Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Panasonic Viera TX-P58V10 58in Plasma TV

Panasonic Viera TX-P58V10 58in Plasma TV review

John Archer

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic Viera TX-P58V10 58in Plasma TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

I've already seen a large number of TVs from Panasonic's current, expansive range, some great, some good, some average, some innovative, some straightforward - really, it's been quite a roller-coaster ride. But to some extent the P58V10 is the most exciting Panasonic model yet. Why? Mostly because it's absolutely massive!

As its name suggests, the P58V10's screen weighs in at a mighty 58in. And as I've noted in reviews of really large screens before, it's quite strange just how much extra impact that extra eight inches delivers over a 50in screen. It's kind of like the difference between a screen many households could cope with in a living room, and a screen so big most people would probably only put into a dedicated movie room.

The P58V10's enormity doesn't end with the sheer acreage of its screen, either. For its bezel is strikingly large, sticking out around a couple of inches beyond each edge of the picture. And the rather bland, gloss-free, black rectangular nature of the bezel doesn't exactly make the screen any less impactful on your room.

But hell. If you're seriously considering buying a TV that's 58in across, I'm guessing that preserving the decorative integrity of your room isn't the main thing on your mind, right?!

Of considerably greater importance to your needs is likely to be the P58V10's connections. And here the set does very well, if not quite excellently. For your HD/digital video sources, for instance, you get four HDMIs - enough for a PS3, Xbox Elite, Sky HD box and maybe a separate high-end Blu-ray player, but one less than we're now finding on the top-end screens from Samsung and Philips.

Also catching our eye on the connections front is an SD card slot that can parse JPEG, AVCHD and DivX files, plus a rather important Ethernet port. This latter jack has not one but two purposes. First, it should provide a portal to the BBC's iPlayer service (should good old Aunty Beeb ever actually get the system up and running on the Freesat platform), and second, it lets you explore Panasonic's VieraCast online service.

This carefully ring-fenced corner of the Internet is rather limited in scope at the moment, containing only YouTube, Eurosport and Picasa sites, formatted so that they're easier to navigate using the TV's remote control rather than a mouse and keyboard.

But as with all current online TV platforms, there's always the potential for further content providers to be added further down the line.

Orinj

November 4, 2009, 9:01 pm

Good review. It's nice to see that we are finally starting to see panels that can rival the Pioneer KURO 9Gs, a more than a year after their launch.





The paragraph on the first page about the Ethernet port, iPlayer and Freesat is probably no longer an issue since TR reported this News article today,





http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

gadgetmania

November 4, 2009, 10:01 pm

I enjoy TR reviews and while I also liked this one in particular, it's missing a few pictures of the back of the TV, close-ups showing the controls, etc. The images are too general and seem to be provided by the manufacturer.

Vivid

November 4, 2009, 11:00 pm

"any less impactful on your room"





Stop making words up, this isn't America.

Chocoa

November 5, 2009, 12:43 am

Out of interest how far back do you have to sit so you don't see the pixels? I ask as 'standard' size TV I guess is no issue at the normal 6-8-10ft or so away....





I have a projector/screen and naturally that is a factor in seating.

betelgeus

November 5, 2009, 1:05 pm

TR always seem to use stock photos for some reason,recommended viewing distance by thx is 6.5 feet.value seems a bit high at 3k plus don't you think?

timple

November 5, 2009, 7:08 pm

How do we know TR are really reviewing these items and not processing PR handouts from the manufacturers?

Geoff Richards

November 5, 2009, 7:51 pm

@timple - a surprising comment from someone who has been reading TR for over a year such as yourself.





To pick up on betelgeus' comment, we don't always use stock photography. In fact, our studio work is of such high quality that many people cannot distinguish the two. However, sometimes for certain products it is necessary to use stock photos and we have always admitted as much. It's no secret.





The reason is simple logistics. John has published over 400 television reviews in this channel, and if we use this 58-inch Panasonic as an example, 53KG is a bit of a beast to lug around for testing, nevermind photography.





@gadgetmania - yes, this is an area we would like to improve on.

John Archer

November 22, 2009, 6:23 pm

@timple - only just noticed your utterly absurd comment. Having sat there for two days watching, listening to and putting test signals into the P58V10, I can tell you that I most certainly do review TVs, and don't just rewrite press releases. Presumably you think that the reviews of TVs I don't like came out like that because they had bad press releases or something? Honestly. Glad to see my efforts are being appreciated!!





John Archer

Abul-Walid Mohammed ibn-Ahmad

November 27, 2009, 3:27 am

@John Archer - your reviews (and the whole site in fact) is >really< appreciated - Thank you! I bought my last TV with your review as an input and have been very pleased.





I have a question about this unit - and maybe a suggestion for further TV reviews..





regarding power consumption - can you add to the Feature Table, the amount of power used in Watts, in off(standby), and maybe 2 or 3 in-use(on) values (assume movie/cinema mode; white screen, black screen, and some standard image - a BBC test card? or just the top menu from a popular dvd)





Do you still have this unit to report the power figures? I know that with research


manufacture numbers can be found somewhere - but real world numbers would be nice to know. And just using one of those inexpensive 10GBP power meter/monitors should do.





Thanks again

simonm

March 13, 2010, 3:27 pm

Panasonic seems to have pulled a fast one with the G10/V10/Z1 NeoPDP panels.





Reviews universally praise them for their excellent black levels, but it has now emerged that - in a TV with a design life of 100,000 hours - the black levels have collapsed by 1,000 hours or so due to a programmed change in the driving voltages.





CNET's measurements suggest black levels are 3 times as bad after this point, which drops them down into mediocre LCD territory. This leaves the "Infinite Black" branding from Panasonic's literature sounding very hollow:





http://news.cnet.com/8301-1793...





Hopefully TR will be going back and amending all the reviews to note that the excellent black levels - one of the major selling points - are only good for 1% of the product's design life?





CNET has already done so:





http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-p...

comments powered by Disqus