Home » News » Internet News » Facebook Timeline Now Available To All

Facebook Timeline Now Available To All

by | Go to comments

Share:
Facebook Timeline

It was way back in September when Mark Zuckerberg announced that profile pages would be changing radically with the 'timeline' feature but it is only now that it has become available to everyone.

The change, which was first introduced at the company's f8 developer conference, is among the most radical in the company's history and at the time we asked had Facebook just changed the internet? Developers have been able to get the timeline profile since launch, and thanks to a loop hole, anyone really interested in getting in on the action could do so.

However, since only people who also have the timeline feature activated could see your new profile, it wasn’t really of that much use. However some users have reported that non-timelined friends were able to see their new profile.

Facebook Timeline

Now Facebook is rolling out the feature to everyone, giving them is a more visual representation of your life. At the launch in September, Mark Zuckerberg professed:

“Millions of people curate stories of their lives on Facebook every day and have no way to share them once they fall off your profile page...we have been working on ‘timeline’ all year…it’s the story of your life and completely new way to express yourself. It has three pieces: all your stories, your apps and a new way to express who you are.”

Zuckerberg’s desire to get people to put their “entire lives” on Facebook and have “total control” over who can see it, might have taken a bit of a hit recently when a security loophole saw his own private pictures ‘hacked’ and published around the net.

Facebook Timeline

While timeline is rolling out today you'll have seven days to review everything that appears on your new profile before anyone else can see it. You can also choose to publish your timeline at any stage during the review period. If you decide to wait, your timeline will go live automatically after seven days.

Privacy settings on the new Facebook profiles will let you decide what each person viewing your profile can see. You will also have access to a feature called activity log where you can review all your posts and activity from today, back to when you first started using Facebook – which only you have access to.

Let us know in the comments if you've tried out the new-look profile pages and what you think of them.

Source: The Facebook Blog

Go to comments
comments powered by Disqus