1 of 8 pictures

Philips 42PFL5008T Front

Hover to zoom

Philips 42PFL5008T
Philips 42PFL5008T

8 Pictures - Philips 42PFL5008T

  • Philips 42PFL5008T
  • Philips 42PFL5008T
  • Philips 42PFL5008T
  • Philips 42PFL5008T
  • Philips 42PFL5008T
  • Philips 42PFL5008T
  • Philips 42PFL5008T
  • Philips 42PFL5008T

Kuba Pietrzak

September 24, 2013, 6:52 am

thanks soo much for the review , i actually bought model 42pfl5008h (i'm from Poland). And i'm soo excited about that tv it cost me 498.5 GBP.


September 26, 2013, 5:02 pm

I don’t think I’m sold on it.


October 2, 2013, 9:07 am

Can you turn off the Perfect Motion effect completely? (can you watch native 25 fps or 24 fps without any motion effect)

Paul H

October 2, 2013, 1:55 pm

Not sure about the native 24 / 25 fps comment, but I already have a Philips TV and I can turn off the feature you mention. I don't know about this particular set though. Philips seem to concentrating on adding as many picture enhancements as possible, but in my experience the picture is far better with them disabled. If everything is turned on the picture becomes over processed, and the natural motion feature seems to cause picture judder and blurred motion - it is truely terrible. Turn everything off and just add the things that improve the picture for you. It does take a while to set up but the results are worth it. I have just ordered this TV and I'm looking forward to using it. I love the ambilight feature, and in my view the picture (with all the enhancements turned off), is clear and natural looking. It is a very personal choice, but my preference is Philips every time.


October 4, 2013, 12:25 pm


once you get the TV, can you share your settings since im trying to find the best for me.


October 12, 2013, 5:00 pm

Great tv to watch Netflix in Full Hd mode. Ambilight is useful cuz it helps to keep eyes nontired when you watch movies even without lights. I like this tv so much.

Paul H

October 15, 2013, 10:57 am

I have received the TV. The setting options are pretty much the same as my previous TV. When it's first turned on you go through a smple set up procedure, including picture and sound settings, but these are very basic. In my opinion the picture and sound quality is terrible after that first set up. I really don't understand why Philips have so many settings turned on when the picture quality is excellent without all the extra digital processing.
To get to all the detailed settings press the home button, then select settings, then select the option that isn't the quick settings (sorry I don't recall what it's called as I'm not with the TV right now). That brings up a screen full of settings for the TV, including picture, sound, network and so on. In the picture settings go through each menu, and I suggest you simply turn everything off. As a minimum I always turn off anything to do with improving the sharpness and the natural motion setting (or whatever they call it). Once it's all off, see what you think of the picture quality and then add back in any settings you feel you need. It's all down to personal choice. If you notice a resonance to the sound, like a sharp echo, it's probably caused by the 'clear sound' setting being turned on - I suggest you turn this off as well then adjust the bass and treble settings manually. I've now got the TV set up to my tastes, and the picture is excellent. It can take some time to get the picture how you like it, but when you get there it's worth the effort.


November 2, 2013, 12:19 pm

I agree. Got the 50" model from Philips after a malfunction on another set that I had (PFL3708, I think), and the quality of the set is really good. Im a videophile, so a good video quality is a must for me and this set checks out by a mile. Like Paul said, just turn off the processing and tweek the contrast and brightness to your taste and you will not be disappointed. The 3D works great too. Tested it with Prometheus and Man of Steel, and I am impressed.


November 12, 2013, 2:55 pm

Just go this tv, the 47" and tried Despicaple Me 2 in 3D and I must say I am impressed far far beyond my expectations! I'm really happy with this tv but I have still to fine tune it and connect it to my PC through DLNA...


November 22, 2013, 11:12 pm

I just got 42PFL5028. Only difference is that i got 6 3D glasses. Great picture, solid sound, SMART app's that i need. Only problem is tv's software that needs immediate update. It can be done directly from the set after connecting to network via wi-fi or cable.


January 12, 2014, 10:10 am

Is there skype in it?


January 29, 2014, 2:23 pm

Yes it is. But you need to purchase Philips camera to use it.


May 28, 2014, 7:48 am

I just bought this tv. The picture quality is fantastic in general!! Colours are amazing and natural, and far far better than the Samsung 6505 which I had on trial and returned. The weakness is motionblur on fast moving objects. Watching football can be a bit frustrating. Smart tv is not fast but its ok. Work well. When you use the remote control you have to press hard before somethings happening.


June 6, 2014, 10:27 am

Just bought this TV, very impressed with the slim and beautiful exterior but when watching even HD of a lower resolution (such as 624x352) picture is pixellated. Now I'm not a tech genius so maybe that's to be expected?

Any further calibration tips for this model would be much appreciated!


July 9, 2014, 5:30 pm

me facing problem with this tv, it restarts automatically.. really make us irritated...


March 29, 2015, 8:02 pm

Hard reset tv, eg. go to settings and click Reinstall tv. Should work.

comments powered by Disqus