Nokia 808 PureView video review



Read the full Nokia 808 PureView preview

It may not be very smart or stylish but the Nokia 808 PureView really does have an astonishingly good camera.

More Mobile Phone Videos


February 27, 2012, 10:15 pm

I love it. I know it's just pure number pushing from Nokia but the fact that someone is finally taking the ball and running with camera technology again makes it all that more exciting. Competitors will need to up their game so this is only good for consumers if 12 months down the line, other manufacturers bring similar tech to the table.


February 27, 2012, 11:10 pm

I'm so tempted to wait for this phone. If Nokia brings this camera into their Windows portfolio, I'll ditch my HTC android set and go for one of these instead.


February 28, 2012, 2:02 am

But the display resolution is an anaemic 640 x 360 while the Galaxy Nexus (and most of the high-end phones announced at MWC: HTC, Huawei, LG) are packing 1280 x 720. Don't much fancy browsing the web on that (or viewing photos, which is a sad irony). Not to mention the comparatively sad Symbian app scene. I'll wait till this tech appears on a better phone.


February 28, 2012, 3:06 pm

At first, I thought what's the point. 8 Mega-pixel is more than enough!!. But were I think this really comes in handy is with digital zooming, as space for an optical zoom is so limited in a smartphone. The question is, how good are these pixels when zoomed in, especially in low light. eg., if say using this phone at a party makes everybody look like they have dandruff when zoomed in, that would be a shame.


February 28, 2012, 3:49 pm

The images it produces are excelent. Check out the ones in this zip file:


February 28, 2012, 5:40 pm

Zoomed out, they do indeed look good.

A couple of comments, in no means expert ones. :)

1. Zoom in to a 1:1, and you notice loss of detail, eg, the man hanging on cliff zoomed @ 1:1 looks slightly out of focus.

2. No shadow detail, maybe some HDR magic might help here.

3. No example pictures in low light, all these were taken in ideal lighting.

4. Also zoomed in @1:1 you notice a lot of Noise.

So I'm not sure having so many Mega-Pixels & digital zoom is going to replace having an optical zoom here. I'm sure it's still the best smartphone camera though.


June 26, 2012, 4:59 pm

Bonkers detail, you can even see that naked women in those tower blocks, getting ready for work I assume. :)


July 3, 2012, 1:55 pm

41 MP, isn't it better than usual cameras?

comments powered by Disqus