Home / News / Mobile App News / Uber now tracks your location ALL of the time – unless you do this

Uber now tracks your location ALL of the time – unless you do this

by

uber

A leading mobile security firm is warning User users about a new app update that enables the ride-sharing app to track users’ locations whenever the app is running.

Sophos says version 3.222.4 brings into play a controversial change in the company’s privacy policy announced way back in 2015.

"Uber has put that into practice and is now tracking your location constantly if you’ve got the app running in the background,” writes Lisa Vaas on the Sophos blog.

“Oh, and it’s also asking that you always share your address book. Until now it had only collected your location data if you had the app open.”

Related: Best iPhone apps: 16 of the best

The firm is advising that users turn off Uber’s ability to run in the background on your iOS and Android devices if you don’t want the company to access your whereabouts.

Here’s how you can turn off the location sharing for Uber:

  • Android: Settings > Apps > Uber > scroll to “Permission” > toggle “Location”
  • Android Lollipop (5.1) and earlier: Settings > Location > toggle Off
  • iOS: Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Uber > choose “Never”

Of course this means you’ll have to manually input your location and chosen destination, but it could be a small price to pay for protecting your privacy.

Watch The Refresh: The best tech gossip and reviews every week

Will this change stop you using Uber? Or are you unfazed by the change? Share your thoughts in the comments section below

comments powered by Disqus