Panasonic Lumix FZ150 video review

Audley Jarvis

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Panasonic Lumix FZ150 review

With a 24x zoom and generous range of features, the new Panasonic Lumix FZ150 is a highly convenient package. But does it deliver the image quality to match?

More Camera Videos

Terry 10

September 12, 2011, 6:17 pm

Good review. However...

Please change that idiotic and really annoying "Continue Reading" back to "Next Page" so that it matches "Previous Page".

Why change something that is pretty much standard everywhere just for the sake of being different. I suppose next you will change "Previous Page" to "Discontinue Reading"!

Elie Boujaoude

September 12, 2011, 7:29 pm

The camera design of my choice should have a sensor size of 1" (12.8mm X 9.6mm). This means a crop factor of 2.7

The required travel zoom would be 9mm – 225mm f: 2.8 – 5.6, equivalent to: 24.3mm – 607.5mm in 35mm format.

This combination requires a pupil diameter of 40mm to achieve f: 5.6 @ 225mm.

This combination will certainly cost more but the picture quality will be rewarding.

Cardiff66

October 4, 2011, 4:26 am

I have not used the FZ1500, nor I suspect has M A K. It appears that whatever the FZ150's performance that he would always buy a Nikon. That sounds like prejudice to me. I have read OBJECTIVE reviews of the FZ150 with actual photographic data to support them e.g. dpreview and there data certainly does not support his assertion that the FZ35 is superior.

msys123

October 21, 2011, 8:53 pm

Seems to me the fool that wrote the user review has no idea. This camera will definately product better performance that the FZ35. The issue with the FZ100 and image quality is fixed with this model. You just have to look at the studio comparison tool on dpreview. This MAK user is just talking rubbish.

Ciapka

November 3, 2011, 8:31 am

The fz150 takes FANTASTIC pictures! The guy who gave it a 1 seems to not have taken the time to play with the fz150 or probably does not even own one! I own a nikon d5100 and in many instances the fz150 outperforms it with better image quality!! Keep your d5100 and before posting a review try shooting with the fz150!

Ed

November 3, 2011, 12:59 pm

I'm with you on this one. I'll keep pestering our developers to change it.

Ed

November 3, 2011, 1:01 pm

I'd pay good money for that combination if it were possible.

Ed

November 3, 2011, 1:05 pm

I agree it's not helpful for 'reviews' to be written when someone has had no experience of a product but equally I think it's rather unlikely the fz150 could ever outperform a d5100 (zoom notwithstanding). Having used countless types of both camera, super zooms have consistently shown themselves to have inferior picture quality. Not to say they aren't useful though.

SG

November 7, 2011, 4:09 am

Any possibility of an update please to your review but with the retail model (rather than pre-production one)? Especially regarding image quality.
Thanks!

PeteOwen

March 6, 2012, 9:40 pm

I've got this model camera and it's brilliant. Picture quality is outstanding and comparable with my Canon 600D DSLR IQ. It's a 9/10 camera and given it's very low noise ratio at high ISO's then it merits a 10/10. The clown who rated it a 1/10 is an expert, not!

Ach3r0n

April 9, 2012, 8:44 am

I owned the FZ35, FZ40, FZ100, and FZ150. With the exception of the FZ100, all of these cams offer good quality images when compared to other cameras of this type, but the FZ150 outperforms them all. While the IQ is only marginally better than the FZ35, it *is* better and in terms of speed, it is obviously on an entirely different level.

Mike B

April 13, 2012, 11:01 pm

I think this camera is ideal for the right sort of user. Those who want a one box solution with easy operation but the possibility of some creative options to learn mo about photography. It would be an addition to a 'handbag' point and shoot camera and be used for those 'special' occasions, when carrying something a bit bigger is worth the effort.

To overcome the small sensor spoiling your images for those inside occasions in poor light, make use of the hot-shoe and add a external flash so you can bounce it off ceilings to get nice even indoor illuminations.

Ideally the a Panasonic G3 would be a good option with a X Vario PZ 14-42mm for day to day use and a 42-200mm zoom for those long shots. This is the best of all worlds as there is little compromise and still a small package. Keep your handbag point and shoot for those spur of the moment images and your all set!

Alan S

November 6, 2012, 10:58 pm

I have owned the FZ 150 for 6 months and use it as lighter alternative to my Nikon D80 ( with 4 lenses) I am impressed with the results thus far, enlargements up to A3 are good enough for framing and display. Very little fall off at the edges and landscapes are quite crisp in detail. Overall an excellent camera at the price. Would recommend.

comments powered by Disqus