Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 specs

By Gavin Stoker

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • 12.1-megapixel sensor
  • 3-inch LCD
  • Built-in flash
  • Largely metal build
  • Manufacturer: Panasonic
  • Review Price: £456.99
specs
Quick Glance
Camera type Digital SLR, Mirrorless Camera
Optical Zoom 12
Megapixels 12.1
Physical Specifications
Dimensions Width 112.8
Depth 67.8
Weight (body only) 265g body only
Features
Camera type Digital SLR, Mirrorless Camera
Optical Zoom 12
Megapixels 12.1
Image Sensor 17.3x13mm Live Mos sensor
Optical focal length Dependent on lens in use
Viewfinder N/A
Shutter speed 1/4000-60
Auto focus Contrast AF system (Face Detection, AF tracking, 23 area focusing, 1 area focusing, touch)
Manual focus Yes
Video (max res/format) 1920x1080 at 30fps, with stereo sound
Max output resolution 4000x3000
Other resolutions 2816x2112, 2048x1536, 1600x1200 in 4:3 aspect ratio
Focus range Dependent on lens in use
Exposure control P, A, S, M
Exposure metering Intelligent, Multiple Centre weighted and Spot
Exposure compensation 1/3 EV steps, +/- 3EV
Image Stabilisation Optical
ISO settings Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
LCD Monitor 3-inch, 460k dot resolution fixed LCD
Flash range 20cm to 4.8m with 14mm lens, 1m to 3.4m with 14-42mm lens
Flash modes Auto, Auto/Red eye reduction, Forced on, Forced on/Red eye reduction, Slow sync, Slow sync/Red eye reduction, Forced off
White balance modes Auto, daylight, cloudy, shade, incandescent light, flash, 3 custom settings
Drive modes Single, continuous
Image formats Raw, JPEG
Picture adjustments Colour, Black & White, contrast, sharpness, saturation, noise reduction
Movie length Up to 140 minutes
Self timer 2, 10 secs
Memory card slot SD/SDHC/SDXC
Supplied memory N/A
Batteries supplied Lithium ion pack
Charger supplied Yes
A/V output HDMI
Charging/Computer Connection USB 2.0
HDMI Yes
Manual Basic printed guide, full manual on CD

SpiderJacek

January 3, 2011, 1:17 pm

Design score means Build score and Performance means Image Quality? :)

Hamish Campbell

January 3, 2011, 1:47 pm

I bought the GF1 about 6 months ago, so was kinda relieved (in a sad selfish sort of way) when the GF2 turned out to be more a re-focusing of the camera rather than an upgrade.





I know next to nothing about this stuff but have read a number of people were disappointed with the change to the new prime lens (pancake) as the 20mm that came with the GF1 was well regarded and the new supposedly somewhat of a step down in quality.

Mircea

January 3, 2011, 2:20 pm

Great review, but no full resolution samples? Also, we need crops to check out the ISO performance.

Ray Hopper

January 3, 2011, 3:19 pm

Thanks for the review, Gavin. As I asked your predecessor on several occasions, PLEASE tell us about the shutter noise on mirrorless cameras - they really should be completely silent by now. The Samsung NX100 is the quietest I've handled so far, whilst the Sony NEX's are the noisiest. I shan't upgrade my Canon G11 until near-silent shutters are available.

Peter

January 3, 2011, 11:12 pm

Does the 3d effect get reduced because the camera sensors are much closer together than a normal pair of eyes?

piesforyou

January 3, 2011, 11:34 pm

@Ray





Just curiosity - what's the problem with shutter noise?

atomsmasher

January 4, 2011, 5:44 am

Gavin, great review. Full resolution crops in the review or links to the original jpeg files would be very helpful when evaluating image quality. Which lens was used for the test photos? Cheers

Cliff

January 5, 2011, 2:10 am

Thanks for the comments. We have added an image quality score, and full res images will be in future reviews, which are being written as I type.

Voldenuit

January 5, 2011, 11:31 am

Pretty spot-on assessment, although I think TR was a bit lenient with the final score.





The most egregious omission compared to the GF1 is the loss of the AEL button, making focus/exposure lock more of a chore than it needs to be. This is especially important in m43 with its limited dynamic range and tendency to clip highlights.





Another negative point is that the bundled 14/2.5 lens is fairly average, whereas the 20/1.7 was good enough reason to get the GF1 just for the lens.





But nitpicking aside, I do agree that m43 is still a credible alternative (though not necessarily replacement) to APS-C DSLRs. The portability alone is a great reason to get the system, and it still boasts a larger lens selection than, say, NEX. Also, the NEX, while theoretically able to drive some Alpha mount lenses (with adapter), is very slow to focus when doing so (slower than, say, the GF2 with most 4/3 lenses).





If you're shooting in low light, though, you probably want a Pentax K-5 or Nikon D7000.

Matt G Baish

January 5, 2011, 1:03 pm

@Ray Hopper





When I recently tried out the Sony NEX-3D my local Sony Centre I was amazed as how the shutter noise took me back to the days of `proper` cameras - for me it isn't a problem &, in fact, would be a desirable `feature`:)

Ray Hopper

January 6, 2011, 1:45 am

@piesforyou and matt g baish





There are a small minority of photographers, of which I am one, working in theatres, concert halls and rehearsal rooms etc., to whom shutter noise is anathema. IMO street photography also sometimes benefits from silence.

Williamn

January 10, 2011, 4:08 pm

@Ray Hopper.


That makes sense. If reviewers won't review the shutter noise, then just go down to PC world etc, and try out the camera.

comments powered by Disqus