Quick Glance
Camera type Digital SLR
Optical Zoom 10
Megapixels 14
Physical Specifications
Dimensions Width 97
Depth 61
Weight (body only) 157g (178g including batteries and card)
Camera type Digital SLR
Optical Zoom 10
Megapixels 14
Image Sensor 1/2.33-inch CCD
Optical focal length 5.0-50mm in 35mm terms
Viewfinder N/A
Shutter speed 4-1/2000 secs
Auto focus 9-point TTL contrast detection AF, face detection
Manual focus Yes
Video (max res/format) 1280x720 at 30fps
Max output resolution 4288x3216
Other resolutions 10MP (4224x2376), 7MP (3072x2304), 2MP (16:9) (1920X1080), 640 (640X480)
Focus range Wide/Tele: 40cm - infinity, Macro: 8cm
Exposure control Program, Auto Pict, 17 scene modes
Exposure metering Multi, Spot, Centre-weighted
Exposure compensation 1/3 EV steps, +/- 2EV
Image Stabilisation N/A
ISO settings Auto, 80-1600, 3200-6400 at 5MP
LCD Monitor 2.7-inch TFT LCD, 230k dots
Flash range Wide: approx 0.2-5.3m (ISO Auto) Tele: approx 0.9-2.8m (ISO Auto)
Flash modes Auto Flash/Flash OFF/Flash ON/Red-eye Reduction
White balance modes Auto, daylight, shade, tungsten, fluorescent, manual setting
Drive modes Single, continuous, HS continuous
Image formats JPEG, EXIF 2.2
Picture adjustments Sharpness, saturation, contrast
Movie length Card capacity
Self timer 10/2 secs
Memory card slot SD/SDHC
Supplied memory 83.7MB internal
Batteries supplied Li-on rechargeable 925mAh
Charger supplied Yes
A/V output PAL/NTSC
Charging/Computer Connection USB 2.0/AV
Manual Basic printed guide, full manual on CD


December 2, 2010, 9:22 pm

Why oh why are they intent on devaluing the brand? Not content with releasing endless sub-par cheapo compacts when they have proved time and again they can do much better; now even when they make a decent one they have to ruin it by making it look like something that came out a Christmas cracker... at the same time they're trying to regain part of the professional market with the 645D, is it really helpful to present a "cheap and cheerful" image with the entire compact range? The same applies to their dSLRs - as usual well-made cameras with excellent lenses, but now they have to make them in garish colours - as if there is a crossover between the market for SLR systems and the market for bright red cameras (who drew up that Venn diagram?). Honestly, sometimes I wonder if someone in Hoya or Pentax management is trying to sabotage the company :s


December 3, 2010, 5:03 am


I think it has something to do with brand recognition. Tell me, when the average consumer goes to a shop/online what brands do they have in their mind? Canon, Nikon, Sony etc etc. They don't even consider pentax. So they're trying to get noticed. From the TR score this isn't a bad little camera, and the colours set it apart from the rest. The DSLRs are, again, about recognition. Obviosuly a pro/semi-pro knows what Pentax are about, but the average joe who's buying their first DSLR probably doesn't. The colours set them apart. Not to mention that Pentax are much bigger in the East and they like their things a little... funky.


December 3, 2010, 6:11 am

@Cliff Smith - Any idea on when you'll be reviewing the Panasonic GH2?


December 3, 2010, 8:49 pm

Good review for a camera I would not buy, but that I understand in its target market. 8 out of 10 everywhere, that's an overall 10. It cannot be easy to write a review of a product that will be "beneath" the desires of most of the readers. Neat and tidy marketing by Pentax; all it needs now is to get noticed.


December 3, 2010, 10:08 pm

I can understand why the camera hobbyists wouldn't like the multi-coloured bodies as there are similar things I dislike in the spheres with which I am more familiar. But the reason why I came to look at this article was the colourful camera bodies; I might actually buy one!!! As long as there is a black one in the range I think everybody will be satisfied.


December 3, 2010, 11:03 pm

A question about the ISO tests. It says they are done in filtered natural light, which is fine, but light levels can be lower in the winter and therefore shutter speed and aperture may vary considerably. Has this been taken into account?

The main reason I ask is that my own camera in another review showed considerable increase in noise as the shutter speed got slower (it's something I've also noticed, once alerted admittedly, when using it) and this may be the case with other cameras.


December 13, 2010, 11:47 pm

Dear Pentax

I had a closer look to the test shots of the facade of the Exeter cathedral. The Pentax optio rz10 shows the best sharpness from corner to corner among all point-and shoot cameras! Pentax, why do you spoil the results of your excellent lens by putting an extremely small sensor with 14 megapixels into this camera? 14 megapixels with this small P&S camera is useless and only creates the very ugly noise visible in most of the shots, even at the lowest iso-speed (80). 8 or 10 megapixels is enough! Other camera makers think that they find the solution for the problem with an excessive noise reduction - also useless, this creates loss of details. The only solution is: step back to sensors with less megapixels!

(First, I wanted to buy this small camera with its good zoom range - after studying the test shots, I will choose another one).

tomislav Croatia

March 1, 2014, 2:20 pm

I have Pentax optio rz 10 in 2 years, fantastic ,,for evereything, always in my pocket,
very good photos and excelent video with amazing sound, concerts in club, for everymoment if you making video ; growing your child..


January 1, 2015, 3:43 pm

A very late review, I know, but thought I'd share my two cents. For SLR's, I have used Minolta, Nikon and Sony. For compacts. I have the usual Sony, Canon and Casio. So when I was looking for another compact, specifically one with higher resolution, I made the rare mistake of following the advice of the salesman. In the four years that this camera sits at my home, none of my children has ever taken it out to use. After taking a few shots at home, they looked at the resulting pictures with disgust. I tried taking landscapes with it and found the resolution is closer to 2 megs and definitely not the 14 megs it claimed. I think this camera has taken less than 50 pictures, with none worthy of viewing. Why am I now writing this review? I have hoped to locate a camera firmware that allows one to choose the amount of compression the software used. With newer high capacity SD cards, I could go with zero compression and take full advantage of the 14 megapixels this camera is supposed to have. No such luck, even today. Why Pentax use such high compression after using a 14 megapixel sensor is anyone's guess. So this will be my first and last Pentax.

comments powered by Disqus