Samsung Galaxy A5 pictures - 13 of 13

pic4

13 of 13 pictures

Hover to zoom

pic5

13 Pictures - Samsung Galaxy A5

Enlarge
  • samsunggalaxya52017 9
  • samsunggalaxya52017 13
  • samsunggalaxya52017 15
  • samsunggalaxya52017 17
  • samsunggalaxya52017 5
  • samsunggalaxya52017 7
  • samsunggalaxya52017 11
  • samsunggalaxya52017 1
  • pic1
  • pic2
  • pic3
  • pic4
  • pic5

toboev

January 9, 2015, 10:18 am

"The manufacturer has been repeatedly criticised in the past for its shoddy build quality..."
Really? You seem to confuse the materials of construction with the quality of construction. Many 'commentators' have banged on about Samsung's use of polycarbonate, but I don't think anyone has seriously accused Samsung of screwing its phones together shoddily.

Much as you say, the use of metal is about the "the look and feel of the device", a subjective dimension, and nothing to do with build quality.

Simon

March 3, 2015, 10:16 am

So - this phone has worse specs than a Nexus 5 or LG G2 but yet costs the same or more (at least where I live). Who would pay more for less?

John

March 25, 2015, 6:23 pm

Reminds me of my S2.

Dave

March 26, 2015, 9:57 am

You've given a phone 8/10 that costs more than the LG G3 yet has far inferior specs? Huh?

Deon Pretorius

May 28, 2015, 12:15 pm

Design gets 10/10 but Calls & Sound gets 7/10. a Phone should be a phone first and then all the other stuff. Fail.

fonix232

July 21, 2015, 9:38 am

Samsungs use of polycarbonate was sloppy at best. All my friends S3-S5s are squeaky, bend easily, and don't give off a quality feeling (not to mention they scratch incredibly easily).

The A5 shows quality build from the first moment, and then when you actually use it, you can feel how much difference there is, even compared to e.g. a Grand Prime (which has mostly the same specs).

Nitin

August 17, 2015, 4:28 am

This phone is oveall good. specially for look display and Camera.
but bad FM radio connectivity. and can not use 2 sim and SD card simultaneously.

MichaelPri

September 2, 2015, 5:05 am

Avoid the G2, it's a technical nightmare, starting from a GPS that never works.

Sanchita Banik

October 16, 2015, 10:16 am

Sumsung Galaxy A5, most worst phone. I purchased it on
26/10/15 for Rs: 21,900/-. Just used for 7 days and Display light had gone
suddenly, without touching anything. Then i went to a Sumsung service center at
Jayanagar 3rd block, Bangalore. They informed me, it's Display has been
damaged. So it will not come under warranty services and i have to pay Rs:
9000/- to repair it.

Samsung simply running their mobile repairing shop with the
name of service center. They are providing low quality technology with high
price by the using their previous Brand Value. But this Brand you can compare
with a local Chinese mobile now. Govt
and courts should insist on stringent penalty if quality compromises are
evidenced. Samsung is known for quality but don't know what is happening these
days.

Mobile Price

February 9, 2016, 8:29 am

+ Its best in look, rounded shape, slip piece and just a beautiful look, having no problems to use, it can use easily and have a great processor,It has a good operating system.

..

-The main negative point is its battery life is not good, its not good in response time, take more times when rebooting.

Julia Rodrigues

July 25, 2016, 12:02 pm

Now buy Samsung phones at a discount online only at NewSmartphoneDeals;com

Den List

November 15, 2016, 6:35 pm

Samsung Galaxy A5 in itself is good, but Uhans H5000 is cheaper, has a large memory and battery capacity

iFrank

February 8, 2017, 2:17 pm

Max, Re A5 2017;
I agree with your conclusion, despite this initial price and it was good that you acknowledge the purpose of Touchwiz is to provide facilties over and above Basic Android.
The very reason that what it facilities is popular with the wider public and each iteration of Android endeavours to follow the route shown by Samsung.
@fonix232.
I had Note1and other Samsungs, it did not creek or feel at all cheap and I never, ever, thought 'This needs Premium materials' or 'This software with useful features like the FM radio including the ability to record is "bloat" and should be scaled back to basic phone call making like some other phones'.
On the contrary I adored the screen and S Planner, the then best calender implementation since Lotus Smartsuite.

iFrank

February 8, 2017, 2:23 pm

You may be interested to to revisit this old (2015) review, updated for the 2017 version.

toboev

February 9, 2017, 9:50 pm

"Samsung’s weak point for many years has been a disappointing software
experience, mostly because of its over complicated TouchWiz UI"

Ha! "For many years" TW has already enjoyed features which only now are being slowly drip-fed into 'stock' Android. Strange how all those years ago in TW the same features now fêted as must-have Marshmallow/Nougat goodness were then derided as a "disappointing software experience".

digitalponsel

February 11, 2017, 2:44 pm

hi, can you give me the phone? :D we want to review for unboxing sir

Crystal Glimmer

February 15, 2017, 1:53 am

Spent 3 grand on a Samsung 2016 SUHD TV. The power cord is so loose it falls out when someone walks next to the TV. Stuff happens and even though this IS a manufacturer's defect I figured well - stuff happens! I contacted Samsung thinking they would make it better. Not only did they NOT make it better they told me too bad, so sad but we aren't GOING to make it better. We got your 3 thousand dollars and don't care that your product is shoddy, go away!

Hmm. Didn't expect that. It's not like I dropped it in a bath tub! It came with a faulty power cord! Or faulty plug. Not sure - just know - IT CAME THAT WAY! And they don't care. The choice was down to Samsung or LG and I chose Samsung cause I thought they had a good reputation. Not so. They don't care about their reputation! Don't reward them for shoddy work and non existent support! DON'T buy Samsung - you will be as sorry you did! I sure am!

Kyler Barrett

March 29, 2017, 12:55 am

but it is not waterproof and has a slower processor and worse screen resolution (only 720p)

Matt Welford

April 7, 2017, 11:33 am

(Samsung won't upload my review unless it's 5 star. I was trying to upload a 2 star review. Ho-hum)

It's amazing to think this represents 2 years technological progress since I got my old LG G2.

It doesn't appear to be any faster even on the most processor heavy games (which my G2 has never struggled with anyway). The speakers are weak, the new version/custom version of android on this is gruesome to use. Don't people realise the functionality of iPhones are disgusting to Android users? Why are you trying to copy this?

After a few days test you then notice the things you used to rely on - like I can't get force feedback working on key presses, something that is a massive aid to typing and soft buttons. It also has no IR facility, so I can no longer control my TV and Sky+ box with it. I can't double-tap to switch it on/off and has hard buttons on the edges which are too easy to press.

The screen is the same size but the phone is about 1cm longer, 0.5cm wider, about 0.25cm thicker and very noticeably heavier than my G2. It can't just be a bigger battery because it's power level got mullered in a few simple tests.

Still, the camera is good and the case nice. Just what a "phone" is about...

In short this offers nothing other than an example of how smartphone technological progress has completely stalled in recent years. I took it back and swapped it for an LG G5 SE which has none of the A5's downsides so I'll be keeping it.

Matt Welford

April 7, 2017, 11:35 am

Yep. I have a G2 and the A5 utter crap in comparison. It has nothing over it that is worth anything.

Tweakdroid Ade

April 29, 2017, 7:01 pm

Really?

Brett Lithgow

May 5, 2017, 12:06 am

save your money don't buy one 2017 model
The one I bought lasted two months then bottom section of screen froze

Sam A

May 7, 2017, 9:59 pm

The internet on the phone sucks, whether I'm using WiFi or not. There's a 50/50 chance I have to open a new tab to load the page I want because it either won't load or will take awhile to load. I want my Galaxy S5 back!

comments powered by Disqus