Summary

Our Score

8/10

User Score

Review Price £208.28

It had to happen sooner of later. Panasonic has finally changed the design of its flagship luxury compact model, a body shape that has been around since the launch of the original DMC-FX1 in 2003, and continued virtually unaltered through the FX3, FX33, FX35, FX37, FX40 and even last year's FX60. However Panasonic has just launched the latest in the series, the new Lumix DMC-FX70, and has changed the design. Don't get too excited though; they've only changed one end of it.

Like previous FX-series models the FX70 is a high-spec luxury ultra-compact designed as much for style as for performance and picture quality. The body is all aluminium, finished in either matt black or silver with chrome trim. It is a very slim and lightweight camera, measuring 102.5 x 55 x 22.8mm and weighing 165g including battery and memory card. The lens folds flush with the body, and the shape of the body makes it easy to slip into a pocket for a night out. Despite its slim profile the camera is easy to hold, and the rounded right-hand end of the body feels comfortable in the hand.

As usual with Panasonic the build quality is superb, with tight panel joins and solidly mounted and well labelled controls. The buttons are a bit on the small side, but they operate with a nice positive action. Also as usual Panasonic has used a small slider switch on the top panel as the on/off switch, and this could possibly snag on the lining of your pocket, but that's a very minor quibble on a very elegantly designed camera.

The FX70 is so new it's not even in the shops yet, and even the recommended retail price has yet to be confirmed. If previous models are any precedent then it's likely to go on sale at around £260, although with all the new features it may be more. I'll update the review when I hear from Panasonic.

Next page

Darrin

June 26, 2010, 10:25 am

I really, no; REALLY dislike the new "Latest Price - Click here" ploy to get us to the "shopping.trustedreviews.com" portal.





Give me the price in the article - If I'm interested in pursuing the item further, I'll shop for myself, thank you.

Igor LEAHU

June 26, 2010, 12:56 pm

Nice as always, Cliff! Waiting for a Pentax X90 and W90 reviews. Thank you!

iHK

June 26, 2010, 6:39 pm

@Darrin calm down dear, did you read the review? Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure Cliff said as soon as he knows the price he will update the review. See any of the most recent camera reviews, they all have the price indicated.

Cliff Smith

June 26, 2010, 9:41 pm

Darrin - As iHK correctly points out, and as I stated in the review, the reason there's no price listed is that no official RRP has yet been confirmed for the FX70, and it's so new it's not even in the shops yet. I'll update the review as soon as I know the price.

grumpy1

June 27, 2010, 5:14 pm

Cliff thanks for this helpful review. I am slightly disappointed as the FX70 seemed just what I wanted, but from what you say it seems to fall a bit short in certain respects. Could you possibly help by suggesting a shortlist of cameras I should consider? I want a good quality shirtpocket compact with best possible anti-shake capacity, as I have a terrible hand tremor. A good lens approx f2.0 24/25mm with a 5x zoom. Quick start up with immediate access to instant shooting via a pre-set intelligent auto program producing sharp and bright daylight and decent low light images. A good LCD screen viewable in sunlight would be helpful. In my dreams I would like a wireless remote shutter release, but no-one seems to understand the usefulness of such a thing. I wonder why not.

Cliff Smith

June 28, 2010, 9:13 pm

grumpy1 - I don't want to show any bias, so I don't usually recommend individual cameras, but have you looked at the Sony WX1? I reviewed it a few weeks ago and I really liked it. You might also look at the Casio EX-Z2000 and the Canon IXUS 120 IS.

Pete

July 7, 2010, 10:54 pm

Thanks for the review, Cliff. I wonder if you could advise further. I had my FX35 nicked a couple of weeks ago and have been trying to decide on a replacement. I liked the FX35. The fact that you rate the HD on the FX70 so highly tempts me towards it as I take quite a lot of video. However, you rate the FX70 a point lower than the FX35 on image quality and two points lower on features. Are these ratings to be taken in the context of current competition, or does the FX70 really rate lower than the FX35 in these areas? Thanks a bunch!

Cliff Smith

July 23, 2010, 1:54 am

Pete - Review scores are relative compared to other similar currently available cameras. As for the FX70 vs. FX35, to be honest there's not much in it. The FX35 was a very good camera, and I'd say it has better colour rendition than the FX70, but the newer model is better at higher ISO settings and has slightly superior dynamic range. Lens quality is pretty much even.

Cliff Smith

July 29, 2010, 11:32 pm

The FX70 is now on sale, so I've added the price to the review. I wasn't far off with my guess of £260.

comments powered by Disqus