Home » Cameras » Camera » Panasonic Lumix G6 » Image Quality and Verdict

Panasonic Lumix G6 - Image Quality and Verdict

By Paul Nuttall


  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic Lumix G6


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £550.00

Panasonic Lumix G6 – Image Quality

One of the new features to debut on the Panasonic Lumix G6 is a 1,728-zone metering system, and the good news is that this copes admirably in a range of different lighting conditions. If it does err at any stage then the results are slightly underexposed, although this is easy enough remedied. There’s HDR and an Intelligent D-Range setting for taking wide dynamic range shots, both of which work well.

Panasonic Lumix G6

Click on photo for full sample photo gallery

The G6's auto white balance also performs well in a range of different lighting conditions and sources, although on occasion it does produce slightly cooler images than required.

The new 16MP Live MOS sensor is capable of capturing an impressive level of detail; enough to produce an A3 print at 240ppi with ease. Although the resolution isn't quite as good as its DSLR rivals, it's impressive when you consider the smaller physical size of the sensor.

This smaller physical sensor also handles noise well at lower ISO settings. Results between ISO 160 and 1600 results are more than a match for comparative DSLRs. Above this setting results do begin to suffer from aggressive noise reduction, although shooting in Raw and then processing yourself will go some way to avoiding this.

Panasonic Lumix G6 ISO 800

Click on photo for full sample photo gallery


The Panasonic Lumix G6 is a feature-packed camera that more than keeps up with the competition. When you consider that it’s priced against impressive DSLR rivals such as the Canon EOS 100D and Nikon D5200, that’s no small achievement.

The addition of Wi-Fi and NFC connectivity, along with an impressive touchscreen and a host of body controls, all make the G6 a great camera to use. One of the only real disappointing areas is the model’s plastic finish – a step back from the Panasonic Lumix G5.

Throw in some strong image quality performance and its compact proportions, as well as a selection of compatible lenses that continues to grow, and it’s safe to say that the Lumix G6 is one of the best CSCs on the market.

Scores In Detail

Build Quality
Design & Features
Image Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page


May 24, 2013, 10:32 pm

Wi-fi but no Miracast? Missed opportunity; great way to show photos on the TV.


May 24, 2013, 11:43 pm

I've been trying to decide between this and the Sony A65 as a back-up/B-camera for short films. Purely judged in terms of video performance, which is better and offers more flexibility and control over the image and sound? Is there anything about the A65 which outweighs the larger, cheaper range of lenses you can get for the Panasonic? Does the larger Sony sensor have a significant impact in video mode? (And on a side note, which takes better stills?) Thanks.

Andy H.

May 25, 2013, 10:19 pm

Video quality is significantly better on here compared to the A65. A65 is somewhat soft for video. I owned the A65 for a while, I'm pretty sure it didn't have manual audio control, which adds favor to this one.

The advantage of the bigger sensor on A65 means narrower depth of field. There might be better dynamic range for video, but I'm not sure. All lenses get image stabilization, though for video it is digital rather than physical. There are a number of inexpensive Minolta lenses which are nice and which work very well on the A65.

All in all, this camera is a lot more appealing for video, though A65 is decent as well.


May 25, 2013, 10:42 pm

The G6 has a mini-HDMI port. The same port works well when I connect my GH2 to an HDTV.


May 26, 2013, 11:02 am

This review is almost identical to the review on whatdigitalcamera.com, which was published two days earlier. Is there a licensing agreement between your two sites, or is this just a blatant copy?


May 26, 2013, 12:02 pm

It's far more convenient having the camera in your hands and sending
the images wirelessly. Otherwise you either need a long lead or you have
to sit in front of the TV. You probably have to rummage around behind
the TV to plug it in too. I've done both with my S3 and Miracast is far
less hassle.


May 27, 2013, 4:26 am

My tv has no wifi, but has secondary inputs on the side, so using an hdmi is better, especially there's no compression or latency typically associsted with sharing/mirroring via wifi.


May 27, 2013, 7:03 am

What Digital Camera is a sister title of ours. They sit across the hall from us and provide us with camera reviews.


May 27, 2013, 2:35 pm

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. That was a big help!


May 28, 2013, 6:34 am

I've plugged a PTV3000 into my TV. No noticeable compression and a tiny amount of lag. A little too much lag for action games but no problem for viewing photos. Miracast may be small now but will become far more ubiquitous during the lifetime of this camera.

philip alexander

May 29, 2013, 11:53 pm

I'm looking for a camera to make short films with and to generally record stuff. Would this be a better option than cameras like the 60D and the T4i and those types of cameras? Thanks

Kevin Leigh

September 4, 2013, 8:02 am

What's your view on the G6 over the new GX7 for a keen amateur who shoots in jpeg, wants low light ability & quick focusing, and often relies on the full auto mode for ease of shooting to concentrate on the picture itself?
Both cameras seem to offer similar features. The obvious difference I read is that tilt-screen at the back of the G7 does not twist as well but it appears to have a better electronic viewfinder (almost double the pixels). Anything else of real-world importance?

Pete McGete

September 20, 2013, 9:40 pm

I just have to answer this. Why would you persist in mentioning this miraculous Miracast as the future of camera to TV connection, and making that "fact" reason to bash on the G6 not getting this "obviously awesome" feature?
I research video gear and cameras on a daily basis - the amateur way via web browsing - and have never ever come across an audience for TV connectivity, other than clean HDMI live output from cameras, or just mini-HDMI ports for easy sharing whenever that would be needed. Lets face it, as soon as you've got a so called smart TV, you get an USB input with it, which you can use a SD adapter with, or just a SD input straight into the TV. No lag, 10 second setup maximum, and 100% reliable.

Ashok Vijaya Kumar

September 23, 2013, 11:40 pm

There is an Imaging app used to control shooting. Add more features for that app for playboard control, hook in your camera via HDMI, sit in your sofa and use ur phone to control the play!!! Sounds interesting, yeah it does!! Better than holding a camera for control and all the lag associated with it!!
I guess u dont need MIRAAAACASTRO after all!


November 12, 2013, 8:02 pm

Where did I say it was the future? Where did I say it was awesome? Where did I bash the G6? You've basically made up your own comment in your head and then criticised it.

Crazy Brian

December 13, 2013, 8:41 pm

Don't worry about the resolution of the EVF on the G6. If it wasn't for the overlaid data it would be easy to forget that it is electronic instead of optical. I don't own the GX7, which is a better built camera with a better sensor. From the comparison shots I've seen though I think it's hard to tell the difference in the real world, even in low light.


March 20, 2015, 3:13 pm

I love my G2 and hated the GH2 (for stills.) Should I upgrade to the G6? The focus-peaking is a key attraction for me. I might love my G2 but I use my FZ200 more. The FZ1000 is more than I want to spend.

comments powered by Disqus