Gear S3 launch date revealed – it’s nearly time for Samsung’s new smartwatch

Samsung has outed details of its Gear S3 (or will it just be the Gear 3?) launch event, with the firm revealing its new smartwatch will be unveiled at IFA 2016 in Berlin, Germany.

Posting a seemingly open invite to its website, Samsung has confirmed that it will be holding its next Gear event on August 31 at Berlin’s Tempodrom, with the proceedings set to kick-off at 18:00 CET, which is 17:00 BST or 12:00 EST.

The South Korean firm, which recently released a new flagship phablet in the Galaxy Note 7, says that it’s time to “talk about 3” alongside a cryptic image of a watch face featuring a small circle on its bottom left-hand side.

That could hint at a surprise new feature, with rumours currently suggesting that the Gear S3 will add a barometer, altimeter, and GPS-based speedometer. Other than that, it’s expected to maintain the same basic design as the Gear S2, including the popular rotary bezel control.

What’s interesting is that Samsung is holding the Gear launch event the night before its main IFA 2016 press conference, which is set for the morning of September 1. Could that mean we’re going to get a ‘one more thing’ from Sammy this autumn in Berlin?

It’s possible, but doesn’t seem likely – the dual event strategy probably means Samsung will talk about other consumer goods like fridges and TVs at its September conference, though the Gear S3 will no doubt get a second mention.

Samsung also notes that it’ll be live streaming the Gear launch event, so you can follow all the action from Berlin wherever you are.

The TrustedReviews team will be attending IFA 2016, so you’ll find all the latest news, first impressions and analysis right here.

Related: IFA 2016 preview – What to expect

Watch: Wearables and fitness buying guide


Are you excited for the Gear S3 smartwatch? Let us know in the comments below.