1 of 7 pictures

Panasonic L42E6 Front

Hover to zoom

Panasonic L42E6
Panasonic L42E6

7 Pictures - Panasonic TX-L42E6B

  • Panasonic L42E6
  • Panasonic L42E6
  • Panasonic L42E6
  • Panasonic L42E6
  • Panasonic L42E6
  • Panasonic L42E6
  • Panasonic L42E6


March 4, 2013, 11:35 pm

Great review, thank you!

Silly question time: Would you go with the new generation led L42E6 or the previous generation plasma 42gt50? (both now offered at £800)

Tom Osborne

March 5, 2013, 5:56 pm

Thanks for the review. It's not often that you find a product that matches exactly what you're looking for but this seems to!

Peter Nye

April 25, 2013, 1:59 pm

Great review, great tv but, being a perfectionist, I'm just struggling slightly to get the 'perfect picture'. Can anyone recommend or suggest what they feel are very best settings on the custom/advanced menu? I feel it needs a bit more tweaking but just can't get there.

Many thanks, Gaspin.


May 23, 2013, 4:38 am

Great review! Looks like a very good led.

I would love to get this TV for gaming and movies, but I've been troubled by the lack of game mode and 1080 pixel direct as stated here http://www.panasonic.co.uk/htm...

How do you get an average 36ms input lag? In which mode/settings?


August 9, 2013, 10:31 am

Hi, what about gaming lag ? Can i Buy this tv for gaming ?


September 23, 2013, 3:53 am

36ms - I've just purchased one of these to run an Xbox One in November.

Matthew Farrington

November 17, 2013, 6:27 pm

Hi, I am at the moment battling between this television and the sony kdl42w653 which also got a 9 star rating on this site. The television will be used primarily for films and gaming on an xbox 360 at the time being. I was just wondering if you could tell me which one is better for these functions!


December 3, 2013, 11:49 am

Matthew Farrington the Sony has double the refresh rate of this Panasonic so will be a better choice for really smooth gaming. Although most games don't run at nearly 200 the Sony should be a more 'future proof option. Having said that this Panasionic does have an extra HDMI input but that could be overcome with a splitter

J Smith

December 16, 2013, 12:04 pm

I bought this TV in the sale based on this review; specifically the mention of 100hz as I use my TV with my PC for games etc.

This TV is 50hz - this leads to blur which was actually mentioned in the review (it would have been nice if they'd stated it is due to the 50hz panel!)

"Motion clarity remains the TX-L42E6B’s biggest weakness, despite being equipped with “100Hz Back light Blinking” which is Panasonic’s backlight scanning technology that attempts to reduce the sample-and-hold effect largely responsible for the motion blur we perceive on LCDs.

The underlying LCD panel is still 50Hz, which is borne out by a motion resolution of between 250 and 300 as determined via the scrolling test chart in the FPD Benchmark disc. Unfortunately the Panasonic E6 doesn’t feature any onboard motion-compensated frame interpolation (MCFI) system to help the TV out in this area."

The text reproduction on a desktop is terrible, much worse than my 4 year old Samsung 6 series it replaced.

Pros; looks amazing, great HD playback
Cons: Gaming/PC use is quite poor


January 3, 2014, 11:24 am

Can trusted reviews print their calibration settings for the Panasonic TX-L42E6 so people at home can try them to see what they think?


January 3, 2014, 12:42 pm

We've discussed this idea several ideas in the past, and we've always decided against it. Given the variability of LCD panels in each TVs, not to mention environmental factors (e.g. ambient light) we feel it's best not to as our settings may not provide anything like what's best for any given TV.

That said, we do generally make recommendations for certain settings (e.g. motion modes) in the setup section where we think it's appropriate.


January 3, 2014, 1:47 pm

is this model the same as th-l42E6E?, and I really can't choose between this model or samsung EH6030 AND SAMSUNG F5300 which one would be a better choice neglecting the 3D and smart features?


January 5, 2014, 5:05 pm

I do understand this point of view and see that you've recommended certain picture presets for day and night viewing but it would be good to try your settings be they for dark or light environments as a point to start from, as you know how to go into more depth then the average person, and if not happy with them would have ample time to try other settings myself.


January 28, 2014, 3:27 am

Just bought this last night..
1.Very nice sleek design.
2.Good colors.
3.But dont have a good sound quality.
4.Tested this tv using Playstation 3 and turned out great.
5.Lucky this tv has built in wifi. Can also connect using the lan cable.
6.Easily can be remote via Panasonic Remote App on Googlestore.
7.Overall im satisfied with the performance.


March 14, 2014, 12:04 pm

Am about to buy one of these TVs and would like to know: is there anywhere those famous calibration settings to be found (on the net or elsewhere)???

comments powered by Disqus