Home » TVs & Audio » Gadget » Pakuma Akara K1

Pakuma Akara K1 review

Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

While technology is constantly evolving, the way we carry it around with us generally remains fairly static. Indeed, the great thing about buying a quality laptop bag or backpack is that you can still be using the same one in 20 years time – now how many laptops can you say that about? Let's see if the Pakuma Akara K1 backpack can match the likes of the Dicota BacPac Xtreme.

Unloaded the bag weighs 1.3kg, and it has an internal volume capacity of 23 litres, measures 34 x 16.5 x 51cm, and can hold 15 to 17-inch laptops (the compartment's exact dimensions are 30 x 5.1 x 39cm). According to the Pakuma website it will take "all PC and Apple notebooks from 15.4" to 17", but we can't see it fitting a gaming monster along the lines of the Asus G73jh and the backpack's physical tag modifies that to "most". Still, it's a level above your average budget backpack, which usually only takes laptops up to 16in.

Though you can get the Akara K1 in various black & tan colour combinations, with our favourite being the simple black model with grey piping, our sample arrived sporting "Savannah Green" panels and "Minky Brown" piping – and no, we don't have any idea what 'minky' means in this context either, as we can't for the life of us associate brown backpack piping with a sexy woman. It's not exactly a designer backpack, but doesn't shout cheap or ugly either.

Unzipping the backpack's main compartment reveals the laptop pocket (which we'll get to later) with flap and space for other products in front of it. There's also a small mesh pocket with a Velcro fastening here, but its low positioning means that anything else you put into the bag is going to land on top of the items stored here, which negates its usefulness somewhat. Having this mesh pocket near the top rather than at the bottom of the compartment would perhaps have been more logical.

At the bag's front you'll find a further two zippered compartments, marked out in green to show their size and shape. The top one features an internal pocket to hold your MP3 player. It has some padding at the front but none at the back, so again you have to be careful what you put in the Akara K1's main compartment. We certainly wouldn't be happy putting something as expensive as an iPhone 4 in here.

Next page

Denis iii

August 10, 2010, 11:17 am

so it definately won't fit a Asus G73jh?


August 10, 2010, 1:15 pm


We didn't have one to hand to try, but the official dimensions would suggest not.


August 10, 2010, 7:27 pm

I've used one of Pakumas Choroka bags for the last 4 years and its been an excellent bag. If thats anything to go by, I'm sure this will be an excellent bag.


August 10, 2010, 7:51 pm

Screams fu***ing ugly to me! Backpacks should be forbidden for anyone who is not actually, well, backpacking. But then I suppose anyone who cares about whether a bag has pockets for cables cares very little about style. Cannot believe TR is reviewing backpacks...


August 10, 2010, 9:41 pm

i've had this for over 2 years now. the rubber (?) lining along the bottom edge has worn away to the point where i can see through it, but then again i've never owned a still functioning bag for so long.


August 10, 2010, 9:47 pm


"It's not the most attractive bag around" - our way of saying it was more... diplomatic :)plus "that will make it less likely to be stolen". Also, the black version of the bag is prettier - as usual ;)

Also, considering a backpack is the most convenient way of carrying anything, why would one have to be backpacking to enjoy the advantages?

And last but not least, we've been reviewing backpacks for a very long time, just check the article for some links.


August 10, 2010, 9:53 pm

i've had this for over 3 years now.


August 11, 2010, 11:53 am

I've had one for over, not this colour, I've got the black version.

Its a great bag, still good condition and I use it every day on the train.

Definitely worth the small amount of money they cost.


August 11, 2010, 3:11 pm

@Ardjuna yeah i've seen you have other backpack reviews. Obviously it's up to TR to review whatever it wants and people have commented so it's obviously a useful category for some. I just find it bemusing; next will be mice mats and keyboard covers! While perhaps convenient they are immensely ugly, right next to Crocs & Uggs in my book. Maybe I care how I look too much but I wouldn't be seen dead with one; I might like my gadgets but I don't want to scream "IT nerd" too loudly. I'll take a satchel, shoulder bag or even a man bag over a backpack any day of the week.


August 11, 2010, 3:34 pm

I found that carrying a large laptop on a shoulder strap bag was one of the main causes of the backache I had for about two years. Balancing things out with a (not so fancy) rucksack was an almost immediate and tangible benefit. Besides I wouldn't be seen dead with a man bag.


August 11, 2010, 7:33 pm

@Horhay: nerd ;-)


August 11, 2010, 9:08 pm

@HK & Horhay:

I'm a nerd too, and proud of it :D

Other than that I'm a practical fellow, and (like Horhay) will choose slight reduction in coolness for less backache any day of the week.

Also, HK, we don't just do backpacks: http://www.trustedreviews.com/..., http://www.trustedreviews.com/... and http://www.trustedreviews.com/... to give but three examples.

honest reviewer

December 16, 2011, 2:48 am

i bought this bag as i was impressed with its features and the way it was presented on the website. the moment i received it i was disappointed with the quality. stitching, zips, overall material all not up to the standards you expect. i still thought i will use it and get the feel for it and within a week, a hole in the bag just above the cocoon section. after having a really bad experience with this product, i would advice don't get carried away by it (especially the pakuma website). its not worth it.

comments powered by Disqus