Home » TVs & Audio » TV » Philips 42PFL5008T » 3D, Sound and Conclusions

Philips 42PFL5008T - 3D, Sound and Conclusions

John Archer

By John Archer


Our Score


Review Price £699.00

Philips 42PFL5008T - 3D Picture Quality

With a growing number of the Philips 42PFL5008T’s peers forgoing 3D support, this is an area where Philips’ set could really score an advantage. So it’s good to see it producing a better 3D effort than we’d anticipated.

It takes full advantage of the benefits of its passive 3D engine – namely the almost complete avoidance (so long as your vertical viewing angle is less than 15 degrees) of the crosstalk ghosting noise that still plagues most active 3D TVs, and the potential to watch 3D in a bright room without having to worry about the flickering issue you get with active 3D glasses.

The 42PFL5008T’s 3D pictures also enjoy plenty of brightness and colour saturation, since passive glasses tend not to take as much luminance out of the image as active ones.

Philips 42PFL5008T

What’s more, the 42PFL5008T’s relatively diminutive size by modern TV standards helps it minimise passive 3D’s traditional weaknesses: namely the appearance of visible horizontal line structure over bright areas, jaggedness around curved edges or small objects, and a slight loss of resolution versus active 3D images.

Motion looks a touch uncomfortable as objects pass across the 3D frame, but not enough to prove seriously distracting. Also, using the set’s 3D default picture settings bright parts of the picture tend to look weirdly bleached out. But this can be fixed relatively easily by reducing the 3D Video Contrast setting to below 80.

Philips 42PFL5008T - Sound Quality

The 42PFL5008T’s audio is a comfortable cut above the norm for affordable slim-bodied TVs. That rear-mounted woofer adds a handy sense of depth, power and soundstage size hardly ever heard at the relatively budget end of the TV market.

This speaker helps the set achieve unusually potent volumes before the mid-range starts to sound cramped too.

Philips 42PFL5008T

On the downside, the 42PFL5008T’s main speakers aren’t exactly hi-fi in their sensitivity and treble range. But overall Philips is to be congratulated on bothering to care about audio on one of its relatively low-rent sets.

Other points to consider

If you’re thinking the 42PFL5008T might do handsome double duty as a gaming monitor, we’ve got good news. For unlike the majority of passive 3D TVs we’ve seen, it turns in a very respectable input lag measurement – using the set’s Game preset with all NR features turned off - of 33ms. This is low enough to mean you can game on the set without your response times being too heavily impacted by your TV’s picture reproduction technology.

Philips 42PFL5008TOne other point to mention is that the 42PFL5008T’s remote doesn’t carry a QWERTY keyboard on its rear; this handy keyboard only kicks in at the 6000 series of Philips’ latest range.

Should I buy a Philips 42PFL5008T?

You should at least add the set to an audition list. This is especially true if you still hold a flame for 3D, since some of the 42PFL5008T’s most notable rivals at the lower end of the market – such as the Sony 42W653A and Toshiba 50L4353 - don’t bother with the third dimension.

The impressive Samsung UE40F6400 is the stiffest and most direct competition for the 42PFL5008T, especially when you take its superior Smart TV platform into account. But this Samsung screen is a couple of inches smaller, and its audio isn’t as strong.


The Philips 42PFL5008T is a good all-round model, offering strong picture and sound quality for its money tucked within an attractive design.

Haloing around small, high contrast objects and a rather b-list Smart TV system stop us from quite being able to give the set a Recommended badge, but at the very least the 42PFL5008T proves that Philips is still a potent TV force.

Scores In Detail

2D Quality
3D Quality
Smart TV
Sound Quality

Our Score

Previous page

Kuba Pietrzak

September 24, 2013, 6:52 am

thanks soo much for the review , i actually bought model 42pfl5008h (i'm from Poland). And i'm soo excited about that tv it cost me 498.5 GBP.


September 26, 2013, 5:02 pm

I don’t think I’m sold on it.


October 2, 2013, 9:07 am

Can you turn off the Perfect Motion effect completely? (can you watch native 25 fps or 24 fps without any motion effect)

Paul H

October 2, 2013, 1:55 pm

Not sure about the native 24 / 25 fps comment, but I already have a Philips TV and I can turn off the feature you mention. I don't know about this particular set though. Philips seem to concentrating on adding as many picture enhancements as possible, but in my experience the picture is far better with them disabled. If everything is turned on the picture becomes over processed, and the natural motion feature seems to cause picture judder and blurred motion - it is truely terrible. Turn everything off and just add the things that improve the picture for you. It does take a while to set up but the results are worth it. I have just ordered this TV and I'm looking forward to using it. I love the ambilight feature, and in my view the picture (with all the enhancements turned off), is clear and natural looking. It is a very personal choice, but my preference is Philips every time.


October 4, 2013, 12:25 pm


once you get the TV, can you share your settings since im trying to find the best for me.


October 12, 2013, 5:00 pm

Great tv to watch Netflix in Full Hd mode. Ambilight is useful cuz it helps to keep eyes nontired when you watch movies even without lights. I like this tv so much.

Paul H

October 15, 2013, 10:57 am

I have received the TV. The setting options are pretty much the same as my previous TV. When it's first turned on you go through a smple set up procedure, including picture and sound settings, but these are very basic. In my opinion the picture and sound quality is terrible after that first set up. I really don't understand why Philips have so many settings turned on when the picture quality is excellent without all the extra digital processing.
To get to all the detailed settings press the home button, then select settings, then select the option that isn't the quick settings (sorry I don't recall what it's called as I'm not with the TV right now). That brings up a screen full of settings for the TV, including picture, sound, network and so on. In the picture settings go through each menu, and I suggest you simply turn everything off. As a minimum I always turn off anything to do with improving the sharpness and the natural motion setting (or whatever they call it). Once it's all off, see what you think of the picture quality and then add back in any settings you feel you need. It's all down to personal choice. If you notice a resonance to the sound, like a sharp echo, it's probably caused by the 'clear sound' setting being turned on - I suggest you turn this off as well then adjust the bass and treble settings manually. I've now got the TV set up to my tastes, and the picture is excellent. It can take some time to get the picture how you like it, but when you get there it's worth the effort.


November 2, 2013, 12:19 pm

I agree. Got the 50" model from Philips after a malfunction on another set that I had (PFL3708, I think), and the quality of the set is really good. Im a videophile, so a good video quality is a must for me and this set checks out by a mile. Like Paul said, just turn off the processing and tweek the contrast and brightness to your taste and you will not be disappointed. The 3D works great too. Tested it with Prometheus and Man of Steel, and I am impressed.


November 12, 2013, 2:55 pm

Just go this tv, the 47" and tried Despicaple Me 2 in 3D and I must say I am impressed far far beyond my expectations! I'm really happy with this tv but I have still to fine tune it and connect it to my PC through DLNA...


November 22, 2013, 11:12 pm

I just got 42PFL5028. Only difference is that i got 6 3D glasses. Great picture, solid sound, SMART app's that i need. Only problem is tv's software that needs immediate update. It can be done directly from the set after connecting to network via wi-fi or cable.


January 12, 2014, 10:10 am

Is there skype in it?


January 29, 2014, 2:23 pm

Yes it is. But you need to purchase Philips camera to use it.


May 28, 2014, 7:48 am

I just bought this tv. The picture quality is fantastic in general!! Colours are amazing and natural, and far far better than the Samsung 6505 which I had on trial and returned. The weakness is motionblur on fast moving objects. Watching football can be a bit frustrating. Smart tv is not fast but its ok. Work well. When you use the remote control you have to press hard before somethings happening.


June 6, 2014, 10:27 am

Just bought this TV, very impressed with the slim and beautiful exterior but when watching even HD of a lower resolution (such as 624x352) picture is pixellated. Now I'm not a tech genius so maybe that's to be expected?

Any further calibration tips for this model would be much appreciated!


July 9, 2014, 5:30 pm

me facing problem with this tv, it restarts automatically.. really make us irritated...


March 29, 2015, 8:02 pm

Hard reset tv, eg. go to settings and click Reinstall tv. Should work.

comments powered by Disqus