Here’s when the Destiny 2 Dawning Event kicks off

Bungie will be holding a special event in Destiny 2 to celebrate the Christmas period and it’s set to begin later today.

The Dawning will be available across PS4, Xbox One and PC from 9AM PT/12PM ET/5PM GMT on December 19, Bungie confirmed in a tweet earlier this week.

Social spaces such as The Tower and Farm will be given a festive aesthetic with snow decorating the place. Players can also participate in snowball fights with friends online.

Related: Best PS4 Games

The Dawning won’t just see a change to social spaces either, you’ve also got new crucible modes and equipment to look forward to.

Crucible will see the return of Mayhem, a playlist where super abilities recharge faster, allowing for absolute carnage with a competitive edge.

In addition, players can also earn engrams for completing Crucible and Strike milestones that can be cashed in for exclusive equipment including themed armour Hunters, Warlocks and Titans. 

Related: PS4 Pro Review

The Dawning will last for three weeks until it concludes on Tuesday, January 9. Will you be jumping in? Let us know on Facebook and Twitter @trustedreviews.