Home » Cameras » Camcorder » Panasonic HC-X920 » WiFi Features, Image Quality and Verdict

Panasonic HC-X920 - WiFi Features, Image Quality and Verdict

By James Morris


  • Editors choice
Panasonic HC-X920 5


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £947.99

Panasonic HC-X920 - WiFi

A totally new feature is the inclusion of WiFi, the features of which are accessed via a discrete button next to the iA one. Panasonic follows the trend started by Canon and JVC with the LEGRIA HF-M52 and GZ-EX215 respectively, but takes the best of both. You can attach the camera to your existing wireless network, or set it up as a standalone access point you connect directly to. There's no NFC to assist with setting the wireless functions up - as on the Panasonic V720 and Panasonic V520 - but it's relatively easy to enter the necessary codes on your phone or the camcorder, and Panasonic offers a QR Code option to help with setup as well.

Panasonic HC-X920 with Android app

Once the WiFi is configured, a variety of functions become available. Using the Panasonic app for iOS or Android, you can control the camcorder's zoom and record functions, and even set the quality for both video and still images. You can also view the contents of the camcorder's memory card. There's a DLNA server mode as well, which we had no trouble connecting to with a Samsung Smart TV. You can use the camcorder as a home monitor, although we had trouble getting this to work across our network firewall. You can also broadcast video live via USTREAM, in a similar fashion to JVC's ADIXXION GC-XA1BE, making the HC-X920 a real contender for guerrilla live reporting, assuming you can hook up to WiFi at the shooting location.

Panasonic HC-X920 4

In keeping with Panasonic's last few generations, the HC-X920 doesn't have an accessory shoe built in, but sports a slot on the side into which can be slotted the supplied L-shaped bracket. This provides a standard-sized shoe, so the full range of third-party accessories will be compatible; things such as lights, flashes and microphones.

Key for many enthusiast video artists are the inclusion of minijacks for an external microphone and headphones (for live monitoring of your audio as well as watching back your footage). These are situated next to the hotshoe and are protected by a plastic cover. The built-in audio is pretty capable without this, though. A matrix of multiple microphones on the top provides 5.1 surround sound recording, but also allows effective wind cancellation and a zoom mic function.

Panasonic HC-X920

Panasonic HC-X920 - 3D

As with the HC-X900, you can upgrade this model to shoot 3D with the addition of the VW-CLT2 adapter. However, this won't take the HC-X920 into the same league as dedicated 3D camcorders such as JVC's Everio GS-TD1 or Sony's HDR-TD20VE. It requires calibration every time you connect it, doesn't provide the same quality as a camcorder with two dedicated sensor paths like the JVC and Sony models just mentioned, and seriously limits camcorder settings when in use. In particular, the zoom is reduced to a paltry 1.5x. So if the HC-X920 has a limitation, it is its half-hearted 3D.

Panasonic HC-X920 outdoor footage

Panasonic HC-X920 indoor/low-light footage - illuminated by 100W bulb

With its large back-side illuminated CMOS sensors, however, the HC-X920 offers unparalleled 2D image quality in every possible condition. Colour fidelity is on par with the previous model, but there's an even greater level of detail, although the HC-X900's picture was already so good you have to look very closely to see this. Low light performance is marginally improved, too. The HC-X920 can maintain colour and detail to even lower levels of illumination, with absolutely no sign of grain.


The HC-X920 is priced £50 above the RRP of the HC-X900, but it's still sub-£1,000, and should be £50-100 beneath this when it becomes more widely available. With even better performance and additional WiFi-features, it's well worth the extra cash anyway. The HC-X900 was the king of consumer-grade camcorders, and the HC-X920 is heir to its throne. If you're looking for the best 2D camcorder on the market, Panasonic has raised the bar yet again with the HC-X920.

Scores In Detail

Image Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page

Polly Ripley

January 19, 2013, 11:52 pm

Revealing my ignorance here but when I read this...

"...each sensor has a whopping 12.76Mpixels. This makes a grand total of
38.28Mpixels – more than most premium DSLRs. However, not all of them
are used for video or still images, with an effective 8.49Mpixels called
upon in each case..."

...I wonder, why? Why have all those Mpixels and not use them all?


January 20, 2013, 11:25 pm

It's all to do with money.

Its cheaper for Panasonic to buy those sensors than a custom made set. Not saying those are cheap sensors but they will have been the cheapest ones that ticked all the boxes.

Why does Panasonic not use all of the sensor? Optically it can't. The sensors are too large and the optics can't throw the picture across such a large area. All the pixels over 2.1mp (on each sensors in this case) is just used for the fancy digital zoom which in all fairness does actually work really well.

What I would really like to see is a someone make a nice high camcorder like this but with just 1 large sensor at the same size as what optically the camera is capable of using. I am not sure how much of a difference 3 sensors really makes over 1 good one. The next model down from this V720 uses just 1 sensor but only uses 1/5th of the overall size of the sensor so while on paper it looks like a great sized sensor it may as well be tiny. But again in fairness to Panasonic it still manages a good image quality.

Polly Ripley

January 22, 2013, 2:02 am

Thanks for taking the time to explain that to me. Greatly appreciated.


January 22, 2013, 7:22 pm

No problem Polly, I think its really misleading when a manufacturer boasts its got a massive 16mp, 1/2.1" sensor but then in tiny small print you realise that actually it can only use about 1/5" of this sensor and give you 5mp photos.

Most of the time you can tell by what resolution it can take photos at, if its got a 16mp sensor but only taking photos at 5mp then chances are it is only able to use a small proportion of this sensor. You have to watch out for interpolarisation though, this is what a low res sensor 'upscales' images to higher res but in reality they never look very good and just give you bigger file sizes without more detail.

E.G.: Panasonic V700, it has 1/2.33in CMOS with 15.3Mpixels but can only take 6.1mp photos (they are also pretty awful photos, but video is top notch).

But the new Panasonic V720 is very misleading, it has a 1/2.33in CMOS with 17.52Mpixels and takes photos at 20.1mp. So you think ok, it interpolates a little but no, when it takes a photo it only uses 4.1mp and then interpolates that image up to 20.1mp. This is totally pointless and never gives you anything like a proper 20.1 image.

Again this is a manufacturer trying to boast about a large, high resolution sensor but actually only uses a tiny portion of this sensor whether taking photos or in video mode.


January 22, 2013, 10:38 pm

Some enterprising individual should get to work on a firmware hack to open up the full capacity of the sensor. ;)


January 22, 2013, 11:24 pm

If only they could.

Optically the most the lens on this camcorder can project onto is around the 4mp. The rest of the sensor may as well be made out of cheese.


January 24, 2013, 10:56 am

Wow that's misleading. These camcorders do use all of the sensor. What they don't do is use all of it all of the time.

For the normal optical zoom range the whole of the sensor is used and the extra pixels are used for over-sampling. This is where several adjacent pixels are combined to form an average. This is done for a number of reasons but the main one is that it allows the camera to be much more sensitive to light without losing any colour accuracy, i.e. the image doesn't become noisy and grainy in low light conditions.

When using Panasonic's iZoom function the camera steadily reduces the rate of over-sampling until it's only using exactly 1920 x 1080 pixels (i.e. a smaller portion of the sensor). So while you don't technically loose resolution and thus detail, the accuracy of the image will drop as the sensor is less 'sure' of what colour each pixel should be.

It's a similar story for still images, though actually, as you mention they often interpolate as well to give you a higher resolution than the resolution of the sensor.


January 24, 2013, 6:32 pm

Hello Ed, this infomation is coming directly from Panasonic so not sure what part you think is wrong.

Firstly: Look at Panasonic's spec, they state 'Effective Pixels' are only 4.1mp. Effective being another word for pixels in use. http://www.panasonic.co.uk/htm...

Secondly: If Panasonic has a 15mp sensor like in the V700 why can it only take photos at 6.1mp? And even then they look awful because actually it is data from only 2.8mp http://www.panasonic.co.uk/htm...

Thirdly: If my superstition is correct and the optical zoom for the V720 is 21x and it uses around 4.14mp (around double what 1080p needs) to make this image using oversampling, as Panasonic's own specs tells us, then its not hard to see how it gets to 50x losing the extra mega pixels to get to full HD with no oversampling.


January 25, 2013, 4:46 pm

Effective is not another word for pixels in use. Effective is used as a reflection of the fact that the resolution that is output is created, as it were, out of thin air. Through the various techniques for improving image quality, such as over-sampling and motion compensation, resolution is lost so the effective resolution is used to denote the maximum achievable resolution once all those processes have been applied to the raw sensor data.

It's a bit like the pentile matrix issue on AMOLED screens; the pentile sub-pixel arrangement means their effective/equivalent resolution is actually much lower than that of RGB sub-pixel screens.


Ultimately, if what you're saying was correct then how would you explain the V210 having a near enough pixel for pixel match between the sensor resolution and effective resolution? Surely they would do the same trick here.


February 5, 2013, 11:10 pm

I have seen videos online of the of the x900 & x900M :


But I cannot find any new videos using this, is it because it's so new? if anyone finds footage can they show me?

Sami S.

February 14, 2013, 9:36 am

This is great, but Does it work Pal and NTSC?,

Francisco Penedo

February 18, 2013, 10:46 am

A Panasonic camera getting a 10/10 on this site? Really? Not biased at all...

Brian Forty

June 20, 2013, 11:40 am

Can a wireless portable HD be used to back up directly from the x920 (i.e. without a router/computer). Is there a suitable battery portable HD available?

simon owen

August 23, 2013, 4:52 pm

I have just purchased this camcorder, as it is yet to arrive I need to buy memory too, i was looking at this card from Amazon "Lexar Professional 64GB Class 10 600X 90MB/s High Speed SDXC Memory Card"

can anyone advise me if this is overkill, I have noticed that the OP stated " the top quality mode offers 1080p Full HD at 50 frames per second, with a data rate of 28Mbits/sec"

does the 28mb/s have any bearing on the speed of the memory card?

i apologize in advance for being a numpty, and i have googled this, i also contacted mymemory who simply told me that i needed a class ten card for HD recording


August 24, 2013, 7:08 pm

it's not just panasonic check out the jvc px100


October 6, 2013, 2:16 am

Oberoth, I think you really are just guessing about what is going on inside this Panasonic camera. What you are saying is that they only use a tiny fraction of the sensor to create video and even that the lens is only projecting an image onto a small part of the sensor and that the rest is just wasted (cheese in your words). Whilst I understand your reasoning from effective pixel count, this is clearly nonsense. No engineer is going to build a system many times larger than necessary and waste it by only using a small portion. This also makes no sense economically, if only a tiny sensor was required to get this image quality they could build the camera much cheaper with smaller sensors. The lens focal length is consistent with a still camera with a similar size sensor or other video cameras such as the Canon HFG30 which has a slightly smaller sensor but only 3M pixels and similar focal length. So optically this indicates they are using the entire sensor. Excess pixels are used for the image stabilisation features. At the max. end of the iZoom no doubt only the central part of the sensor is used, but at wider angles (within the optical zoom range) the full sensor must be used and down-sampled to HD.

Also note that the 3 MOS system uses 3 sensors with the light split by prisms into separate RGB streams going to each 12.7M pixel sensor so the max. resolution is 12.7M pixels at most and not the 38M pixels suggested in the review. Panasonic also uses pixel shift technology to create additional resolution by offsetting the green sensor by half a pixel. This is all explained on the Panasonic global site for those who want to learn more. How valuable this is over a single sensor I don't know, the review of the JVC PX100 (which has a single sensor of the same size and pixel count) said they could not tell the difference in image quality. Presumably pixel shift does something or they would not bother using it, but to detect the the difference may need a much more detailed comparison than is provided in this review.


October 7, 2013, 6:10 pm

Yes that is massively overkill for this device, that card is rated at 90MB/s which is equal to 720Mbits/s (8 bits in a Byte) or you could look at it that the camcorder only really needs 3.5MB/s if its running at 28Mbits/s.

Personally, I would save your money and get a good 30MB/s card which is plenty fast enough.


October 7, 2013, 6:40 pm

hello Klaaky, you make some valid points about focal lengths, and you might be right, but the way i look at it is look at the spec sheet for the V700 (my camcorder this is why i use this one): http://www.panasonic.co.uk/htm...

Image Sensor = 1/2.33
Total Pixels = 15.3 megapixels

So with those spec in mind why do you think Panasonic only 'allows' this camcorder to take 5.1mp photos? And believe me they are awful, awful images. Any camera-phone from the last 5 years would knock socks off the IQ from this device.

So do they limit it to 5.1mp instead of 15.3mp just because the components are so poor that it needs all the over-sampling just to get it close to presentable? possibly. I my opinion it looks like the camera just uses something like 2-3mp and then interpolates to get to 5.1mp. This is just based on the quality. Also though it ties in with what it says about 'Effective Pixels' on the website, although what this actually means is up in the air.

To answer most of your questions though its all about marketing, the reason why they would use bigger more expensive sensors is just so they can boast that this camcorder uses a massive 1/2.3" sensor at a whooping 15.3mp, and all of that is true and 99% of the customers don't really know much more than more is better.

Pixel shift, imo, is nothing more than another marketing gimmick to sell the device. I haven't seen anything to show me otherwise.

But who knows, i might be totally wrong.


November 1, 2013, 12:06 am

Hello can you tell me what is the color sample of the camera please?


April 29, 2014, 10:03 pm

Does this camcorder have the ability to record and show date-time stamp info as it is is rolling?

David Wilson

September 10, 2014, 8:31 am

Does the USB input (data and power) mean that I can connect another camera and record into the 920? If not, what does this mean, data input? And is MP4 file format an option with this camera? I see conflicting info on this.

David Wilson

September 10, 2014, 8:55 am

What is the function of the USB (data) input?


December 14, 2014, 9:18 am

I had a problem using the premier adobe (my first trial to move the video i took from the flash card to my PC).
I got the pictures with no voice.
What can be the solution?

comments powered by Disqus