1 of 5 pictures

Hover to zoom

Panasonic Viera TX-L42D25B
Panasonic Viera TX-L42D25B

5 Pictures - Panasonic Viera TX-L42D25B

  • Panasonic Viera TX-L42D25B
  • Panasonic Viera TX-L42D25B
  • Panasonic Viera TX-L42D25B
  • Panasonic Viera TX-L42D25B
  • VIERA TXL42D25B 42" LED TV (1920x1080, 100Hz, Freeview, Freeview HD, Freesat, HDTV, LED Backlight)

Earth Voyager

October 5, 2010, 1:23 pm

I have a Panansonic G20 and can confirm that the WD 250GB MyBook works with no problems recording programmes.

Michael McG

October 5, 2010, 1:50 pm

i looked at the D25 side by side with a v20 plasma and difference in black level was very obvious. The v20 was miles ahead of the d25 at least in this respect. So if black level is your goal, then i wouldnt pick this over a plasma..


October 5, 2010, 2:39 pm

I think Panasonic will 'get there' with LED eventually, but something has to be done on the design side as, whichever technology, their sets looks horrible and horribly dated.


October 5, 2010, 3:10 pm

i currently own the 37" model of this TV, and one of the things you failed to mention (as far as i saw) is the fact that the D25 series use IPS screens, which gives them excellent viewing angles and colour quality, and is what made me choose this TV over many others!


October 5, 2010, 3:41 pm

whoops i read it again and turns out it was mentioned!

Neil McG

October 5, 2010, 4:47 pm

Great review as always. BUT, the crucial questions is: TX-L42D25B or TX-P42G20B? LCD vs Plasma ? Otherwise, specs look similar...


October 5, 2010, 5:24 pm


Agreed. Samsung have Touch of Colour, LG have the one-piece Infinia, Phillips have that whole silver and Ambilight system going on, and Panasonic, um, uh... ugghh. It's not a generic box (like that Asus O!Play streamer) where the unsightliness matters not since it gets shoved under the telly - it IS the telly. This is a case where the Wife Approval Factor is probably the last line of defence against someone placing a ruddy great tacky plastic structure in the middle of the room. What the hell are Panasonic still doing wrapping their class leading screens up in such cheap Christmas paper?


October 5, 2010, 10:03 pm


It's not just the WAF in this case. Panasonic achieve a degree of fugliness of design that offends even my eyes! As much as I love the pictures their plasmas achieve, I keep being drawn to that thick, heavy, large, battle grey bezel!


October 5, 2010, 11:32 pm


CNET were just talking about how Panasonic are getting into the portable gaming market, and my first thought was, "Dude! Screw that! Market's overcrowded with the DS and iOS anyway. Your TVs are you flagship products. Throw all your money into a new design team that'll make the aesthetics look presentable by late 2000s standards."


October 6, 2010, 2:39 am

@Golden Guy

There is a photo of Panasonic's portable player, called the Jungle, doing the rounds:


It looks like someone at Panasonic discovered they had a warehouse full of grey plastic going unused and then hired the people whose TV designs were considered too ugly even for them!


October 6, 2010, 7:20 pm

the review is completed different from that of CNET who rated this TV with 5 stars. i watched this TV side by side with Panasonic V20 plama and the difference is very clear, the plama is far better. but this TV is featured packed and better than LED from other makes. Great TV


October 6, 2010, 8:57 pm


You sure about that? CNET don't hand out 5 star ratings easily. In fact, I don't think I've ever seen them go beyond their 4½ Outstanding rating for anything - not even for a Pioneer Kuro. Perhaps it was a user rating instead of the editor's one?


October 6, 2010, 9:37 pm

@GoldenGuy - Interesting, I also haven't seen Cnet give out many 5 star ratings, so did a quick search and it appears this TV did get 5 stars:


Even more spooky is that it was apparently reviewed by the same person who's just done a iPhone app piece for TR. Although I can't see how anyone can call this TV stylish, as the Cnet review did. And @Kaytorch, 8/10 is a very good score and the two reviews (TR and Cnet) aren't a million miles apart.


October 6, 2010, 10:12 pm

Mirroring others in terms of the design of their sets. I can understand them going for a minimalist design but their design team need only look at the Pioneer Kuro to understand how to keep aesthetics simple but still project class to customers. It's the only hurdle they face otherwise their sets are always top class.

I think not until we get OLED sets will Plasma be finally usurped for picture quality.


October 7, 2010, 4:19 am

@ Kaytorch, Pbryanw

Sorry guys. I was looking at and commenting upon the US site. Forgot about the UK one - I rarely check it. I don't know how strict they are with their star ratings there.


November 24, 2011, 12:33 am

Whilst I may be a bit late with this comment I would like to say that I have had the european version of this set for about a year now, this has a sat receiver rather than a freesat with cam slots. I had at the time reviewed and chosen a different TV but when I went to purchase saw the Panny and fell in love with it instantly. I took it home and have loved it ever since even the SD pictures are close to HD clarity. The only problem I have is the sound from the built in speakers but use Pioneer headphones or soundbar mostly.
The style I LIKE and I realise everybody has their own style taste but I hate those so called edge TV's they look so flimsy and like somebody has left a blacked out car window on the wall or TV cabinet.
Just to endorse my view anybody that comes to my house when the TV is on always comment on the brilliant picture, but I have changed the factory settings. All in all I am very satisfied with the set.

comments powered by Disqus