Key Features: Dual-core 1.5GHz Snapdragon Krait CPU; 1GB RAM; 8GB internal memory, expandable; 4.3-inch 480 x 800 pixel AMOLED screen; Windows Phone 8 OS; 4G version available

Manufacturer: Nokia

Quick Glance
Screen Size (inches) 4.3
Operating System Windows Phone
Touchscreen Yes
Operating System Windows Phone
Height 123.8
Width 68.5
Depth 9.9
Weight 160
Available Colours Black, Gray, Red, Yellow, White, Blue, Violet
Touchscreen Yes
Screen Size (inches) 4.3
Screen Resolution 480 x 800
Processor and Internal Specs
CPU Dual-core 1.5 GHz Krait (Qualcomm MSM8960 Snapdragon)
Talk Time 480
Standby Time 330
Internal Storage 8
Expandable memory microSD
Camera 8
Camera Flash dual LED
Front Facing Camera Yes, VGA
Charging/Computer Connection microUSB
3.5mm Headphone Jack Yes, on top edge
3G/4G Yes
WiFi Yes
Bluetooth Yes
GPS yes
App Store Google Play Store

gaz martin

February 9, 2013, 11:25 am

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. The first 820 i had broke in my pocket (cracked screen), even though it was in a case with a screen protector. I eventually got a replacement from carphone warehouse after shouting and screaming for three hours in-store.
The second handset is plauged by bugs. Sometimes it won't charge through USB for no apparent reason. The data connectivity often won't work without turning the phone off and on first. Sometimes the music player volume will zump to zero and won't turn back up until you turn it off and on. Some photos iv taken have a solid line of purple pixels across them, the list goes on...
Iv tried endlessly to tackle this with Nokia and they've done absolutely nothing. They do not know the meaning of the words "customer service", do some forum searches and you'll see what i mean.
Iv used Nokia for 15 years but when this contract runs out im never dealing with them again. Take my advice and save yourself from a ton of frustration, and being stuck with a shoddy handset for two years.

Matthew Paul

February 9, 2013, 11:47 pm

I don't know if Gaz Martin is in the pay roll of some other manufacturer, but all I can say is he is subject to his own opinion.

It is a great phone and a smart option for your money's worth. Just use the phone in a store for any period of time and make your own mind up. Do not let some random guy troll your mind.

gaz martin

February 10, 2013, 11:16 am

Im just sharing my experience.

Matthew Paul

February 10, 2013, 3:40 pm

Okay so am I. It's sad that you've had such a bad one. Nokia has always been outstanding with customer service in my experience.


February 10, 2013, 4:10 pm

I have just returned this handset having upgraded my contract. It's a shame as I don't believe the issue is with the hardware, but it's Windows Phone 8 itself. The issues I encountered included poor battery life, difficulty setting up exchange but the biggest disappointment was the management of external storage.

It seems that it is near impossible to save anything to an SD card apart when using non-native applications. The fact that you can't even download an mp3 via the browser is ridiculous in itself. There is no native UK podcast support, so when using a third party app it will down files to the internal memory rather than your SD card. In addition, the Nokia apps do the same, including Nokia Maps and Music. With only 8GB of storage you will fill it up pretty quickly, I don't know how offline playlists work in Spotify but I can only assume the same issue applies.

It's a real shame as even my old e71 could run applications from the SD card and 3rd party applications could be set to use an SD card. I really don't know what handset to upgrade to now, as I don't trust WP8 on a Lumia 920. In addition it seems the 920 suffers from battery life issues and tends to run hot. It's a shame as I would prefer to upgrade to a Nokia if possible.


March 15, 2013, 5:18 pm


In line with the remarks of many other users/victims below.

The phone is not able to meet even the minimal most expectation. The main difficulty the phone I have has is to establish basic 3G connection, It is able to do so for about an hour a day (in total), Bluetooth is not able to sync once unpaired, 802.11 connection just vanishes for no reason. The difficulties in my view are software and not hardware, but the fact that no QC is able to identify the problem prior to the phone being offered to unsuspecting clients is insulting. On the evidence up to now, I don't think Nokia will be in business for long.


March 15, 2013, 7:59 pm

The handset is really good, build quality is perfect, and nokia applications are great, the only drawback is unfortunately win 8 mobile, I really, really wish Nokia used android instead of win system, I think quality-wise these phones are matching apple, but system is crap, amount o apps is less than poor and is not really growing :-( at all. I've always been fan of nokia but now I realy feel disappointed, think will come back to E52 as works much better than 820, and will last 8 days on one charge ;-)


June 19, 2013, 9:20 am

i agree with you. nokia rocks!! unlike the 'Made in China' like samsung or any other manufacturer. hardy, user friendly and CLASSY.!! I've dropped my C7 from a rocktop when i was hiking and it still works perfectly. i drop it once or twice everyday. I love nokia!! the thing is this model has no gorilla glass. would it be an issue???

Faizz Gour

August 21, 2013, 8:39 am

dear gaz martin u don't know how to use the windows phone............ hahahahahahah


October 7, 2013, 8:59 pm

I've had this phone for about 2 months now. Overall I like it but I do have a few issues.

1. Connectivity with my computer - I take a lot of pictures and videos that I want to share with friends. I haven't got the patience to upload them singly to Facebook or wherever and email struggles to send large amounts of pictures. It's not a simple case of plugging the phone in to the computer you have to download an app which is only available if you have windows 7 or 8 on your pc/laptop. I have XP on one computer and windows 7 on my laptop which won't let me update facebook or send an email (therefore meaning I can't share my pictures/videos etc)

2. Size - It's just slightly too big to type with one hand but it's liveable

3. The case is a little smooth so I keep dropping it!! Thankfully the screen seems to be holding out but the case is starting to crack!

4. The case is ridiculous to get off! Even the guy in the Vodafone store I went to to swap contacts from my old phone couldn't get it off!!

5. Memory - Weirdly, my old phone seemed to cope reasonably well but I am constantly getting messages telling me that I have run out of memory!!

6. The Nokia Music App is unpredictable. It used to work fine but now won't always work. I've looked online and a few others have the same problems. Their solutions worked at first but alas no longer.

There's probably a couple of other things that I've forgotten (Probably not that big a deal then!!) and a lot of this probably seems like a lot of personal preference but it's stuff I wish I'd known before signing up for a 2 year contract.

As I said, overall I like it but perhaps wouldn't have got a windows phone had I known about the connectivity issues with the computer.


October 20, 2013, 8:07 am

I do also have same experience. Are you saying that there is relation between Windows Phone and Screen and build quality of Nokia phones.
I am impressed with Windows Phone OS but Nokia build quality is worst.
gaz, at least get it replaced from Nokia; but for me I had to pay a lot for getting screen replaced from Nokia Care. Very much satisfied with Nokia smart phones quality.

tushar banne

November 7, 2013, 10:50 am

Even I face the problem of data connection. First I thought it might be the service provided problem but now confirm about it. Music player problem also persist.

Dual code does not work upto the mark.. Even I keep on fighting with the bugs. But camera is appreciated and battery and rigidity is also appreciated. Maps are good. But details of area are less. Many imp places are missing on the map.

comments powered by Disqus