Panasonic DMR-BWT735 specs

By Danny Phillips

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • Blu-ray/DVD recording and playback
  • 1TB hard disk
  • Dual Freeview HD tuners
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
  • Viera Connect and DLNA streaming
  • Remote Recording and multiroom TV streaming
  • Manufacturer: Panasonic
  • Review Price: £549.99
specs
Quick Glance
DVD recording Yes
Inputs
HDMI 0
Scart 1
Composite 0
Component 0
Charging/Computer Connection 0
Firewire 0
Outputs
HDMI 0
Scart 1
Composite 0
Component 0
Toslink S/PDIF 1
Antennae 1
S/PDIF 1
S-Video 0
Stereo Line Out 1
Format Support
DivX No
MKV Yes
AVI Yes
MP3 Yes
JPEG Yes
Physical Specifications
Height 59
Width 430
Depth 238
Weight 3100
Features
Type DVD/HD Recorder
DVD Optical Drive Yes (Blu-ray)
Hard Drive Size 1TB
Recording Time 684 (HD, HM mode); 1293 (SD, EP mode)
Freeview Yes
Freeview+ Yes
Freeview HD Yes
Freesat No
Upscaling Yes
Editing Features Yes
Audio Decoder Yes
Number of Tuners 2
DVD recording Yes

RobertD

October 15, 2013, 4:26 pm

I have ben looking for a PVR/DVD recorder to connect to my Panasonic Viera Smart TV as the TV has limited internet apps, i.e. no Channel 4 or 5 on demand services. Panasonic say that they "strive to make improvements" but they appear to have done little to provide the updates and are not able to say if and when they ever will! It would seem that this recorder is no better in this department. Some other manufacturers are more up to date and do provide 4OD and 5OD.

ccmanmgcs

November 19, 2013, 12:35 pm

Good review, but can it play back at 1.3 x normal speed?
This is an exceptionally useful feature of our existing Panny DVD recorders (when using RAM disks), but no one mentions it in current reviews of HDD/BluRay models. Pan. tells me that it is possible, but I have seen no evidence of this.
And even Richer Sounds was flummoxed by the question, so shops like Curry's & J Lewis have little chance of knowing!
Can anyone clarify, pls?

eccenemo

December 4, 2013, 11:03 pm

I would say so - look at the remote control 'Play' button on the picture above - it has a '1.3' notation on it, just like on my own DMR-BWT700. Just hold the 'play' button down for 2-3 seconds and it flips into 1.3x speed. Press 'play' again to return to normal play speed

Dave

January 11, 2014, 8:22 pm

I would explain that with this model and Timer Recording, the unit records a
programme directly from the broadcaster (hence the DR recording mode), which it
then has to downgrade to the desired recording mode in my case LP
Therefore, it is normal that the unit records in DR and then converts it to LP. So this means that if you record for one hour and want it in long play the recorder will convert what you have recorded when in standby mode which will take about another hour. IT WILL NOT record in LP mode in the first instance. To me this is very wasteful of time and energy not to mention the wear and tear. the reason I like to record in LP is that I can get two films on a 4.7 DVD.

Patrick

January 14, 2014, 7:04 pm

I was thinking about buying one of these but then I found out it could not record HD content from a Sky+ HD box in high definition, just in SD through the scart connection between the recorder and my Sky+ HD box.

Patrick

January 15, 2014, 7:06 pm

My problem is it can only record high definition programmes from tuners whereas I would like one that could record high definition programmes directly from from a Sky+ HD box which is what I have.

It only has a scart connection for connecting a Sky HD+ satellite box to meaning even if I store HD content to my Sky box I can only copy it to the Panasonic recorder in SD mode.

Nic Adair

April 20, 2014, 6:59 pm

Why buy a HD recording unit then record LP onto a DVD.
A 25GB bluray disc costs under £1 (TDK 25 = £22) why don't you keep the recordings in DR mode and burn directly to bluray.
Burning in LP is illogical.
Like buying an Aston Martin and putting a cheap set of Chinese tyres on it.
Have a nice day.

Nic Adair

April 20, 2014, 7:02 pm

Sky don't want you to do this, it's not a limitation of the Panasonic unit.

Louis

July 24, 2014, 12:38 pm

Anyone who knows if I buy this model with 2 x DVB-T2 tuners in Germany, if it will work with the danish T2, or if there are different types of T2 in the two countries?
(I've heard that the UK model won't work in DK) :)

comments powered by Disqus