Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX70 specs

By Cliff Smith

Reviewed:

specs
Quick Glance
Camera type Digital Compact
Optical Zoom 5
Megapixels 14.1
Physical Specifications
Dimensions Width 102.5
Depth 55
Weight (body only) 165g including battery and memory card
Features
Camera type Digital Compact
Optical Zoom 5
Megapixels 14.1
Image Sensor CCD
Optical focal length 4.3 to 21.5mm
Viewfinder N/A
Shutter speed 60secs to 1/1000th
Auto focus Face, AF Tracking, 11pt, 1pt HS, 1pt, Spot
Manual focus N/A
Video (max res/format) 1280x720, 50/25fps
Max output resolution 4320x3240
Other resolutions 3648x2736, 3072x2304, 2560x1920, 2048x1536, 640x480, 4320x2880, 3648x2432, 3072x2048, 2560x1712, 2048x1360, 640x424, 4320x2432, 3648x2056, 3072x1728, 2560x1440, 1920x1080, 640x360, 3232x3232, 2736x2736, 2304x2304, 1920x1920, 1536x1536, 480x480
Focus range Wide 50cm to infinity, Tele 100cm to infinity, Macro 3cm
Exposure control Program Auto, iAuto
Exposure metering Multi-zone evaulative
Exposure compensation +/-2EV
Image Stabilisation Power OIS (Optical)
ISO settings Auto, 80-1600
LCD Monitor 3-inch TFT
Flash range 0.6 to 7.4m (Wide/ISO Auto), 1 to 2.8m (Tele/ISO Auto)
Flash modes Auto, red-eye reduction, forced on, slow sync, forced off
White balance modes Auto, daylight, cloudy, shade, halogen, white set
Drive modes Single, continuous (3-shot burst)
Image formats JPEG
Picture adjustments Colour modes (standard, natural, vivid, B&W, sepia, cool, warm)
Movie length 110mins
Self timer 10/2 secs
Memory card slot SD/SDHC/SDXC
Supplied memory 40MB
Batteries supplied 940mAh Li-ion rechargeable
Charger supplied Yes
A/V output PAL/NTSC/HDMI
Charging/Computer Connection USB 2.0
HDMI Yes
Manual 34-page basic manual, full manual on CD

Darrin

June 26, 2010, 10:25 am

I really, no; REALLY dislike the new "Latest Price - Click here" ploy to get us to the "shopping.trustedreviews.com" portal.





Give me the price in the article - If I'm interested in pursuing the item further, I'll shop for myself, thank you.

Igor LEAHU

June 26, 2010, 12:56 pm

Nice as always, Cliff! Waiting for a Pentax X90 and W90 reviews. Thank you!

iHK

June 26, 2010, 6:39 pm

@Darrin calm down dear, did you read the review? Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure Cliff said as soon as he knows the price he will update the review. See any of the most recent camera reviews, they all have the price indicated.

Cliff Smith

June 26, 2010, 9:41 pm

Darrin - As iHK correctly points out, and as I stated in the review, the reason there's no price listed is that no official RRP has yet been confirmed for the FX70, and it's so new it's not even in the shops yet. I'll update the review as soon as I know the price.

grumpy1

June 27, 2010, 5:14 pm

Cliff thanks for this helpful review. I am slightly disappointed as the FX70 seemed just what I wanted, but from what you say it seems to fall a bit short in certain respects. Could you possibly help by suggesting a shortlist of cameras I should consider? I want a good quality shirtpocket compact with best possible anti-shake capacity, as I have a terrible hand tremor. A good lens approx f2.0 24/25mm with a 5x zoom. Quick start up with immediate access to instant shooting via a pre-set intelligent auto program producing sharp and bright daylight and decent low light images. A good LCD screen viewable in sunlight would be helpful. In my dreams I would like a wireless remote shutter release, but no-one seems to understand the usefulness of such a thing. I wonder why not.

Cliff Smith

June 28, 2010, 9:13 pm

grumpy1 - I don't want to show any bias, so I don't usually recommend individual cameras, but have you looked at the Sony WX1? I reviewed it a few weeks ago and I really liked it. You might also look at the Casio EX-Z2000 and the Canon IXUS 120 IS.

Pete

July 7, 2010, 10:54 pm

Thanks for the review, Cliff. I wonder if you could advise further. I had my FX35 nicked a couple of weeks ago and have been trying to decide on a replacement. I liked the FX35. The fact that you rate the HD on the FX70 so highly tempts me towards it as I take quite a lot of video. However, you rate the FX70 a point lower than the FX35 on image quality and two points lower on features. Are these ratings to be taken in the context of current competition, or does the FX70 really rate lower than the FX35 in these areas? Thanks a bunch!

Cliff Smith

July 23, 2010, 1:54 am

Pete - Review scores are relative compared to other similar currently available cameras. As for the FX70 vs. FX35, to be honest there's not much in it. The FX35 was a very good camera, and I'd say it has better colour rendition than the FX70, but the newer model is better at higher ISO settings and has slightly superior dynamic range. Lens quality is pretty much even.

Cliff Smith

July 29, 2010, 11:32 pm

The FX70 is now on sale, so I've added the price to the review. I wasn't far off with my guess of £260.

comments powered by Disqus