Panasonic Viera TX-P58V10 58in Plasma TV - Panasonic Viera TX-P58V10

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

The P58V10 also excels with the sharpness of its pictures when watching HD. The combination of its impressive video processing and Full HD resolution gets the maximum impact from the huge 58in screen, leaving no pixel unturned in its effort to produce HD images of heart-warming - and noiseless - clarity.

Then, as usual with a mid-level or higher Panasonic plasma, there are the P58V10's black levels to consider. For as well as achieving an inky black level depth that only LED-backlit LCD TVs or Pioneer's last KURO sets challenge, the P58V10 manages to combine the blackness with exceptionally subtle presentation of shadow detailing - something that direct LED LCD TVs still struggle with to some extent.

However much issue I might take with the accuracy of the 600Hz name Panasonic has given to its motion processing, meanwhile, I do have to admit that the system really does a good job of slashing the amount of judder evident in the P58V10's pictures, helping action sequences look much less jerky and blurred.

There are occasionally one or two processing artefacts to show for the motion processing's efforts, but provided you don't leave the system running at its maximum level, its benefits comfortably outweigh the sporadic negatives.

With some reasonably punchy, dynamic and clear audio to accompany its vast and mostly excellent pictures, the only downer I have on the P58V10's pictures are that its standard definition pictures don't look as sharp as I know they can. But then they also don't look as noisy as is often the case with super-sized screens, so I guess you could say the situation is six of one and half a dozen of the other, as my dear old nan is always saying.

Verdict

The P58V10 may only be a solid standard definition performer, but it goes without saying that a screen of such magnitude simply cries out to be fed a diet as rich in high definition content as possible. And with HD, its performance truly is imperious - even more so, I'd argue, than Panasonic's more expensive ultra-thin Z1 range.

Orinj

November 4, 2009, 9:01 pm

Good review. It's nice to see that we are finally starting to see panels that can rival the Pioneer KURO 9Gs, a more than a year after their launch.





The paragraph on the first page about the Ethernet port, iPlayer and Freesat is probably no longer an issue since TR reported this News article today,





http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

gadgetmania

November 4, 2009, 10:01 pm

I enjoy TR reviews and while I also liked this one in particular, it's missing a few pictures of the back of the TV, close-ups showing the controls, etc. The images are too general and seem to be provided by the manufacturer.

Vivid

November 4, 2009, 11:00 pm

"any less impactful on your room"





Stop making words up, this isn't America.

Chocoa

November 5, 2009, 12:43 am

Out of interest how far back do you have to sit so you don't see the pixels? I ask as 'standard' size TV I guess is no issue at the normal 6-8-10ft or so away....





I have a projector/screen and naturally that is a factor in seating.

betelgeus

November 5, 2009, 1:05 pm

TR always seem to use stock photos for some reason,recommended viewing distance by thx is 6.5 feet.value seems a bit high at 3k plus don't you think?

timple

November 5, 2009, 7:08 pm

How do we know TR are really reviewing these items and not processing PR handouts from the manufacturers?

Geoff Richards

November 5, 2009, 7:51 pm

@timple - a surprising comment from someone who has been reading TR for over a year such as yourself.





To pick up on betelgeus' comment, we don't always use stock photography. In fact, our studio work is of such high quality that many people cannot distinguish the two. However, sometimes for certain products it is necessary to use stock photos and we have always admitted as much. It's no secret.





The reason is simple logistics. John has published over 400 television reviews in this channel, and if we use this 58-inch Panasonic as an example, 53KG is a bit of a beast to lug around for testing, nevermind photography.





@gadgetmania - yes, this is an area we would like to improve on.

John Archer

November 22, 2009, 6:23 pm

@timple - only just noticed your utterly absurd comment. Having sat there for two days watching, listening to and putting test signals into the P58V10, I can tell you that I most certainly do review TVs, and don't just rewrite press releases. Presumably you think that the reviews of TVs I don't like came out like that because they had bad press releases or something? Honestly. Glad to see my efforts are being appreciated!!





John Archer

Abul-Walid Mohammed ibn-Ahmad

November 27, 2009, 3:27 am

@John Archer - your reviews (and the whole site in fact) is >really< appreciated - Thank you! I bought my last TV with your review as an input and have been very pleased.





I have a question about this unit - and maybe a suggestion for further TV reviews..





regarding power consumption - can you add to the Feature Table, the amount of power used in Watts, in off(standby), and maybe 2 or 3 in-use(on) values (assume movie/cinema mode; white screen, black screen, and some standard image - a BBC test card? or just the top menu from a popular dvd)





Do you still have this unit to report the power figures? I know that with research


manufacture numbers can be found somewhere - but real world numbers would be nice to know. And just using one of those inexpensive 10GBP power meter/monitors should do.





Thanks again

simonm

March 13, 2010, 3:27 pm

Panasonic seems to have pulled a fast one with the G10/V10/Z1 NeoPDP panels.





Reviews universally praise them for their excellent black levels, but it has now emerged that - in a TV with a design life of 100,000 hours - the black levels have collapsed by 1,000 hours or so due to a programmed change in the driving voltages.





CNET's measurements suggest black levels are 3 times as bad after this point, which drops them down into mediocre LCD territory. This leaves the "Infinite Black" branding from Panasonic's literature sounding very hollow:





http://news.cnet.com/8301-1793...





Hopefully TR will be going back and amending all the reviews to note that the excellent black levels - one of the major selling points - are only good for 1% of the product's design life?





CNET has already done so:





http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-p...

comments powered by Disqus