1 of 27 pictures

Nikon D3200 23
Nikon D3200

27 Pictures - Nikon D3200

  • Nikon D3200
  • Nikon D3200 23
  • Nikon D3200 21
  • Nikon D3200 25
  • Nikon D3200 13
  • Nikon D3200 11
  • Nikon D3200 7
  • Nikon D3200 5
  • Nikon D3200 17
  • Nikon D3200 19
  • Nikon D3200 15
  • Nikon D3200 9
  • Nikon D3200 3
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 100
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 200
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 400
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 800
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 1600
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 3200
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 6400
  • Nikon D3200 ISO 12800
  • Nikon D3200 Sample Image
  • Nikon D3200 Sample Image
  • Nikon D3200 Sample Image
  • Nikon D3200 Sample Image
  • Nikon D3200 Sample Image
  • Nikon D3200 Sample Image

Jerome Nolas

June 26, 2012, 4:13 pm

24 Mpx is simply too much, seriously who prints bigger than A4? The Mpx war is on again...


June 27, 2012, 12:03 am

One the the best in-depth reviews i have read, thank you. I am a beginner and was thinking about getting this camera but have realized from your review it may not take long before i outgrow this camera and need to upgrade. I may look to get the D7000 instead which may mean a steeper learning curve but will suit my needs in the long term. Just out of curiosity many people are criticizing the fact that the D3200 has too many pixels which results in larger file sizes but can this not be reduced in the settings or am i missing something?

Martin Daler

June 27, 2012, 12:19 am

More Mpx gives you more scope to crop. So yes, effectively, plenty people print 'bigger than A4', pro-rata the cropped area being selected.

I understand the downsides of greater Mpx also, but they are continuously being mitigated through improved sensor design, hence allowing us to access the benefits of higher Mpx at lower downside cost.


June 27, 2012, 12:43 am

Thanks for the feedback - glad you found the review helpful. You're right, you can just reduce the size, but only for jpegs. If you want to capture raw then you need to do so at the full sensor size - really big file size!

Martin Daler

June 27, 2012, 1:05 pm

You need to keep the whole "I may 'outgrow' the 'entry level' camera quite quickly" thing in perspective. Certainly this camera is at the low end of Nikon's range, but it's capabilities are nevertheless light years ahead of anything dreamed of only a few years ago. My question therefore is, when measured in terms of the output has photography advanced by the same degree? How much of your output will be limited by the camera's capabilities, indeed how much will even test the camera's capabilities?

That is not meant to be a luddite's charter. But if you have a fixed budget, I think there is much to be said for spending more on extra lenses rather than on a more expensive camera.

One crucial area where all digital SLRs have taken a massive (and woefully underappreciated) step backwards compared to film SLRs is in the viewfinder. Look through a film SLR viewfinder and the image fills your eyeball. Look through any D-SLR and it is like seeing the image at the end of a tunnel. And no matter how many bells and whistles the D-SLR may have over the film camera, you must first capture the scene in your eye - it all starts with composition and seeing the picture, the camera really just gets in the way of capturing what you see.


June 29, 2012, 11:21 pm

Thank you Ed for an excellent reply, Martin thank you for your comments. After some thinking I would have to agree with you, today's cameras are far advanced than previous cameras and may be better for me to invest in better lenses, you've certainly given me something to think about.

James Green

June 27, 2013, 1:30 pm

I agree, I don't think the maga-pixels should be a deal-breaker unless you're doing large-format printing. Have to day my favourite feature was a ability to shoot video at 60fps.


June 18, 2015, 4:28 pm

thanks TrustedReviews, thanks for the review, i really love Nikon D3200, it's teaches and encourages those who are new to DSLR technology because it's easy to use and have a Guide mode.
i suggest it to all beginners, and all who think in buying his/her first DSLR camera because:
-it's simple
-provide great image quality (large sensor-more megapixel 24.2 MP- same processor chip as the expansive D800)
-low price so you can invest in lenses,bags,memory cards,tripod.
i've created a comparison chart at http://goo(DOT)gl/eq7LJo [replace (DOT) with "."] that compares the D3200 to the D7XXX serie,D5XXXX and Canon camera under 700$. don't take any buying decision till read it.

comments powered by Disqus