Home » TVs & Audio » TV » Panasonic TX-P55VT30 » Multimedia Support and 3D Picture Quality

Panasonic TX-P55VT30 - Multimedia Support and 3D Picture Quality

John Archer

By John Archer


  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic TX-P55VT30


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £2,505.94

The Panasonic TX-P55VT30 doesn't currently many of the sort of smaller apps pushed by LG's and Samsung’s Smart TV services, but this doesn’t feel like a great loss - especially as Panasonic is working on bringing sophisticated games to Viera Connect rather than the very basic affairs offered through a normal "app" system. All we would say is that a couple more good quality video sources would be handy sooner rather than later to help Viera Connect keep up with the online Joneses.

The P55VT30 is right up to speed with its multimedia playback facilities, though, offering full DLNA networking support as well as playback of music, photo and video (including DivX HD) files from USB drives or SD cards. Plus, as noted earlier, you can use the SD and USB slots for recording from the digital tuners.

Panasonic TX-P55VT30

If you’re on the ball, you may have noticed we said tuners rather than tuner back there, since the P55VT30 has both Freeview HD and Freesat HD tuners onboard.

The last thing to say before finding out if the P55VT30 lives up to our sky-high expectations (based on other sets we’ve seen from Panasonic’s current range) is that it enjoys the endorsement of both the THX quality assurance group and the ISF professional calibration body. The former endorsement applies to 3D as well as 2D playback, and extends to a provided THX image preset, while the ISF endorsement recognises the TV’s extensive picture adjustments, including a full colour management suite.

Watching the P55VT30 strut its stuff is every bit as spectacular an experience as we’d hoped it would be. This is particularly true with 3D, for the simple reason that a combination of Panasonic’s latest plasma technology and the full-HD active shutter 3D system delivers the full sharpness of 3D Blu-rays with extreme, captivating clarity.

Even better, this clarity remains hardly every unbesmirched by the dreaded active 3D phenomenon of crosstalk. Even tough crosstalk-inducing scenes like the lantern sequence in Tangled look almost perfect, making the P55VT30 the first 3D TV we’ve seen that’s able to do full justice to this 3D ‘showcase’ moment (though to be fair, the P42VT30 would probably have managed it too, had the Tangled disc actually been available when we were testing that set).

Panasonic TX-P55VT30

The effort Panasonic has put into boosting the brightness of its latest plasma TVs pays off handsomely with 3D too, with 3D footage looking much more satisfyingly vivid and well saturated once you’ve donned Panasonic’s 3D glasses. Particularly pleasing is the appearance of much more natural levels of shadow detail in dark areas, avoiding that crushed look to blackness that was our main concern with Panasonic’s 2010 3D plasma performance.

In a dark room we really have no complaint to make about the P55VT30’s 3D performance. Raising the lights, though, suggests that P55VT30’s extra contrast filter takes a touch of brightness out of the image compared with the brightness levels experienced with Panasonic’s GT30 models.

Previous page
Next page

Denis iii

June 15, 2011, 2:52 pm

Better then Pioneer Kuro?


June 15, 2011, 4:45 pm

C'mon guys! You're embedding the full-size images on the page and just using HTML to force the browser to resize them. This means to just view the reviews we're having to download the full 1.7MB+ (x2 per page) images even if we're not clicking on them to enlarge...

Think about us on smartphones etc.

Mr Mitchell

June 15, 2011, 5:33 pm

????Have panasonic sorted out the panning problem out? As I have last years model & it give's me head ache.
The only way I know how to improve the motion is turning off IFC in the setup menu:( otherwise it's the best tv picture out there!

Matt Ross

June 15, 2011, 6:08 pm

Knock a few hundred quid off in return for taking away the 3D functionality and I'd buy one of these.


June 15, 2011, 7:52 pm

Very rare that I post now as the new site is totally incompatible with IE6 that is standard still at work. Having to do this on the iPad.

I'd also love a TV this good without 3D but it seems it's going to be a long time yet before Manufacturers realise that most of us don't want it.

Does this TV buzz..?? This is really important to me having had to sell a G20 and lose £400 because of the buzzing.


Energizer Bunny

June 15, 2011, 10:22 pm

Oh Trusted Reviews for the love of god go back to the old website. In times gone by there would have been 20 comments up about this article already. Instead you have 5 and 2 of them are complaining about the website. A huge amount of people are still stuck on IE6 at work and your site is an absolute dog on that browser. If comment numbers are any kind of proxy for general traffic you must be down massively since the ugrade. Please either fix this one or go back :(

The TV looks nice.


June 15, 2011, 11:08 pm

Agree, stunningly lazy programming.


June 15, 2011, 11:10 pm

+1 to the 3D comments. I don't want the gimmick that is 3D, but I would like a top end TV. Can't wait for the 3D fad to be over!


June 16, 2011, 1:48 am

Thank you Trusted Reviews for not supporting IE6!

Personally I'm sick of having to support that antique. The fewer sites that support it the quicker it should finally die.

I do sympathise with those like AJ who don't get a choice of browser though, but sadly there are always casualties for the sake of progress.


June 16, 2011, 3:57 am

I'm really happy that Panasonic finally sorted out their dated aesthetics. But at the risk of whining, I kind of expect Wi-Fi to be integrated into the set instead of via an inelegant dongle before the price point of 2500 quid. Not too much to ask - built in Wi-Fi really comes as standard on every other electronic device now. If manufacturers want to make progress with this connected TV lark, they've got to move on from thinking it's a novel extra.


June 16, 2011, 7:26 pm

@AJ - I had to return a P42G30B because of its buzzing. I now have a buzz-free LCD. From what I've read on AVForums, this is a feature on some Plasmas, with the degree they buzz varying form TV to TV. It also depends on your own tolerance.

Even though the picture was superb on the G30B I bought, I'd be put off buying a Plasma again because of this issue. However, as you pointed out, it's rarely brought up in reviews.


June 16, 2011, 7:29 pm

Unfortunately, it seems that to get a top-end TV now, all of them come with 3D. You can't get one without it. And it looks like it will stay that way for the near future, until this 3D fad is over (like you say).

A Scotland

June 16, 2011, 9:00 pm

I actually like the new website. The old one was aesthetically offensive ;). I am surprised people regularly using this website have internet explorer at all let alone 6.

With 3D, I was originally sceptical too but no longer consider it a fad at all. Too many have invested too much in the format for it to fail now. Don't forget that you are basing your views on experience of something which is in early stages of development having only just begun to receive major investment and attention. I would hope that eventually the technology will reach a stage where all but the most hardened luddites will have to endorse it.


July 3, 2011, 5:46 pm

Why do you never mention the Rated Power Consumption, this one is 430 Watts. Could just about afford the TV, but could only afford to switch it on for special occasions. Like Royal Weddings and The World Cup.

comments powered by Disqus