PlusNet Fibre router pictures

1 of 8 pictures

Hover to zoom

technicolor TG582n results
techniclor TG582n 1

8 Pictures - PlusNet Fibre router

Enlarge
  • techniclor TG582n 1
  • technicolor TG582n results
  • PlusNet UI
  • PlusNet UI toolbox
  • PlusNet UI Ethernet
  • TG582n front
  • TG582n back
  • TG582n  top

Matthew Thompson

August 8, 2013, 1:01 pm

Your review states that it omits a USB port but the picture shows a USB port on the left hand side...

alex mason

August 8, 2013, 4:31 pm

I believe it is for updating or something. Not for sharing hard disks or printers. I have one and the manual makes not mention of such a feature.

Also, surprised that TR were able to get just about the rated line speed from the routers wifi. Even sitting next to mine it won't deliver more than 50mbits/s. our building is typically saturated with 2.4GHz wireless n routers and devices though so maybe SNR plays a role.

Mike

August 9, 2013, 8:41 am

Wrong. The USB is for disk sharing or 3g backup solutions. Works perfectly fine.

Craig Knighton

August 9, 2013, 8:56 am

The USB port is for sharing - I've shared files with mine. Put in a stick, go to Toolbox > Content Sharing - make it profile the device. You can then stream to a media player or use as a Network File Server. Not the quickest, but it was ok for me to stream to my Blu-Ray player.

Gordon Kelly

August 10, 2013, 7:43 pm

Alex - we had no trouble hitting the results we did and we test in central London where there is plenty of interference (another reason we always look to recreate a real world environment) and as you'll see from the transfer graphs the speeds were consistent as well. Slow, but consistent!

Matthew - you are right, this is my oversight. In all our testing this was (ridiculously) due to the port being on the side and I simply missed it - I'll be updated the review with the USB score shortly.

Gordon Kelly

August 10, 2013, 7:43 pm

See above, thanks for the spot Craig

Gordon Kelly

August 10, 2013, 7:43 pm

Thanks Mike, see my reply above.

Gordon Kelly

August 11, 2013, 1:04 am

USB score is now updated in the review. Unsurprisingly it was very slow, but the real surprise is the lack of support for NTFS formatted drives which destroys most of its value.

Richard Feltbower

August 19, 2013, 2:21 pm

Gordon, thanks for this review and the other recent router reviews which I've found extremely interesting and useful. How have these reviews been carried out? Have they all used the same ADSL/cable modem upstream, for example?

Jon C

November 10, 2013, 9:41 pm

Hi, I've just ordered the plus net fibre broadband service & as you mention in the review, paid the £5.99 postage for this router. As an alternative to buying a 3rd party router, would linking this one up to Apple's new time-capsule overcome the issues you've described - single band etc...? thanks,

The RedKipper

February 11, 2014, 9:52 am

Not sure what the reviewer has against this router per se, but reviewing this router's suitability for an FTTC solution and concluding the router is flawed seems somewhat ridiculous.
I think it's quite clear that this is a standard ADSL router that an ISP has adapted to use on it's fibre service, so is it the fault of the router that in this mode it doesn't perform as well as a £150 device designed for the job?
Perhaps the reviewer might like to review the router for the job it was designed, then draw the conclusion that the ISP has it all wrong when supplying this for an FTTC installation - that might be a little more realistic!!

andyvan

February 12, 2014, 9:12 am

Erm, but the fact is this is what PlusNet is supplying for FTTC, which is it is reviewed as such. Were that not the case we'd review it simply as an ADSL router as you suggest.

The RedKipper

July 17, 2014, 8:51 am

No, I see. I'll look forward to the next review - Perhaps the Hyundai i10 as a Formula One contender?

aabd

November 26, 2014, 12:13 am

If one of the teams rolls it out onto the F1 race track then yes & validly, you douche

The RedKipper

November 26, 2014, 4:49 pm

I see; if you can't make a sensible reply to a cogent argument, why not result to insults, eh? Nice touch..

Dylan

August 18, 2015, 1:09 pm

Why have you guys not reviewed the Plusnet Hub Zero?

comments powered by Disqus