Power Ethernet Socket T1000 pictures

1 of 5 pictures

Power Ethernet Socket T1000
Power Ethernet Socket T1000

5 Pictures - Power Ethernet Socket T1000

  • Power Ethernet Socket T1000
  • Power Ethernet Socket T1000
  • Power Ethernet Socket T1000
  • Power Ethernet Socket T1000
  • Power Ethernet Socket T1000


June 16, 2012, 4:08 am

Hi Trusted Reviews guys,

Just to note, someone did think of this before, in fact it's been around for about a decade - it's called Homeplug and my house has had it set up for a few years now.

You also dont need to rip out a hole in the wall and fit a new plug, you can buy a pass-through homeplug like the Dlink one I got and it just goes into the wall and has another plug plus the ethernet port on the other side.

A note to people wanting to do this - check that your house's electical system isn't really old, my old house was and we used to get about 0.5 to 1% packet loss, which meant stuttering in online games and issues streaming if it gets caught at the wrong time.

So yeah, get with the times Trusted Reviews :P


June 16, 2012, 4:32 am

Er, get with the reading the actual review. ;) Conventional home plugs are mentioned right from the start. We've reviewed countless of them.


June 16, 2012, 12:40 pm

You don't mention the main bugbear with mains power networking, the interference created for surrounding radio users. Is this addressed with the new device?


June 18, 2012, 1:59 am

Good point, didn't really read it just saw "Can't believe nobody thought of this before" bit and thought, "I got summink to say about that!!!"

But yeah seems a little unnecessary ripping out chunks of the wall and spending much more than necessary when hoomeplug does the job just fine!


June 18, 2012, 4:32 pm

@Biggles 1

Nobody cares if a some bearded ham radio type has problems. Homeplugs are a great bit of kit, though the reviewed product is very expensive for what it is. You can buy a 500mbps 4 port regular homeplug for £50 on ebay, so you'd be a fool to pay twice the price for a slower solution.


June 18, 2012, 7:01 pm

@Biggles 1

Breaker breaker 1-9...Don't worry about the interference issue. Ham / CB radio will rule supreme when the apocalypse arrives and all power is cut from the grid. Any self respecting ham enthusiast will have their own generator and the airwaves will be as clear as empty sky :)

But you have a point. Just like the light polluted skies for astronomers, noise polluted radio frequencies are unnecessary and manufacturers should be held to much more stringent standards.


June 18, 2012, 8:31 pm

I didn't know CB radio still existed; I understood some of these devices could cause interference on FM & AM bands.


June 18, 2012, 9:40 pm

CB still exists - it just that the airwaves are now mostly populated by morons and people that you wouldn't want to spend time tapped in a lift with!

They are very useful when is less urban areas in Europe, especially when you've boosted the output. These plugs basically turn your entire wiring network into a giant RF antennae. Not great.


July 9, 2012, 9:06 pm

@Calcifer whats with the ripping out walls comment? It's designed to not have to rip walls out etc.

You simply remove an existing socket faceplate, rewire (3 wires) the PE Socket to the points and do the same for the second one elsewhere!

Have a look here at some really good videos of how they are installed and work


Andrew Aitchison

February 26, 2013, 11:15 pm

Having just installed 7 of the PE sockets found that they weren't as easy as the video/information may suggest. As we were rewiring the property and the customer requested the PE sockets we installed 35mm back boxes where these were to go, we would normally install 25mm back boxes. When we came to connect the sockets several problems were found. Firstly the right hand side of the socket is about 35mm deep and anything in the way will prevent the socket from going back including earth terminals. Secondly, due to the depth, if the cables have been installed in the right half of the back box the cables will again prevent the socket from going back. Thirdly if installed in plaster fix back boxes the lugs have to be modified, the depth of which will also have to be 47mm.

Anybody thinking of installing these should install back boxes deeper than 35mm and make the cable entries to the left hand side.

comments powered by Disqus