Home » Cameras » Camera » Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 » Test shots: Zoom, Contrast and Colour

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 - Test shots: Zoom, Contrast and Colour

By Gavin Stoker


  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £739.00

Here are some general test shots taken with the GH2 and lenses as stated to give an idea of performance ability when it comes to image quality, dynamic range, colour rendition and the focal range of the respective optics.


An image taken with the supplied 14-140mm f/4-5.8 zoom lens handheld at maximum telephoto setting. Bags of detail visible in the duck's feathers and nice natural colours too.


By contrast an extreme wideangle image again taken with the GH2 and 14-140mm f/4-5.8 zoom. Good edge to edge sharpness and any barrel distortion is well hidden if present at all.


An elegant subject, bathed in soft golden sunlight calls for the 'elegant' 'My Color' mode option. A sympathetic rendition we feel - here also utilising the 100-300mm for some close cropping - and one combination that has worked very well.


Another timeless subject - the white picket fence. Time to try out the GH2's retro 'My Color' mode, the camera equipped with the 100-300mm zoom, for a effectively other-worldly abstract.


A couple of examples of the richness of colour achievable when selecting the saturation boosting creative option of 'Expressive' mode on the GH2. In each case the subject is flattered by the enhancement without it straying too far into the realm of the unnatural.


Scores In Detail

Image Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page


February 14, 2011, 2:53 pm

Please improve your iso tests. They let down the reviews.


February 14, 2011, 6:18 pm

14mm at the wide end is excellent for a kit lens :)

Lets face it, a lot of people that buy DSLRs never upgrade from the kit lens so the greater its range the better. On the other hand, are they giving people less reasons to upgrade their lenses this way (shooting themselves in the profit foot)?


February 14, 2011, 8:13 pm

@PoisonJam: This is 14mm on micro four thirds which equates to 28mm.

Geoff Richards

February 14, 2011, 8:31 pm

Yes, Micro Four Thirds has a crop factor of roughly 2, so the 14-140mm f/4-5.8 zoom as reviews has a full-frame / 35mm equivalent of 28-280mm. If you own a Canon dSLR with a crop factor of 1.6 (essentially everything from 7D all the way down to the 1000D) then this lens is the equivalent of roughly 18-175mm (the closest Canon lens would be the Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens)


February 15, 2011, 6:35 am

I agree that the ISO tests are poor in this review. It may be better to have a standardised subject and use it unfailingly. Some people would like to compare images from different cameras and this cannot be done when the subject and ligting differ.

Other than that, another very good review.

Cheers, Peter


February 15, 2011, 7:23 am

I agree, the ISO sample is a tad on the poor side. I know Cliff used to use his own which would be useful to replicate in newer reviews. Maybe a bit more contrast (in colour and lighting) in the shot to show ISO performance over darker and lighter areas respectively?


February 17, 2011, 2:56 am

I dont see why the image quality should be good for 9 points, its a bit hazy, think these are no better then Canon G12


February 18, 2011, 9:41 pm

I enjoyed this review and found it pretty comprehensive. My only criticism is that you said how good your shots of a swan in flight were but did not show these. I think some good action shots would show more of the camera capability than a static object like the house.


March 7, 2012, 1:47 pm

I bought Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 after I read this review. However, I never knew the AVCHD MTS videos from this cam could not be edited directly in my Avid Media Composer 5.

I then searched on the Internet and found a video converter program called Aunsoft Video Converter. This program can convert the AVCHD files to the Avid DNxHD codec in MOV format. The converted MOV file can then be supported very nice in MC 5.

Just share this information here and hope this could help others somehow.

A good cam though.

comments powered by Disqus