HTC is "renovating" its HTCSense.com cloud backup service in May, though it is showing an unusual way of going about this. The company will be deleting all of its users’ data at the end of April.
The changes were announced on the HTC Sense web page. This has apparently angered many people because usually something this important (if you have been relying on the service to sync and backup your phone contacts, messages and so on) would have first been communicated in an email to each registered user.
The website says: “HTCSense.com is undergoing a renovation to improve the services and value we deliver to customers like you. Until the new services are ready, features previously available on HTCSense.com will be shutting down. If you have been using HTCSense.com to sync your Contacts, Messages, Footprints or Call History, you can download your data through 30 April 2012. After 30 April, your data will no longer be accessible and will be deleted.”
HTC handset owners who want to get a copy of their stored data can download it in a compressed zip file. At some later date, they’ll presumably be able to restore it from that data or re-sync from their device using the yet-to-be-announced new backup service.
The case highlights one of the potential pitfalls of cloud storage, especially ones that are provided as a freebie, like HTC Sense's Cloud. They can evaporate into thin air sometimes. HTC’s version also includes extras such as location-based features that can be useful if your phone is lost, although it competes with many similar offerings from mobile security apps (often also free), cloud sync companies and Google itself, provider of the Android OS used by HTC’s hardware.
Via The Guardian