Home / News / Internet News / You can completely delete yourself from the internet, here's how

You can completely delete yourself from the internet, here's how

Luke Johnson

by

hacker

When you stop and think, and we mean really think, about how much of your personal information is dotted around the internet, it’s pretty damn pants-wettingly terrifying.

Fret not though young data regretter, there’s now a website that lets you completely erase yourself from the world wide wide. Huzzah.

That’s right, forget stepping into the Matrix, it’s time for you to step into the stone age.

So, what’s the deal? Well, the website in question is the Deseat.me a service designed by Swedish developers Wille Dahlbo and Linus Unneback.

Deseat website

What will this kill? Well, pretty much any website or service you’ve signed up to using your Gmail account. A we mean everything.

Your YouTube account, gone. Facebook, gone. Evernote, Linkedin, Dribble, all gone. If your old MySpace account was set up using your embarrassingly titled Hotmail address it will be missed, but anything in the past decade or so is sure to get the bump.

Depending on just how many things you’re signed up to, however, the next step could involve a whole lot of menu hopping.

According to the site, once you’ve entered your email and password to sign in with your Google account, you’ll be presented with a list of every site and service you’ve ever signed up to with that account.

hack

“We give you a list of all the accounts and services you have ever created an account for,” the developers explain. “We match them with direct links to their delete page, and instructions on how to delete your account for good.”

They add: “Basically the only thing you’re telling us is what accounts you want to delete. That’s it, and since we use Google’s OAuth protocol, we don’t have access to any of your login information.”

That’s it. You’ll get to keep your Google account, but you can sever the ties and wipe the slate clean in pretty much every other corner of the web. Think before venturing on though, there’s no undo button.

WATCH: iOS 10 Tips & Tricks

Would you remove your self from the web in such drastic fashion? Let us know in the comments below.

toboev

November 28, 2016, 7:50 pm

Time to make sure your gmail password is secure and unguessable.

Octavian

November 29, 2016, 10:17 pm

Let's hope they expand to Live addresses as well.

comments powered by Disqus