iOS 11 deals a blow to Uber’s creepy location tracking habit

Apple’s new iOS 11 gives users control over when the Uber app tracks their location.

The ride-sharing company came under fire this year when a policy change forced iPhone users to decide whether the app was “always” or “never” tracking their location.

The former meant location tracking was enabled even when they were using the app, while the latter practically disabled Uber’s GPS function.

Related: iOS 11 review

Now, with the new iOS 11 version of the app, the “while using the app” option has returned (via BusinessInsider).

As part of the iOS 11 update, Apple mandated that developers must give app users greater control over when location is tracked.

Users will now be asked to authenticate access to Uber when they are using the app. Even those users still running iOS 10 will gain access to Uber’s revamped location settings.

On Apple’s developer guidelines, the company says: “It is recommended that you request only when-in-use authorization whenever possible. If your app requests and receives when-in-use authorization, you can make a separate request for always authorization later.”

Had Uber’s location tracking habits stopped you using the app? Drop us a line @TrustedReviews.com on Twitter.