Nokia Lumia 920 - Nokia Apps

By Edward Chester

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Nokia Lumia 920

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Nokia Lumia 920 - Nokia Maps, Drive and Music

If you can’t find some of your favourite apps supported on Windows Phone 8 you may still be persuaded by Nokia’s excellent and exclusive offerings included with the Lumia 920.

Nokia Maps

The first and most prominent, given Apple’s calamitous Apple Maps launch, is Nokia Maps. This fully fledged mapping app provides map and satellite views as well as public transport and traffic views information. The map view isn’t quite as slick as Apple Maps but the coverage and labelling is far superior putting it on par with GoogleMaps. Likewise the satellite view is detailed and accurate. However, you do miss out on the rather clever 3D satellite view of Apple Maps and Street View in GoogleMaps, plus there isn’t a way to orient the maps to the direction you’re facing using the phone’s inbuilt compass – a bizarre and simple omission.

Nokia Lumie 920 1 Nokia Lumie 920 2

Perhaps the biggest boon of Nokia Maps, though, is that you can download the maps for use when you’re away from a data connection, i.e. when abroad. The maps are inevitably quite large – the UK map is 278MB – and coverage detail varies but you could easily load up your phone with enough maps for a fairly long trip before running out. Worldwide coverage is also excellent with the vast majority of regular destinations covered.

Nokia Maps Nokia Drive

Nokia Maps also offers a public transport view including the London Underground, while Nokia Drive provides an easy driving navigation service.

Nokia Drive

Another great Nokia feature is Nokia Drive which uses the same maps as Nokia Maps but presents them in a drive-friendly manner, providing big, easy-to-press buttons, quick access to destination input and readouts of estimated speed and distance to destination.

Nokia City Lens

Nokia City Lens

Finishing the trio of navigation apps, Nokia also has City Lens. This is an intriguing addition that we suspect will seldom actually get used but is clever nonetheless. As you pan round looking through the phone’s camera it shows nearby points of interest on the screen. This augmented reality trick is quite clever but is much less useful than finding the place on a map. That said, for when you’re getting close to your destination it does serve as something of an alternative to Google Street View for pinpointing your destination.

Nokia Music

Nokia Lumie 920 3 Nokia Lumie 920 4

Nokia’s final big software feature is Nokia Music. Not only does this offer a music download service like every other phone but there’s also the unique Mix Radio feature. This offers free 1 hour themed mixes that can be downloaded to your phone for playing whenever and wherever you like. You can keep them as long as you like and download up to three at a time, with a pretty varied selection on offer. As a one stop shop for quickly filling your phone with new music, it’s a nice extra.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Martin Daler

September 5, 2012, 10:02 pm

"4.5in HD Amoled screen"
Other sites report IPS LCD...

Martin Daler

September 5, 2012, 10:10 pm

"With a resolution of 800 x 1280 pixels,"
should be 1280 x 768
See her for further help...
http://www.nokia.com/global/pr...

ElectricSheep

September 5, 2012, 11:44 pm

Better start writing that epitaph.

TrustedPhrontis

September 6, 2012, 1:31 am

32GB of memory, excellent. No microSD kills it dead for me. Shame my sons 900 seems really good; but no SD no buy.

nanite2000

September 6, 2012, 2:29 am

This is a preview, not a review. Why is it under the Reviews section?

ChaosDefinesOrder

September 6, 2012, 2:24 pm

website back-end limitation

Ed

September 6, 2012, 3:46 pm

Funnily enough, we've just made an update that allows us to more clearly label our articles and we're just in the process of rolling out an editorial policy to make sure that happens. In other words, this and other first impression, first look, hands on articles will be clearly labelled as such from now on. They will, though, still appear in the reviews column as there are still some other back-end limitations in place, as ChaosDefinesOrder rightly points out. Sorry for any confusion.

Ed

September 6, 2012, 3:47 pm

Argh, how'd that get there. More haste, less speed...

Ed

September 6, 2012, 3:48 pm

Likewise.

ChaosDefinesOrder

September 6, 2012, 5:23 pm

Does it also fix the terrible comments system? ;-)

Ed

September 6, 2012, 5:44 pm

Chance would be a fine thing. We should be fixing it within the next couple of months, though.

AHYL88

September 7, 2012, 5:41 am

Hmm yeah, I agree it is annoying, given this OS and the Nokia 820 now supports expandable storage. Sure 32GB and some cloud storage is plentiful but, and this is the same thing I thought of with the Nexus 7, having cloud storage and a high but capped storage capacity should not be used as excuses to not include a microSD card slot.

J4cK1505

October 30, 2012, 11:52 pm

Looks like a pretty respectable handset, would like to see grey being replaced by blue however. And make all those colors smooth matte as opposed to fingerprint magnet gloss

Martin Daler

October 31, 2012, 12:38 am

Now this article has been re-released as a full review, maybe now is the time to correct that pesky screen resolution? See earlier post above (5 sept)

Ed

October 31, 2012, 1:49 am

Twist my arm. Done.

Martin Daler

October 31, 2012, 2:05 pm

...and would it be churlish to mention the size of the Galaxy Note 2 display? Should by 5.5 inches.

Leena

November 1, 2012, 3:52 pm

I would be interested in hearing about how Lumia 920 works as a phone, is voice quality good? In many mobile phones quality is so poor that it's unconvinient to discuss by phone.

mreman

November 2, 2012, 6:06 pm

I was planning on getting myself a red version , but the black one in this review looks so cool to me . And 32GB is more than enough for me .

Gary

November 7, 2012, 2:19 pm

I want to buy this sim free, is it out anywhere yet? Have found 2 places where it is on pre order for a week or more but still no phone! EE have it but am not paying for their overpriced service.

mother-goose

December 7, 2012, 7:26 pm

Lovely review chaps, thanks for this.

My overall impression is that it is a lovely physical device....but wouldn't it be nice if it was a Nexus device running vanilla Android?

Don't get me wrong, I like the idea of Windows Phone 8 and I actually want a device (I think I'll get the HTC 8X if I go down this route due to the smaller screen and headphone amp) - the single biggest thing stopping me getting WP8 at the moment is the lack of Spotify - I'm a pro member and won't give that up. I suspect this is something that is holding a lot of people back - they've got apps they like in another ecosystem that aren't available on this platform yet.

Bugblatter

December 10, 2012, 8:03 pm

You've been promising to fix the comments system since just after this version was introduced. A couple of months ago you said it would be fixed in a couple of months. In the meantime the comments section has almost died.

Sorry to sound like I'm having a go; this has been dragging on though. The biggest killer is the delay in posts showing up; that's killing the comments far more than spam would. I've been posting here for years; it seems daft and insulting that my comments still have to be approved.

Ed

December 10, 2012, 8:08 pm

It is imminent, I promise. We've committed to another service and done most of the development work for the transition but emergency issues elsewhere in the company meant our developers were pulled away from finalising flicking the switch. Any time in the next week or two the new system should be up and running though.

Bugblatter

December 10, 2012, 9:44 pm

That's good news; the comments used to be almost as valuable as the actual review and it'd be great if we could get that back.

MattMe

December 11, 2012, 3:29 pm

"the fact that the homescreen is simply one long list, rather than pages of apps" - I've not used WP8, but I'm surprised that it doesn't support a similar way of 'zooming out', like on Window 8 (and RT) to display groups of apps, that you can label and quickly jump to.

Shannon Nanna

December 16, 2012, 3:56 pm

i love the colors of these phones, and the fact that AT&T carries them (and are compatible with 4GLTE). I have a hair salon in Dallas and our color scheme is exactly the same as all these phones. I could buy them all! (Of course, wouldn't that be nice, to have more than one you could use?!)

comments powered by Disqus