Home / News / Gadget News / Tesla Model X set for official launch on 29 September

Tesla Model X set for official launch on 29 September

by

Tesla model X

Tesla has sent out media invitations to the official launch of the Tesla Model X electric crossover SUV.

The company will hold the event at Tesla HQ in Fremont, California on 29 September at 7pm Pacific Time (10pm ET; 3am GMT).

Tesla has already confirmed that customers who have placed pre-orders will begin taking delivery of the vehicles a day after the event on 30 September.

The Model X is Tesla’s third fully electric car, following the Roadster compact and the Model S sedan.

It will use a version of the electric all-wheel drive power train featured in the Model S "D", but will boast a taller chassis.

The invite itself features a near-silhouette of the car and its dual-hinged Falcon doors. which open upwards, rather than out to the side.

The firm is yet to announce complete details (leaving at least some intrigue for the event), but is likely to have a lower range than the Model S estimates of between 230 and 265 miles.

SEE ALSO: Tesla announces the best friend referral deal ever

Tesla boss Elon Musk is also likely to confirm the pricing and options for the vehicle.

Don’t expect Musk to cut would-be electric car buyers any slack on the price, though: the Model X is expected to cost as much as the $70,000 Model S.

However, an entry-level model (albeit a $35,000) is expected to arrive in 2017 under the Model 3 name.

The launch event will come on a now-busy day in the tech calendar, with Google also revealing it’ll be holding a gathering on September 29.

There it is expected to announce new Nexus devices and the completed version of Android Marshmallow

comments powered by Disqus