Gmail’s next big feature will see emails self-destruct in 10…9…8…7…

Earlier this week we delivered word of Google’s forthcoming revamp of its Gmail web client, likely to officially debut at the I/O conference next month.

The revamp looks like it’ll feature a new, clean design, smart replies, the ability to snooze emails and a new pane for the Calendar and Keep apps.

However, the most exciting feature of all might be a new “Confidential Mode” revealed by reports on Friday.

When composing an email it appears users will be able to click a lock that prevents the contents of said communication being forwarded, copied, pasted, printed or downloaded.

Gmail

Image credit: TechCrunch

The recipients of those confidential emails will simply receive a link to their Gmail account. From there they’ll need to login again to read the email.

Beyond that, judging by screenshots sent to TechCrunch, Gmail users will be able to choose when the email expires and disappears into the ether. They could choose a week, a month or years.

It’ll also be possible to ask recipients to confirm their identities with a text-based passcode. This would be neat if sensitive information is being sent via the email.

Related: Android P latest

TechCrunch, who received the information from a tipster with early access, points out this could be a ploy to get more Gmail users’ phone numbers. In this era it’s hard not to jump on board the cynicism wagon.

The security-minded features are likely to please those members of the community concerned about their digital footprints or worried about prying eyes snooping on content not intended for them, in an open plan office for example.

It’s not 100% certain these tools will make it into the final revamp, but it appears Google is getting them ready for prime time. Google I/O commences on May 8.

Would these features make you feel better about the security of your email account? Drop us a line @TrustedReviews on Twitter.