Pinnacle Studio HD 15 Ultimate video review

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Pinnacle Studio HD 15 Ultimate review

Pinnacle Studio HD 15 is not a huge upgrade over version 14. The new archive function is quite powerful, allowing you to transport projects and their media files between systems for further editing. The updated file format support is welcome, too, including the ability to upload Full HD to YouTube alongside output to a range of new HD filed formats. There are performance enhancements, too, although no 64-bit version yet. Overall, users of the last version won't find much here to tempt them to update, whilst more advanced users will get more for their money from Avid's own-brand Studio. But newcomers to video editing will still find the basic version is a great place to start.

More Software Videos

Glyn Martin

February 14, 2012, 5:33 pm

Hi,
I am looking to get this software to edit footage from my new Panasonic HDC SD80 camera on the top setting. Will this program run on a laptop with i5 2410 processor, 6 Gb Ram and a 1GB graphics card? Off their webpage they recommend Intel Core™ 2 or i7 2.4 GHz required for AVCHD* (2.66 GHz for AVCHD* 1920)

Many Thanks
Glyn

Ed

February 14, 2012, 6:16 pm

I see no reason why that system should have a problem running that software. Might be a bit slow (though I doubt it) but it should run.

Westwinder

May 20, 2012, 11:26 pm

Pinnacle Dazzle STUDIO HD DVD is an extremely resource-intensive application. On my Core-i5 with 6GB RAM, the CPU stays peaked between 60% and 94% of CPU while rendering videos that are a mere 500MB. That's a resource pig. Also, the user interface where media is chosen and the video timeline is assembled is very sluggish; the context menus and option property windows are VERY slow to open. The #1 complaint I have, however, is that the rendering process HALTS if the screen-saver launches and/or you manually lock (WINDOWS KEY+L) the computer. That is absolutely the biggest oversight yet; no one wants to wiggle the mouse or disable screen-saver preferences just to suit one application.
Lastly, despite have purchased a license, in-app nag advertisements are STILL presented and nearly 90% of features are considered PAY-FOR add-ons.
In summary, I would not recommend this sluggish, limited product to anyone. I've used PROSHOW GOLD in the past and felt that it out-performed Pinnacle's product, hands down.

Westwinder

May 21, 2012, 4:20 am

To continue with my prior comments, there are significant bugs in the Pinnacle Dazzle STUDIO HD DVD Version 14 release, as of May 2012, and they are eaily replicated.

Amongst the list is a GREEN SCREEN that suddenly appears in the Preview window, while working in the Edit pane, instead of the photo or video that is otherwise shown in the timeline at that location. The only way I was able to get rid of the green screen was to click FILE then DELETE AUXILLARY FILES (ALL). And, no, I didn't have Chroma Key enabled.

The other consistent issue I have experienced is, again; while editing, the Preview window will only show the photo or video that is at the currently-selected location in the timeline when Play was clicked.

I am forever in wonder if companies like Pinnacle have a QA quality assurance department at all. If it weren't for needing the Dazzler hardware, I would certainly be returning this product for a FULL refund.

jack1

November 28, 2012, 8:53 am

Yes it is true this program is one slow program, i am using 14 ultimate on I7 latest window processor and still it get stuck and i have a lot of ram, so i am moving to adobe cost more, get a student version or even sony is much better.
Avid you need to improve your platform of making your program,

Nic Adair

September 29, 2013, 5:48 pm

Another 'also ran' piece of editing software.
A poor man's Sony Vegas.

KV

February 25, 2014, 11:13 pm

would this program be good for editing video from a gopro? we just got the GoPro and cant edit via movie maker

comments powered by Disqus