Home » Cameras » Camera » Panasonic Lumix G6

Panasonic Lumix G6 review



  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic Lumix G6


Our Score


User Score


  • Addition of NFC and Wi-fi welcome
  • Impressive video
  • Good design and size
  • Outstanding adjustable touchscreen


  • Plasticy body in some areas
  • High ISO performance weaker than DSLR rivals

Review Price £550.00

What is the Panasonic Lumix G6?

With the proliferation of Compact System Cameras (CSCs) currently on the market, it's difficult to remember a time when the CSC wasn't around. That time was 2008, and it was Panasonic that announced the very first model with the Panasonic Lumix G1.

The Panasonic Lumix G6 is several generations descended from the G1, yet it still maintains the key facets that have made the G series so popular and pioneering. The model isn't a direct replacement for the Panasonic Lumix G5, instead serving as a new addition between the G5 and the Panasonic Lumix GH3. It is, in other words, Panasonic’s ‘mid-range’ option going up against most entry-level DSLRs, like the Canon EOS 100D and Nikon D5200.

Key Features: 16.05MP Live MOS sensor; ISO 100-12,800 (extendable to ISO 25,600); 3-inch, vari-angle 1040k-dot touchscreen; 1,920 x 1,080 Full HD video in either AVCHD or MP4; 1728-zone multi-pattern sensing system

Panasonic Lumix G6 – Key Features

Although the Lumix G6 has the same resolution as its G5 stablemate, the sensor itself is in fact a different unit. The G6 features the same 16.05MP Live MOS found in the old Panasonic Lumix GH2, which is paired with an all-new version of Panasonic's Venus Engine technology.

This pairing offers an ISO range of 160 to 12,800, which is extendable to ISO 25,600 – both a step up on the G5 and enough to match the entry-level DSLRs.

Another benefit of the Venus Engine is that the Panasonic Lumix G6 offers some impressive continuous shooting rates. A headline speed of 7fps is possible, although once focus tracking is engaged this drops to 5fps. It's even possible to shoot at 40fps at reduced resolution with the model's electronic shutter enabled.

The fast speeds continue in the AF department. The Lumix G6 includes Panasonic's Light Speed AF technology, which promises impressive focus speeds with a selection of different settings available.

The rear of the Lumix G6 houses an impressive LCD. The 3-inch screen packs in a resolution of 1040k-dots and has a capacitive touchscreen with the ability to register tap and swipe functions as well as multi-touch gestures.

The screen itself is of the vari-angle variety, so it can rotate around 180° from the body and then about 270° on a horizontal axis.

Above the model's LCD screen sits an electronic viewfinder (EVF) – one of the by-products of dispensing with the mirror or pentaprism with a CSC is that a conventional viewfinder is no longer possible.

The good news is that the Lumix G6's EVF features a 1.44m-dot resolution, offers 100% coverage and is composed of OLED technology, and as such is as rich and detailed as you’re likely to find.

One area where the G6 really excels is in the video capture department - something that comes of little surprise when you consider its GH2 sensor heritage. The G6 offers full manual capture at 1080p quality and at 24, 25 or 50p in AVCHD, or 25 and 50p in MP4 format.

There also the added benefit of a 3.5mm socket should you wish to connect an external microphone, although the G6 does have a built-in stereo microphone, too.

Amongst the headline new additions are Wi-Fi and NFC connectivity. These two technologies allow users to connect to the G6 using their smartphone or tablet to easily transfer or review images. You can also download the Panasonic Image App which allows you to control focus points, adjust exposure and capture images on either Smartphone or tablet.

As well as offering full manual stills capture control, the G6 also features 19 filters, all accessible through the 'Creative Control' mode. Two new settings also debut - a Creative Panorama function and Clear Retouch mode, both of which offer simple access to advanced post-production tools.

Next page


May 24, 2013, 10:32 pm

Wi-fi but no Miracast? Missed opportunity; great way to show photos on the TV.


May 24, 2013, 11:43 pm

I've been trying to decide between this and the Sony A65 as a back-up/B-camera for short films. Purely judged in terms of video performance, which is better and offers more flexibility and control over the image and sound? Is there anything about the A65 which outweighs the larger, cheaper range of lenses you can get for the Panasonic? Does the larger Sony sensor have a significant impact in video mode? (And on a side note, which takes better stills?) Thanks.

Andy H.

May 25, 2013, 10:19 pm

Video quality is significantly better on here compared to the A65. A65 is somewhat soft for video. I owned the A65 for a while, I'm pretty sure it didn't have manual audio control, which adds favor to this one.

The advantage of the bigger sensor on A65 means narrower depth of field. There might be better dynamic range for video, but I'm not sure. All lenses get image stabilization, though for video it is digital rather than physical. There are a number of inexpensive Minolta lenses which are nice and which work very well on the A65.

All in all, this camera is a lot more appealing for video, though A65 is decent as well.


May 25, 2013, 10:42 pm

The G6 has a mini-HDMI port. The same port works well when I connect my GH2 to an HDTV.


May 26, 2013, 11:02 am

This review is almost identical to the review on whatdigitalcamera.com, which was published two days earlier. Is there a licensing agreement between your two sites, or is this just a blatant copy?


May 26, 2013, 12:02 pm

It's far more convenient having the camera in your hands and sending
the images wirelessly. Otherwise you either need a long lead or you have
to sit in front of the TV. You probably have to rummage around behind
the TV to plug it in too. I've done both with my S3 and Miracast is far
less hassle.


May 27, 2013, 4:26 am

My tv has no wifi, but has secondary inputs on the side, so using an hdmi is better, especially there's no compression or latency typically associsted with sharing/mirroring via wifi.


May 27, 2013, 7:03 am

What Digital Camera is a sister title of ours. They sit across the hall from us and provide us with camera reviews.


May 27, 2013, 2:35 pm

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. That was a big help!


May 28, 2013, 6:34 am

I've plugged a PTV3000 into my TV. No noticeable compression and a tiny amount of lag. A little too much lag for action games but no problem for viewing photos. Miracast may be small now but will become far more ubiquitous during the lifetime of this camera.

philip alexander

May 29, 2013, 11:53 pm

I'm looking for a camera to make short films with and to generally record stuff. Would this be a better option than cameras like the 60D and the T4i and those types of cameras? Thanks

Kevin Leigh

September 4, 2013, 8:02 am

What's your view on the G6 over the new GX7 for a keen amateur who shoots in jpeg, wants low light ability & quick focusing, and often relies on the full auto mode for ease of shooting to concentrate on the picture itself?
Both cameras seem to offer similar features. The obvious difference I read is that tilt-screen at the back of the G7 does not twist as well but it appears to have a better electronic viewfinder (almost double the pixels). Anything else of real-world importance?

Pete McGete

September 20, 2013, 9:40 pm

I just have to answer this. Why would you persist in mentioning this miraculous Miracast as the future of camera to TV connection, and making that "fact" reason to bash on the G6 not getting this "obviously awesome" feature?
I research video gear and cameras on a daily basis - the amateur way via web browsing - and have never ever come across an audience for TV connectivity, other than clean HDMI live output from cameras, or just mini-HDMI ports for easy sharing whenever that would be needed. Lets face it, as soon as you've got a so called smart TV, you get an USB input with it, which you can use a SD adapter with, or just a SD input straight into the TV. No lag, 10 second setup maximum, and 100% reliable.

Ashok Vijaya Kumar

September 23, 2013, 11:40 pm

There is an Imaging app used to control shooting. Add more features for that app for playboard control, hook in your camera via HDMI, sit in your sofa and use ur phone to control the play!!! Sounds interesting, yeah it does!! Better than holding a camera for control and all the lag associated with it!!
I guess u dont need MIRAAAACASTRO after all!


November 12, 2013, 8:02 pm

Where did I say it was the future? Where did I say it was awesome? Where did I bash the G6? You've basically made up your own comment in your head and then criticised it.

Crazy Brian

December 13, 2013, 8:41 pm

Don't worry about the resolution of the EVF on the G6. If it wasn't for the overlaid data it would be easy to forget that it is electronic instead of optical. I don't own the GX7, which is a better built camera with a better sensor. From the comparison shots I've seen though I think it's hard to tell the difference in the real world, even in low light.


March 20, 2015, 3:13 pm

I love my G2 and hated the GH2 (for stills.) Should I upgrade to the G6? The focus-peaking is a key attraction for me. I might love my G2 but I use my FZ200 more. The FZ1000 is more than I want to spend.

comments powered by Disqus