box. Apple Genius said I had tried to jailbreak it (I don't even have any idea what that is) and would not help as I did not have Applecare. Lucky John Lewis is excellent at returns. I am now waiting for the new larger Nexus.


November 18, 2013, 8:06 pm

I own old version and only issue I have is battery life / charging time issue. Hopefully that was addressed in 2014 model


November 18, 2013, 11:04 pm

Got it now, and its great! though its my first android product, so i'm still figuring out how the file system works! Need to find a good PDF annotating app for my PhD too!


November 19, 2013, 1:34 am

Have had mine just over a week and it Rocks! I would recommend it to anyone stylus required or not. Super fast and rock solid and for battery life in my case, it lasts all day. Light use days I could get two or three days.
I will never go back to apple and their restricted/moderated software. If anyone disputes this just download Fing for Apple and then try Fing for android.

IT Admin


November 26, 2013, 11:58 pm

apparently nexus 10 2nd gen not happening



November 28, 2013, 4:04 am

I personally don't trust a single word coming from an IBTimes article..


December 8, 2013, 1:58 am

I have had mine for two weeks and I am completely satisfied. Upgraded from the Note 8, which was the best device I have ever had. Was nervous, but now I am glad I went with the larger version of a great device. I would not trade my Note for 10 ipads.

Ilya Feldman

December 10, 2013, 11:08 am

I realize this is an unusual question, but which color would you go with? Does either color serve any specific utility other than just aesthetics?

Tushar Patil

December 15, 2013, 1:40 pm

I would suggest Black would look good, as black border would provide good contrast...But still it depends on your choice.


December 16, 2013, 7:14 pm

This tablet is awesome! Stylus is not just a footnote; it's the main reason I got this model and it rocks. Feels like a paper notepad, except I can keep all my notes electronically filed. Multi-window, multi-tasking is another brilliant feature (that was not mentioned in this review).


December 18, 2013, 1:48 am

I got a Surface Pro but I am taking it back to get this tablet instead because of how terrible the user interface is, and this seems to be a lot better. He mentioned performance issues, have you noticed those?

Floyd russell

December 28, 2013, 11:40 pm


I presume that you are talking the 2014 model?


January 4, 2014, 8:58 pm

On the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014

Just bought this yesterday and am not impressed.
The UI is way too mess/fussy; frequently the touch screen will not respond until 3-5 tries when touching links; the sound is absolutely horrible - tinny and without any depth. useability overall stinks. To me, if useability is crappy, the device is crappy.
My S3 android phone is far better in all of the above.

Of course, it's better points are the video playback (with horrible, unbearable) sound; the screen resolution, size and speed; and the battery.
I hope that the stylus will be useful to me but I have only just fooled around with it so I can't offer useful comment. It does work quite well tho, so I am looking forward to testing that.

The build quality is cheap. The bottom edge is curved and the mini-usb charger connector at bottom edge middle is usually hard to get in/out. It is VERY slippery so a case with texture is essential.
I do not think it is worth near $600 - maybe $400.

My intention, having bought this at Costco, is to further test it, then exchange this unit, and if nothing is better, to return it.
I would give up the super screen/vid playback for a tablet which does not have the above issues.

I may update this lattter as I use it more.

Shontal Ann

January 5, 2014, 4:26 am

I opted for the black as well and it is beautiful :) The black has a sort of frosted sheen that is so enticing to the eyes!

James McG

January 24, 2014, 5:02 pm

I have this tablet and have to totally disagree, the sound is OK not top quality but passable, the UI is excellent once setup for you settings and I have had absolutely no issues with the touch screen. I had the iPad 4 before this and this is way better than it in most things. Maybe your one has a bug or fault hope it works out for you.


July 18, 2014, 4:32 pm

Samsung does not care about their customers or the investment their customers make in their technology. They just want your money, more money. My Galaxy Note 10.1 is less than 10 months old but I cannot fully use it because I am stuck on an outdated operating system. I have called Customer support no less than 10 times asking when the KitKat 4.4.4. OS will be release for my device and today I was told it may not be. Why? Because Samsung is so busy pushing out new $500.00 devices to new customers they fail to keep current customers updated. Now if this were the worst, it would be digestable. But when I ask how much of a trade in value they will give me for my less than 10 month old device, in perfect condition, I am told $40.00! Really? It sounds like they just want my (your) money!. Beware with your money if you are considering Samsung as your technology device provider. I will post this on every website I find to warn everyone of the horrible customer service I have recived by a company that is collecting big American dollars. Thank you very much.

comments powered by Disqus