Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Nokia Lumia 1520 / Battery Life and Verdict

Nokia Lumia 1520: Battery Life and Verdict

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell



Our Score:


User Score:

Nokia Lumia 1520: Battery Life

With a huge 3,400mAh battery to power it, the Nokia Lumia 1520's battery life ought to astound. It isn't quite as good as we initially expected, but it's very good all the same.

Our day using the Lumia 1520 started around 7am with a full charge. After an hour-long commute listening to music the whole way, browsing the internet and a smattering of photo opportunities, the battery stood at 85%.

It was left mostly idle with Wi-Fi on until lunchtime, though we turned off Wi-Fi around 11:30 and took a few test photos. By 1:30pm it had 60% left, which dropped to 44% by 4pm after a meeting in which we used Evernote to take notes and took some time to rattle off 10 or so more test shots.

Later on we spent an hour or so listening to music with the screen off, which means when we headed home at 6:30 we had 31% left. Post the journey home, where we mostly read a book with a small sprinkling of browsing and gaming, the 1520's battery read 20%. This was enough to last the rest of the evening where it mostly sat idle.

This was a pretty heavy workload for a whole day, particularly as we took at least 20 or so photos through the day. Lighter use should cause no problems whatsoever, though unsurprisingly keeping an eye on screen brightness is important. It's a real power drain, especially as the auto brightness system typically sets it higher than it really needs to be and there's no quick access to control it.

Nokia Lumia 1520: Call and Sound Quality

Call quality is sound. The earpiece is loud and precise, with no annoying distortion or compression of voices. We never had any trouble making ourselves heard, either, even with a moderate amount of background noise.

The built-in speaker, however, is poor. It's not very loud and because it's on the back, it's hard to use it as a speakerphone for hands-free calls when you're at home -- something worth considering if you like to use the speakerphone often.

Other things to consider

Storage isn't a problem on the Lumia 1520. It comes with 32GB built-in and there's support for microSD up to 64GB. What's more, unlike most phones, the card slot is reasonably accessible as it slots into the top left edge. You'll need a 'poky' (that's a technical term) to extract it, but it's useful to have easier access to it.

This obviously means the rear isn't removable, which means the battery isn't user replaceable. This isn't a huge problem given the reasonable battery life, however, and the resultant build quality is worth it.

Should I buy the Nokia Lumia 1520?

The Nokia Lumia 1520 is a very good phone, but it's not for everyone. Its size accounts for most of that, as it's large even by 'large phone' standards and heavier than some people will tolerate. The camera isn't a total success, either, despite the very good image quality.

Then there's Windows Phone 8. It has many qualities, but its weaknesses are much harder excuse when you're spending this much on a phone. The apps just aren't there and it's overdue an update to catch up with iOS and Android on some fronts.

So what's the answer? If you're a hardcore Windows Phone fan, this is the phone to buy. It's the fastest, the most feature rich and most complete Windows Phone out there. But that doesn't make it the best large phone (see: Samsung Galaxy Note 3), while photography enthusiasts are still better served by the Lumia 1020.


The Lumia 1520 is a watershed phone in many respects. It brings Windows Phone hardware on par with the rest of the smartphone world, but the software still needs a bit of work.

Next, read our tablet buyer's guide

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 8
  • Calls & Sound 7
  • Camera 8
  • Design 8
  • Performance 9
  • Screen Quality 10
  • Software 6
  • Value 7
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Prem Desai

October 22, 2013, 12:23 pm

I'm really upset because I want one but there a few key apps that I need and they don't exist on the windows platform.

I know I'm in the minority, but I still believe that microsoft can write decent code - they are a software company after all. Nokia can still build nice phones as has been proven several times.

I am tired of ios and android - their beauty is only skin deep and in trying to offer what people want, they are becoming less intuitive and more buggy - ios7 being a good example.

No, I do not have shares in microsoft or nokia.

Tim Sutton

October 22, 2013, 6:52 pm

This phone will be mine the absolute second it becomes available in the UK.

I did also raise my eyebrows at the "step behind Android and iOS" line.. I assume that refers solely to third party app availability, as Windows Phone feels far more slickly modern to use than Android or iOS.

The live tile system is INCREDIBLY hard to lose when I go back to my work S4, it feels like going back in time 5 years.

I'm no fan boy, but all I can say is when I have a choice between doing something on my S4 and doing the same task on my Lumia I invariably reach for the Lumia.

dewa malam

October 23, 2013, 1:54 am

take my money now


October 24, 2013, 8:24 am

the more people buy windows phones, the more companies will see there is a demand for the platform and will jump on board and create these missing apps. I've got a lumia 920 and I absolutely love the phone, but although there are some key apps missing, there have been a lot of them added since I got it 6 months ago. I reckon it will have caught up within the next year.

Terry Byford

October 25, 2013, 11:36 am

Not knocking the phone, but had to laugh at the editorial reference to the screen being "a full 0.1-inches" bigger than the HTC. Talk about incremental values. lol.

Lack of apps was an early issue with Android too, but now look where that is. They will surely develop as the market for Windows phones increases. And this is the issue, how much will it in face of the existing Android and Apple market share?


November 2, 2013, 11:38 am

I love my Lumia 810 and I'm looking forward to getting a 1520. However Nokia has chosen to offer this phone and the 1020 only to AT&T, the carrier with the worst customer satisfaction rating. Hopefully Nokia learns a lesson from Apple that they need to offer their phones to all carriers to maximize their phones exposure. Phones come and go, but people generally stick with their carriers. For me, downgrading to a crappy carrier just to get the best phone isn't going to happen.


November 13, 2013, 3:05 am

what are those few key apps that you need, but which are missing?

Prem Desai

November 13, 2013, 3:23 am

Sonos for my music control
Rako for my lighting control
Heatmiser for my heating control
Avtech (eagle eyes) for my CCTV
LightwaveRF for misc automation

These are a must have. I will not jump ship without them. There are others that are nice to have but I can do without them.


November 17, 2013, 1:26 pm

so buy the unbranded version of the phone which is even better than the att version with 32 instead of 16gb and qi already built in. unbranded phones can be used with whatever contract you got...

Matthew Bunton

November 21, 2013, 4:40 pm

Wish they would just hurry up an release it I've just returned my Note 3 due to issues so waiting on this one.


November 21, 2013, 5:30 pm

Last I heard it could be next month.


November 21, 2013, 6:35 pm

Buy a cheap android tablet for those functions? unless those apps are incompatible with tablets. Most of those i see being used in the home, or within a wifi area.

Matthew Bunton

November 21, 2013, 7:42 pm

Thanks for taking the time to update me Andy.

Prem Desai

November 21, 2013, 8:53 pm

No can do mate. I NEED the heating and CCTV apps on my mobile. Others are almost in the needed category.

There are already 6 tablets (iOS and android) scattered around the house and do what you suggest.

I'll wait ......


November 22, 2013, 1:58 pm

I got mine two days ago.

Terry Byford

November 22, 2013, 3:23 pm

I'm sorry, but you say you NEED an app to control your lighting, heating, and CCTV. God, get real. Hardly anyone needs an app for this purpose. These must be the most esoteric uses of a PHONE, I can think of. Do you lie in bed all day long?

Yian Pap

December 1, 2013, 4:34 pm

The unwillingness of reviewers to fairly assess a windows phone never seizes to amaze me. It's as if they are spell-bound by some ios or Android voodoo. It's in the details of how they write about them, always dressing a praise with some qualifications like "we're not bored of Nokia's design yet"...I wonder when if ever they got bored with the ridiculously bland design of the Samsungs (it was boring at birth if you ask me) and the never changing iPhone design. Something tells me their boredom threshold is a lot lower with a Lumia than with the main players... But please Andy correct me if I'm wrong.
A Nokia Lumia looks fresher and more modern that any other phone, to anyone who doesn't feel the uncontrolled urge to praise android/ioS and be critical of WP and/or Nokia, for no good reason nowadays.


December 2, 2013, 9:17 am

Okay, I will correct you. I was praising the design. Simple as.

Yian Pap

December 2, 2013, 11:28 am

Well, when you preface your review with: "but should anyone other than the most ardent Windows Phone fan consider buying one?", you should forgive me for seeing some sort of anti-WP/Nokia bias there.
I mean why should you feel the need to say this? This sounds like an excellent phone on all fronts apart from the famed "apps". It's as if you team with people who can't live their life anymore if they can't control their heating with the phone. All the imporant apps are there or will be there in a few months time. So why should you even ask if this is only for the "ardent WP fan"?


December 2, 2013, 3:21 pm

Because it's a legitimate question. It's a very high-end, device that appeals to a high-end audience, but Windows Phone still lacks the app support to match iOS and Android. When you're spending this much on a phone, those kinds of issues become far more important.

I really like Windows Phone in principle, and could see myself switching if the conditions were right. But one of those conditions is the app ecosystem, and that's one area where the 1520 falls down (that and I personally feel it's too large, but that's a whole difference argument.)

Yian Pap

December 2, 2013, 5:18 pm

OK, we'll agree to disagree on the importance of the missing apps:) In my view for the £500 you pay, you get an all-in-one device, you can surf the net, you have professional offline navigation everywhere in the world, you watch videos, you get dedicated compact camera level photos, you can even do some office work, I can go on and on. So it's worth the money if you ask me, I am currently not missing any app on my 820, but maybe I just haven't realised what I'm missing! I'm tempted to ask you to give me 2-3 example important apps that are missing from WP...

Yes it's large, up to last year I would never think of buying it, I mean I chose the 820 over the 920 just because the 920 seemed too big to me! But I just remote desktop'd from my small 820 to my i7 desktop and that's really handy for me, now I wish I had the 6' screen, if it still fits in my jeans pocket that is. Might get one when the price falls in a few months.


December 6, 2013, 11:01 am

Fully agree, 2 weeks ago I got an android work phone (Sony xperia Z) and its not a bad device, but despite being an android user for a couple of years, I felt after 9 Months WP 8 as going back in time. It gets quite boring and 1 sided to always read the slogan "lack of apps". I use quit a couple of apps and miss hardly anything and the one thing that I never read, but is very true is the smoothness of the WP 8 OS. Even the Note 3 with the same hardware has hick-ups in the user experience and Android is not comparable with WP8 in terms of speed.


January 10, 2014, 6:34 pm

Add a homepage with 2-3 colors and hardly any graphics and the Note 3 will be much faster. That's how WP OS is, it doesn't use many graphics so it's very easy for phones to render it. Android uses A LOT of graphics and multitasking everywhere. I have used WP for 2 years and a half and Android for almost 5 years. I can't see myself using WP until it becomes nicer to look at in Apps, easier to use in apps, better menu system, more customization, and of course a much better notification system where push notification works all the time and you don't need to open the app to find out if you have something new.

Concerning Nokia, I really love their phones and wish they would have done Android phones as well with the same camera as the 808 and 1020. I would gladly try them out, but for now the best for me (for me) is Samsung since the phones are incredibly reliable (still using my Galaxy S1 since June 2010), and have tons of features to make them fun to use. I am now using the S4 (what a really nice and fast phone) and gave my wife the S1.

Guy R

January 22, 2014, 8:35 pm

This device does not support BT keyboards. This is ridiculous. I am sending it back.


February 25, 2014, 1:36 am

Camera - very disappointing if your main photographic efforts are taking shots of your fun-loving and mobile toddler, which end up as photos of the space he was just occupying, or blurred.

Method of storing contacts - disappointing: whatever happened to that old-fashioned notion that we might just want to store them on the phone rather than in a cloud (or similar weather feature), or linked to our email account, or....?

Overall? Too clever by half as it's a tablet which can be used to make phone calls using a contact list which is not as private as it once was. Well, clever apart from the camera, which is ponderous in the extreme (rather than 'great, brilliant' as the chap in the shop told me when asking about stuff such as, ooh, shutter speed).

Rather than growing on me, the phone annoys me slightly more each day, with the battery life about the only saving grace. I very much wanted to like this phone, but I can't, in all honesty say that I'd recommend it to anyone unless battery life was the most important feature.

comments powered by Disqus