Most tweaks to Gmail go unnoticed, but Google’s latest software update brings a long-awaited feature to the e-mail client.
Users can now recall messages that have been sent through Gmail thanks to ‘Undo Send’.
The feature has been available in beta mode as part of ‘Gmail Labs’ since 2009, but it’s now an official part of the service.
Anyone can access ‘Undo Send’, although you’ll need to enable the setting in the General tab of your Gmail settings first.
It’s turned off by default because it actually delays any e-mail you send by up to 30 seconds.
This gives the client a grace period in which you are able to hit the ‘Undo Send’ button and cancel the mailing process.
Related: What is Google Inbox?
“Previously a popular feature in Gmail, and recently added to Inbox by Gmail, today we’re adding ‘Undo Send’ as a formal setting in Gmail on the web,” explains Google in a blog post.
It continues: “
It’s perfect for quickly blocking a message if you spot a typo, although it won’t save face if you miss the 30 second window.