Uber apes arch-rival Lyft by supporting multiple stops

Uber is rolling out a feature that lets its users add multiple stops to their journey without the need to share a ride with other users.

Inside the Android and iOS app the ‘Where to’ section will include a ‘+’ symbol that users can tap on to add another stop onto their journey, thereby escaping the need to actually use their voices to negotiate with a driver where they want to go.

A series of addresses can be added before an Uber ride is hailed, and if people change their minds mid-journey, then stops can be added and removed in real-time with the driver being updated automatically.

The flip side to this flexibility is the trips will cost more, with fares being based on the journey’s total time and distance. But fares can still be split in the same fashion as regular Uber trips.

“This new feature means that users no longer have to update the destination while on a trip and ensures more transparency on the fare for both riders and drivers,” said Uber.

“So whether you’re picking up friends en route or heading home from a night out, it’s easier than ever to ride together.”

However, while the feature is rolling out to UK users, Uber’s licence to operate in London is still coming to an end, though the rider-sharing company is working on overturning the planned ban in the capital.

Over in the US, users of Uber arch-rival Lyft have had the option to add multiple stops to their journeys for some time, and with Lyft looking at a UK expansion, we can expect that feature to come along with it.

Related: Best alternatives to Uber

What features would you like to see Uber add to its app? Tweet us @TrustedReviews or get in touch on Facebook.